On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Charlie

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hi guys. Charlie is eating today but not as ravenous as he has been. I got some of that iams max cal food yesterday and first he gobbled the whole can. Last night he gingerly ate it. Today he stuck his nose up at it. He picked at his normal seafood fancy feast but I opened a can of friskies tuna and he ate the whole can but much slower than he usually does. This is the cat that 2 days ago was eating 6 cans a day of fancy feast. I have been giving him sub q fluids (150 ml lrs w 8 ml potassium added BID). His bgs are better than they were yesterday (his +6 was 600). Today they peaked at 298. My husband will kill me if we have to hospitalize him at the er again, this will be the 3rd time since his diagnosis at the end of June. We are running a GI panel on him Tuesday. I just gotta get him thru the weekend without incident. I have a bottle of Humulin R here that we were supplementing him with (yesterday got 2 units IM after the bg of 600 and it brought it down to 300 in one hour), doc says we should let his body try to not have to need 2 insulins but I am so afraid of dka right now. I have ketone strips but he hasn't peed yet. I feel like im following him around probably making him not want to go :( please help!
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Here's your previous post.

I just wrote a long post to you on your previous post. Not sure if you saw it, but i'll include it below.

What could your vet's rationale be for keeping his insulin levels down? A cat needs what it needs. We look at the blood sugar and by testing data, determine what is needing. Some cats need one drop of insulin, some need more than 100u per shot. that's no typo - 100+u can be a dose with a cat with acromegaly.

At the moment, you need to do whatever it takes to get him to eat enough. You may have to syringe feed. There are videos on youtube on how to do that. He needs the calories. He needs enough insulin to bring down his blood sugar. I said on the previous post, I would increase his dose tonight as well as getting enough food in him. Those two pieces are critical.

I am an experienced R user. What did your vet advise you to do with it?

julie & punkin (ga) said:
hi ellie!

there are medical conditions that cause a need for higher doses of insulin. Charlie isn't to a dose yet that we would even consider that, but looking at his spreadsheet for the past 2 days it looks like he needs more insulin. Do you have any testing data from 8/10-27 that could be added to the spreadsheet?

My cat punkin, had acromegaly, which is a benign tumor on the pituitary gland that puts out growth hormones, which cause the cat to become diabetic. they need more than average amounts of insulin, the most significant characteristic is that they have an uncontrollable appetite (which is true of high blood sugar for any cat), often they gain weight upon diagnosis rather than losing weight (i know Charlie has lost weight), they show signs of growth, ie, the feet get big, the face can broaden, the tongue & colon both can enlarge, so you might see a child-sized tongue and stools. Often a cat with acromegaly has a particular sound when they breathe, called stridor. the excess growth of soft tissue in their throat and airway will cause a sort of "snoring" sound, that most people just find cute. The vocal chords can grow and the cat's voice can change - punkin sounded like a pack-a-day smoker. I don't know that Charlie has this, but it can strike at any age. Males get it more often than females, although females also get it. I'm just brainstorming, not saying that he has it. Many vets don't know much about acromegaly, but it isn't uncommon in diabetic cats. Here are a couple of posts that have more information on thishttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324 and http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324. Some of the links are on both posts, but it might be helpful if you look at these and see if you think it applies to Charlie. It's possible this is the source of the mystery that you are exploring. Typically, we don't suspect a high dose condition until a cat gets to 6u per shot, and as i said, you're nowhere near there yet. He might just need a little more insulin and not be to a good dose yet.

Can you explain how the dose has been arrived at? I'd really like to see his dose being adjusted every 6-8 cycles to get these blood sugar numbers down. I think with 2 days of good testing in, you would be ok to increase by 0.5u.

From our guidelines from the Tight Regulation Protocol
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

The same Tight Regulation Protocol is interpreted slightly differently on another site:
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm and it suggests increasing every 2 days, or 4 cycles if the cat is constantly high:
Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

It's going to be very helpful if you can continue getting more tests in - a minimum of preshot and at the very least, one other per am cycle and one other per pm cycle. I'd love to see a test about every 3-4 hours while you're awake if it's at all possible. The reason for the frequent testing when it appears that he is just high, is that we know some cats will dive down, barely touch a lower range, say a 150, and then zoom immediately back up. Because Lantus dosing is based upon how LOW a dose causes a cat's BGs to go, catching any low numbers is extremely important. Especially so because it appears that Charlie needs more insulin fairly quickly, so we don't have the luxury of waiting several days and just hoping to catch any lows that appear.

If he were mine, I'd increase to 3.5u Lantus tonight, and test every 3 or so hours. I'd also post every day so we can see what he's doing and help you with his dosing. As long as you have enough test data in to show that he really is constantly high, not bouncing, then we would help you evaluate if he needed his dose increased every 4 cycles. We need to get enough insulin into him to help deal with the ketones. You also need to make sure he's eating enough and is getting enough water. You can add water to his food, as much as he will tolerate it.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Is he sniffing the food and kind og licking his lips? That can be a sign of nausea. 1/4 of a plain Pecid tablet may help. Slippery Elm Bark syrup may also help:

Take a glass container which holds two cups. Put one cup of water in the cup. Add 1 to 1.5 tsp of slippery elm bark powder.

Heat in the microwave on high for about 1.5 minutes. Remove from the microwave and stir, then put it back in for about another 30 seconds. Keep an eye on it because you do not want it to boil over. Remove from the microwave and stir again.

Allow to cool and give ¼ - ½ (0.25 to 0.5) teaspoon up to 4 times a day. This will keep at room temperature for a day or in the fridge for up to five days.
. You can find SEB at most health food stores in the bulk herb section. It coats the stomach to prevent excess acid from making them nauseous and it is very gentle.

Other than that you may be able to get an appetite stimulant from your vet. [urlhttp://www.petmd.com/pet-medication/cyproheptadine=] cyproheptadine[/url] works quite well. 1/8 to 1/16th of a tablet (most vets will Rx 1/2), mirtazapine (but many cats get rather hyper on it), ondansetron and others. Any of these need an Rx, so you need to talk to your vet. There is also the option of syringe feeding.

:roll: an obvious and easy on e last, have you tried baby food? Gerber or Beechnut Stage 2 w/ NO onions or garlic!
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

other tricks to entice a cat to eat include:

sprinkle canned food with parmesan cheese, oregano, catnip, pulverized dry food, Fortiflora

pour on water from tuna (make certain there is no onion or garlic in the ingredients)

use rotisserie chicken or lunchmeat - most have sugar but at this point it's more important that he eat

make little meatballs with the food

use your finger to put some in his mouth - sometimes "priming the pump" is all it takes to re-interest a kitty in their food

open a new can (or 2) of different flavors to offer something different.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Thanks Julie and Ann. I have some bg's recorded at work where he spent the last 2 weeks so we could keep an eye on him. I forgot to print them out, I can run over to the hospital later tonight and print them out. Your links to the acromegaly page were very helpful. I am truly wondering if that is the entire problem with him?!??!? It came on pretty acutely and I did notice a weight gain before the loss started. He dosent do that snoring thing but he does breath harder than normal cats. Meaning that you can hear him inhale and exhale. I may have missed if there was a mention of wether or not a tumor could be removed if that is the case? Being that he is only 2 years old I would probably tend to lean more on the curative rather than the supportive side of the coin. I will take your advice and give him 3.5u tonight but do you think I should give him a unit of humulin r sooner? About the eating, he will eat the "junkier" food, i.e. friskies and the higher carb/calorie ones so I don't think I will have to syringe feed him. And he will still go bonkers if I shake his old bag of temptations (which he hasn't had since his diagnosis). I am concerned because before today he had been absolutely ravenous if he would even see a can of cat food and that was eating 6 cans daily. One can every 4 hours and he would eat it in less than 2 minutes licking the bowl clean, meowing for more. I will continue to give him sub q fluids too so he dosent become dehydrated. Please let me know if I should give him some humulin. Im not sure how it affects the lantus shot coming up in 4 hours..Also...quick thought..I try not to give the sub q fluids near his insulin injection spot but he is so small now and dosent have a lot of injection site options. Would the fluids "wash" the insulin away?? Oh...and about his previous and missing bgs, I know you would like to see the actual numbers but until I can get them posted let me just say that he has always been in the high 300 low 400 for am and pm ps and his nadirs have never gotten under 200 ever. *edited to add that I just reviewed his SS again and maybe a few times he got in the 100-s range..but very rarely) Not even when on prozinc. But, I will get those numbers as soon as possible.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Julie, I just re-read your link and saw the roadtrip you made for your baby and his surgery! I guess that answered my question about the surgery! What an awesome mommy you are!!!
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

the treatment is with radiation, so it's non-invasive but does involve quite a bit. Polly is about to go to Colorado State Univ to get treated. Marilyn leaves with her on Sept. 6th.

I wouldn't assume he has acro - i was just trying to make the point that there are causes that are not a mystery. Even non-high dose cats can need more than he's currently getting. We just give the amount they need to get the blood sugar into normal range.

The reason I'm so keen on the other numbers is because cats can bounce very dramatically. It's not uncommon for us to see a cat go from 400 at preshot to 40 mid-cycle to 400 at preshot.

As far as the R goes, the first concern is to avoid coinciding nadirs with the two insulins. Giving the R in the second half of the Lantus cycle is fine - you saw a clear nadir today of 298 and he's now on his way back up, so yes, i think you could give it now. It will likely have completely worn off by the time the next Lantus shot onsets (begins to take effect.)

I want to write a bit more but will "submit" so you see this now. I'll have another post for you in a minute.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Hello and welcome from me too. Yet another person here with an acrocat. I also went to Colorado State University with Neko a couple years ago for the Stereostatic Radiation Therapy (SRT). Last year CSU treated a 4 year old kitty, so they can get acromegaly also at a young age. When we first started out FD journey, Neko didn't show much in the way of symptoms. She used to shy away from bright light a bit, but that was pretty much it. That plus the ginormous appetite and interest in inappropriate foods (banana bread, blueberry muffins to name two examples). Her weight was pretty steady, though she lost a bit after SRT. Now it's back. :roll: Some high dose kitties have just IAA (insulin auto antibodies). Neko has that too. And some kitties just need more insulin. As Julie says, we don't think about testing kitties until they get up to 6 units.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

ok - got that link fixed about the bouncing. Please read that - if Charlie is very used to high numbers, and that means that his body may perceive any range lower than he's used to as a hypo, even if it's 150. Then the liver reacts, and you have high numbers.

If he's had any lower numbers in the previous 3 days, that could have CAUSED these high numbers, it would mean we wouldn't want to increase the dose. So it's really important to see blood sugar in the context of the spreadsheet.

the other thing i wanted to ask about is your insulin. When we don't see much action from insulin, sometimes it's from the insulin itself not being effective. It's not usually the case, but it's worth asking questions and exploring the question. Here is a post on Lantus: Info, Proper Handling & Storage full of good info. About 1/2way down the page is a video on how to draw up your dose. You don't want to contaminate your insulin - we all know how expensive it is - so it's worth the few minutes to watch the video and make sure you're doing it correctly.

We typically use R subcutaneously here, so I'm a little reluctant to advise you too much on the R use. I do feel confident that you won't have trouble with coinciding nadirs right now in the second half of the L cycle. I think when it's injected into muscle the effect is sooner than sub-q.

You'll find that people here will answer you fairly quickly. There is a solid group of volunteers who monitor this forum - none of us are vets - to help people with their cats. Most of the time, those who aren't comfortable giving dosing advice will say so, but there are quite a few experienced people who will be able to answer your questions quickly.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

thank you for the video clip. I got the lantus pen 3ml and am using the pen like a vial with a regular u100 syringe as opposed to the click pen thing and I just picked up the rx this past Monday so Im assuming its fresh, its been refrigerated and properly handled. I use an alpha trak glucometer that I am borrowing from the hospital. I know other ppl use human glucometers but I can get the test strips at cost so it seems to work out ok for us. I am a little confused because his +7 356 and I just got his +9 and its at 341. Its going down again?? I don't know how sensitive/accurate a few numbers off are. And also wanted to mention that if you look at his previous numbers while on prozinc he was constantly bouncing. I am hoping that the lantus will help him stop bouncing. He is not a ball!! :) He just ate a can of pro plan tuna and loved it. I am wondering if now would be a good time to give him one unit of humulin?
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie,

Claudia here again. As a vet tech, you know how to give R IM. If you are trying to get Charlie thru the weekend without going into DKA, how about trying this. Leave your Lantus Dose as is and administer R IM on an as needed basis based on the BGs you see.

For example, if you give Lantus at 8:00 am, it probably won't start to work until between 11:00 and 12:00 noon. So if you have a PreShot above 300 at 8:00 am, you could give R and it would be gone as the Lantus begins to work. With the steady use of Lantus and its even action, you can administer more R as needed to keep Charlie's BG's level and hopefully under 250. My vet said to monitor every hour if over 400. R begins to work in 20 minutes, peaks in 2-4 hours and is gone in 6 hours in Humans, is probably faster in cats.

Does this make sense? I used this method recently with one of my diabetics who was borderline DKA. I managed with SQ fluids, keeping the food intake up and giving a combination of Lantus and R. I managed to keep the DKA at bay for 3 days.

You will need to do lots of testing. So be sure you have plenty of test strips, and you will want a hypo kit handy.

Hope this will help you stay out of the ER. My cats are not happy going to the ER, neither am I.

All the best with Charlie,

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Meters can be out as much as 20%. His +7 and +9 are basically the same.

Did you see Julie's post to your question about R now?
As far as the R goes, the first concern is to avoid coinciding nadirs with the two insulins. Giving the R in the second half of the Lantus cycle is fine - you saw a clear nadir today of 298 and he's now on his way back up, so yes, i think you could give it now. It will likely have completely worn off by the time the next Lantus shot onsets (begins to take effect.)
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

i need to re-look at his spreadsheet - i thought you were using a human meter. The ATs read 30-40% higher in the upper ranges, so the fact that you're using an AT changes things. With an AT, normal numbers are 68-160ish. With a human meter, it's 50-120.

Lantus begins to onset - in most cats - in about 2 hrs, most of the time. most of the time it's considered safe to shoot at preshot and/or past the nadir. as long as the cat isn't clearing a bounce - if you shoot R then you can cause a plummet.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Hi Ellie,

Glad you are on line. If you are using an AlphaTrak, you will probably still have to account for 20% variation. The same standard as the human glucometers. The AlphaTrak is made by Abbott who makes the Freestyle human meter. They are similar.

Given the numbers you mentioned above, if Charlie were mine I would give 2 units and test in an hour. Then post the number and we can see if the Lantus has kicked in. At 2 hours the R should kick in and we'll need to know if the Lantus is active. As I said in my last post - lots of testing.

I hope this helps. I'll stay online this evening, in case I can help.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

ok, yes, you still have room to give him a dose increase to 3.5u tonight. it's good to have the Lantus dose close to right so the R is just tweaking the highs. With ketones in the picture, though, i think you have to balance both increasing the L to get it closer to a good dose while you still use R. At least that's what I would do.

Would you put in big letters, bold, colored, in your signature line and on the spreadsheet, so we can't miss it, that you're using an AT?

Just so you know, the significant number on an AT where you would start intervening with carbs is 68. That's equivalent to the 50 in the TR protocol, so when you see 50 elsewhere, in your mind think "68." At 68, you'll pop open a can of high carb cat food, squeeze out the gravy and give him 1 tsp.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

since he had a 600 yesterday would this be considered a bounce? maybe yesterdays injection was a fur shot hence the 600? that really threw me for a loop. He isn't due for his insulin til 10 pm est. 2.5 hours. I still am a little confused as to wether to give the humulin. Because of his history of bouncing.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

yes, the 600 yesterday could be from a bounce. without the previous 3 days blood sugar data prior to the 600, we can't be sure. I'm not sure how to advise you on that, so will let you make the choice.

When we have data to look at, we can speak with some confidence, but when people first get here and that data is absent, we don't want to advise you without info to back up the advice.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

looking again at his ss, i think in the absence of the previous numbers, i would just increase to 3.25u. The 298 today that was not R-influenced (ie, not directly caused by the use of R) is roughly the equivalent of a 220 on a human meter. So if you see this before you shoot tonight (hopefully) i think i'd go to the 3.25u instead. Nadirs in the 200's call for a 0.25u increase, per the protocol:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Sorry to be so confusing - i was looking at the last line, thinking in terms of a human meter numbers on the ss, and seeing most nadirs over 300.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie,

I know that everyone is looking for more data before advising you on the use of the R. When I looked at your spreadsheet and realized that you switched to Lantus less than a week ago and right after a DKA, I have to share my recent experience.

I hospitalized my cat on a Monday with trace ketone and whacky electrolytes. In 24 hours of IV fluids, the electrolytes were back in balance. We got a positive pancreatic test and kept her overnight for one more day. R was used IM - no Lantus.

When I took her home on Wednesdat, the Lantus shed was probably empty. I restarted the Lantus at 2 units BID and supplemented with R until the shed would refill. The vet encouraged very liberal use of R and lots of testing. I discovered why DKA patients are usually hospitalized for 5 to 7 days. I did round the clock testing, shots of Lantus BID and Regular PRN, and made sure she had food and was getting subQ fluids for a week. She has recovered, but still is using a combo of Lantus and R. Luckily I am home (retired) to test, shoot and feed. There were other issues, a nasty UTI, anemia, and some dental disease.

I do not usually post on Tight Regulation. Your thread caught my eye and with my experience as a foster for diabetic cats for 8 years and my experience as a human diabetic who used Lantus and Humalog for several years, I thought I could help.

If you have questions, please, please ask and I'll try to help.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

you do have a lot of experience, claudia! I very much appreciate you helping with advice.

way to go with successfully pulling your kitty through dka - it's not easy.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

YOU GUYS ARE PHENOMENAL! I am sorry for the delay, I had to leave to pick my daughter up at work. Hubby was supposed to but got caught up. I decided not to give Charlie any Humulin because of Julies advice about the bouncing and since he is prone to it I wanted to wait, but good news, I was finally able to get a urine sample and he is back to trace ketones and he ate again. The bad news is that we are now at a 414 at the +11 mark. One hour to go until he is due for his lantus. Do I shoot early and if so do the 3.25 or give him humulin now? I am willing to wait to give lantus if that is the safe thing to do and Im home for the night so I can test all night if need be. Please advise :)
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie,

Okay, let's do some math. Lantus at +12 will begin to work at +2 but more likely +3. If you give R now, it will be waning when the Lantus kicks in.

With trace ketones and a 411, you really don't want to wait 3-4 hours for Lantus to work. He will likely show more ketones. With a bg over 400, if Charlie were my cat, I would give 2 or 3 units of R now. Test again at an hour. Let's see if he is responding to it.

As I said earlier, I'm going to stay close to the computer. I'm a night owl, so I can be with you if you need to test frequently tonight.

Let me know if you have questions. Please, I just want to help you and Charlie. I know this has to be scary for you even though you are a vet tech. Everyone needs someone to lean on, and your vet is away, so you can lean on me if you'd like.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

claudia has experience with both DKA and R shot into muscle. I would take her advice and use the R with the shot. I think you could still increase the Lantus, but let's see what others think. The R will be in and out in about 4 hrs, the Lantus won't onset for a couple of hours and the increase will take longer to take action.

How long do you have til you shoot? about 30 minutes?
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

I was getting nervous waiting so I literally just one minute ago gave 3.25 lantus and he ate another full can of proplan. I can give humulin right now If you think I should. I wont leave my computer until you reply so I don't miss the window. Thank you Claudia for your sweet gesture! And Julia as well. You are angels!
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie,

Are you willing to give 2 units of R IM? And test in about an hour?

That is what I would be doing. You are still early in your use of Lantus to know when it will onset and peak in Charlie. Lantus sheds work different in different cats.

Let us know when and what you give.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Hey Ellie,

So glad you gave the R. Can you tell me how much R and what time you gave it? I expect that you gave it IM, correct?

All these factors will make a difference in whether you might need to give another dose.

The message time is CDT I think. You and I are on EDT. So, I'm interested in actual clock time if you don't mind.

Now, please BREATHE and relax for a little while. My recommendation is that you test at an hour and a half to two hours from time you gave the shot.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

I'd like to see an update each hour for the 4 hours after both shots, just so we see how Charlie responds. That will give valuable info for the future.

How are things going Ellie? Is Charlie eating ok?
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Hello. One hour after the 2 units humulin were given IM bg is now 329! :) he seems to be doing ok. Will recheck hourly. Thanks again!
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Hi there and welcome :cool:

Initiation by fire I see. . . .

my Black kitty is a 2x DKA survivor and the R bolus was a huge part of our experience, however I shot sub-q which may be apples and oranges - I can't say.

I do however recommend hourly testing as Julie described, for safety as well as a thorough capture of his reaction.
That information will go a long way toward making the road ahead easier.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

How is Charlie doing? And what about you?

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

So his +2 is 301 (humulin)
Is this good or bad? His attitude has seemed to improve and he's just finished receiving his sc fluids. Just FYI I gave the humulin at 10 pm est the +1 was taken at 1130 and +2 at 1230. Will get the next at 1:30. He also ate some more :)
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

I'd also like to be sure we see a number every hour. Shooting Lantus and R at about the same time can cause numbers to come zooming down esp if the R is given IM. Because we don't have a lot of data on Charlie, we don't know if he might nadir early on Lantus and you do not want your two insulins to nadir at the same time. I am also an experienced R user, as are Sandy and Julie, and we make sure it's not given when the nadirs could overlap. So plead watch him carefully.

The other important point Julie made is that the goal is to get the Lantus dose where it needs to be and supplement with R as needed.

ECID and my own cat is usually most active 2-3 hours after the R is given. Again, we don't have a lot of data on Charlie.

One other important point I'd like to make is that all comments, suggestions, advice need to be in the condo. Advising through PMs, phone calls, emails, is against the rules of this board and a member can be suspended or banned for off board advising. Some of the comments made make me concerned that perhaps some off board advising has occurred.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Marje and Gracie said:
One other important point I'd like to make is that all comments, suggestions, advice need to be in the condo. Advising through PMs, phone calls, emails, is against the rules of this board and a member can be suspended or banned for off board advising. Some of the comments made make me concerned that perhaps some off board advising has occurred.

Thank you for your advice. We are having a movie snuggle party and he's not allowed out of my sight :)
And please be assured that there has not been any outside communication or pm's etc. Not sure what you were referring to unless someone was talking about a different post? Charlie used to be on prozinc and I posted a few questions on that board a few weeks ago but that's all I have posted. I truly am grateful more than I could ever express by the outpouring if support and encouraging advice. This board has kept me from the funny farm! Thanks again.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Thanks for clarifying, Ellie. It wasn't in a post you wrote. :-D just have to be sure longer term members keep it here.

Any updated numbers?
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

We count hours from both shots.

His pmps is what you actually shot the Lantus.

Based upon the times of your posts, I think this is what we've got:

+11 414
Pmps ? (Did you test again when you gave the Lantus at 9:30?)
+0.75 2uR
+2L/+1.25R 329 (11:30pm)
+3.5L/+2.75R 301 (1am)

Does that sound right? Timing matters because we'll want to know for next time. The goal of using R is to pull down the blood sugar enough that the Lantus can work better. So yes, this is good. Remember that normal numbers on the AT are 68-160, so you are getting him in the ballpark. The Lantus increase may not show its effects immediately because of the way it works as a depot insulin.

I would get one more test at about 2:15am, so 4 hrs after the R shot, 4.75 after the L. Often the next cycle after using R the overall range may come down. You may need to grab a nap in between tests and still check him again later tonight, say about 4am. I probably would.

Does that all make sense?
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie,

You've seen a good response to the IM R. My guess is that the onset and peak of the R given IM are earlier than if given SQ. That also means that the duration will be closer to 4 hours.

If the Lantus shed is full, it should reach a peak at between +5 and +7. So, based on my experience and the advice from my vet, a small additional dose (.5 to 1u) of R IM could be given at + 4 if the BG has gone back up above 350.

If the goal is to keep Charlie level and out of DKA this weekend, aggressive R dosing may be necessary. What I am suggesting is unusual but it has worked for my cat. Makes me realize why 24 ER is so important with DKA cases. This is a lot of work for you, Ellie. Hopefully, you can get some shuteye.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

A 300 AT is going to Be roughly equivalent to 220 or so on a human meter. Without being positive there is no bouncing going on, with also just increasing the Lantus tonight and not having reached the L nadir yet, I would rather let this cycle play out and see if the L can do a little more still. I think I would feel better waiting til amps for any additional R.

I'd be concerned shooting R at +4 might bring coinciding Lantus and R nadirs tonight. He's responding well enough that I think we can wait til morning.

Enjoy your pj party with charlie tonight!
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie,

My only concern is that Charlie may not have a full shed of Lantus. Even with the dose increase tonight, he may not have enough coverage from the Lantus to keep him at or near 300.

In the first hour and a half after the R, he dropped about 85 points. In the second hour, he only dropped about 29 points. The R is waning. .The R nadir is past. This is the difference when you dose IM.

Anxiously awaiting your next BG test.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Are you keeping in mind the 300 is with the Alpha Trak, Claudia? The most recent info is they are reading 30-40%higher than the human glucometers, making him in the low 200's.

I guess I see this a little differently. I don't think we have enough data to know when the Lantus nadir is yet.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie

This board is a great place because people can give you different thoughts and suggestions and you can consider it knowing what you know about your kitty, and make an informed decision.

However, as I've said before, we don't have alot of data on Charlie. Having him in a clinic and a vet being aggressive with R is very different than you being at home with him being aggressive. If his numbers tank at a vet's office, they can put him on a dextrose drip to bring his BG up. You can't do that at home.

As Julie mentions, I've also seen what I think of as a residual effect of R with numbers bring lower the cycle or so sdter it is given. While it's really not the R, the R opens the door for the basal insulin to do its job.

I'd hold off on more R tonight, get some rest, see where he is tomorrow. I would test as Julie has suggested just to know where he is.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Julie,

He hasn't been on Lantus for more than 5 days. And, he was put on it after the last DKA. With my cat, the shed took almost two weeks to fill after the DKA when the vet took her off Lantus for the hospital stay.

I know that this board would like to use Lantus to regulate Charlie long term, and that would be great. However, Ellie is very concerned about keeping Charlie out of DKA for this weekend. I'm responding to the short term goals at the moment.

Ellie is testing and shooting and keeping an eye on Charlie. He'll be fine in her care.

Claudia
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

claudia, imho, you're playing vet with someone else's cat... a cat you've never seen... with very little data to work with... you're suggesting a super aggressive method... and you're not a vet. the method you're using is a method vets use... in the comfort of their own office... ready AND equipped to start a glucose drip in the event of anything going haywire.

ellie, i'm very concerned about the advice claudia is suggesting.


If the Lantus shed is full, it should reach a peak at between +5 and +7. So, based on my experience and the advice from my vet, a small additional dose (.5 to 1u) of R IM could be given at + 4 if the BG has gone back up above 350.
i can't believe ANY vet would offer this kind of advice with a cat he's never seen. i don't doubt you were successful using this method with YOUR cat, but this isn't your cat. you don't "know" charlie any more than you "know" mine.

ellie, fwiw, i'd also hold off more R at the moment.

just my two cents...




ETA:
i'm reporting this thread.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

By the way, most of us enter tests asap in the spreadsheet so it is kept up to date.

You can enter the test numbers in the correct cell for the L cycle and in the pm+1 cycle write 0.75=2uR.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

cjleo said:
I'm responding to the short term goals at the moment.
... with very aggressive measures which are not appropriate on an internet message board.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

[quote="julie & punkin (ga)"

Based upon the times of your posts, I think this is what we've got:

+11 414
Pmps ? (Did you test again when you gave the Lantus at 9:30?)
+0.50 2uR
+2L/+1.25R 329 (11:30pm)
+3.5L/
?[/quote]

263 is current reading (+4 from humulin at 10 pm est) and yes the above is true. Didn't retest before shooting because it was only 30 min after the +11 I gave insulin 30 min early do you think it's safe to get a few hours of sleep he seems better. Eating purring and grooming. Thanks again.
*****The humulin was only .50 unit, not .75...I was so tired last night I didn't even notice that on your question. Sorry for any confusion. I changed it on this post. and also on his spreadsheet.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Ellie

Jill is a global moderator on this board. She's got more experience with Lantus, levemir, DKA, and R than any other member I know. She has been a member of this board for over eight years. She has taught me everything I know and I trust her advice implicitly. She has taught us all safety first.

I don't mean to put you in an awkward situation since you know none of us. But Jill, Julie, and I want to be sure Charlie is safe.
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Just in case, a reminder for all:

"Off-Board coaching is unacceptable. The FDMB is for PEER-REVIEWED advice."
~ Rebecca, Webmaster
 
Re: On the brink of DKA 3rd time in 3 months 2 year old Char

Hello again :cool:

I just read your condo from yesterday and got the background and saw a few similarities.

My BK was hospitalized with his first DKA 05/22/2008 and again on 06/27/2008.
At the time of the 2nd hospitalizations he was down to 7.8lb and at deaths door.


After he was discharged the 2nd time, he started to consume mass quantities of food (wellness) - 16-20 oz per 24hrs!
Looking at the notes on his ss, that lasted about 2 1/2 weeks then tapered off.
I also noted stool weirdness during that time. . .
He rang in 2009 at 13 lbs :-D

Have a look at BKs ss during the times I mentioned and you can see how I used R to get the ketones behind him once and for all.
( note - we later discovered BK had a high dose condition - IAA (insulin auto antibodies which caused extreme insulin resistance) which puts a different spin on his numbers.)
You can also see my method of tracking it all on the ss. I know there are a lot of moving parts right know but please keep the ss up to date with all details.
It helps those who are willing to help size up the situation quickly.

Proceed with caution. You must collect data and learn your kitties reactions. At this point it will be shot by shot.
It's a balancing act right now. While managing the ketones you need to safely find a Lantus dose he can live with and that takes a little time.

Keep in mind It's just as important to know when not to use R
this I know first hand. :cool:

eta- could there be trouble with the root canal tooth? if the opportunity presents itself a radiograph of that tooth may not be a bad idea.
 

Attachments

  • BK poodle paw 06-2008 reduced.JPG
    BK poodle paw 06-2008 reduced.JPG
    18.1 KB · Views: 286
  • presents - cropped (388x400).jpg
    presents - cropped (388x400).jpg
    163.9 KB · Views: 279
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top