On budesonide, no change yet.

Merfles

Member Since 2025
Hey everyone, the struggle continues...
I've been slowly slogging through trying to get Bee's IBD figured out (my vet isn't very useful), and it's still not going great. He wasn't eating well for months, and now he's eating again (and drinking a lot), I assume because his glucose has been so high. He abruptly went from usually being mid 100's to 200's early Jan, and I have no explanation other than his bowels. He had been doing poorly for a while, but his glucose hadn't changed until then. He's had bloodwork, an ultrasound (showed slightly inflamed pancreas, they didn't specifically say he had intestinal thickening), B12 injections (weekly for a month, then monthly after today). I did try him on a low dose of gaba for a week to see if he was in pain, and that made no difference. Some days he's going UP after his insulin. He has been happy enough with his FF pates again, I've been rotating flavors hoping he won't get bored, but that may not be helping his bowels? I also tried to start adding some Duck Dr. Elsey's kibble into his usual chicken, to get him on a more novel protein, and that may also be causing poop/vomit issues. I can't afford a new bag of chicken kibble until tomorrow. I can try him on Tiki pates again if needed, but the cost of his meds and everything, things are tight.

I started him on budesonide 3/14 (1mg every 24hrs), and I'm probably being impatient, but there's been no positive change to his stool, it actually seems worse in the evenings. It's still horrible smelling, soft serve consistency, but has been liquid the last few evenings. I've been extremely cautious with raising his insulin, since he used to react VERY strongly to miniscule doses, but now it seems like it isn't hardly doing anything anymore, with the budesonide it's going to be worse. He tested 322 this morning, and I can't be there to monitor him, so I couldn't raise his dose. He's been up to 1u for a few days, and I hoped he would level out a little, but I'm assuming he won't now due to the steroids. I don't know how much to expect his glucose to change due to the budesonide, it's probably different for each cat? I know a lot of cats are on way more insulin than him, but with how he used to respond to very small doses, I'm worried. Is it just insulin resistance? Is it something else? Is this his new normal? I've seen people say it can take a couple weeks for the budesonide to make a difference, but also that it should help after a few days. I'm going to test his ketones after work today, since he's been so high continuously. I've given up hope of him ever being in the low 100's-double digits again, but this constant 200's stuff can't be good for him, and I really want to get him back into the 100's.

I'm doing everything I can, but he doesn't seem to be improving. I can't do raw/home cooked food, but maybe there's something else I can try? Probiotics, something? Any suggestions or experiences are appreciated.
 
Have you seen these two web sites?

Feline IBD - Healing can happen!
IBDKitties – Helping Save Lives…One Paw at a Time

Have patience 🤗 Budesonide doesn't work magic in 4 short days. That said, Leroy's been on budesonide for 2 years or so now and he's still a hot mess :facepalm: His poop is firm at least, just still super stinky🤢, and the IBD is mostly under control. His bgs are affected by budesonide but other cats may not see the same effect.

Many IBD cats have super sensitive tummies and can no longer tolerate common proteins like chicken or beef. Give a novel protein only diet a try for a couple of weeks. Rabbit is a good choice to start with. Leroy has allergies to fillers in food so he can only eat a bland rabbit with no fillers.

Probiotics is helpful. It has no effect on Leroy but I still give it anyways. Visibiome is a popular brand.
 
I am so sorry you are going thru so much, Have you considered seeking another opinion?, when you increase or decrease a dose the body needs to adjust to the new dose. it takes approximately 3 days before you begin to see a difference. since you are not home during the day, do you have a wet food feeder? is important for a diabetic cat to east 3-4 small meals or snack during the day, beside the two main meals prior to the shot, you might want to consider the CGM libre, this way you can monitor him throughout the day, The
Have you checked the carb on the Fancy Feast you are feeding? FF has many flavors you can feed Bee, I purchase 4 flavors for the month, I feed 1/2 can to each cats every day for a month for 4 years, they look forward to the time they eat, they know which food is next, they were picky eaters, not any more, maybe every other month I will change one flavor. for the soft stool or watery can be the sudden change in food, when you switch suddenly, the stomach gets upset. if you look at Corky's SS, (see Remarks menu posted) he has been diabetic for 4 years, and pretty much on the same dose for 1-2 years, he was doing great on 0.75 on 2024 however on 2025 his dose increased to 1.50u he's been on the same dose till 2 days ago, now he's on 1.75 again, Nothing has changed in his daily routine, he's very healthy but Corky will be a lifetime diabetic, increasing the dose does not means intolerance, all cats are different and react differently to insulin, I am attaching a carb calculator a drs approved food list, the third column contains the carb% for each food, look at Dr Elsy's ingredients, use them on the calculator, you will be looking for the DRY MATTER CARBS, I will post a couple of members that can give more or better input on your concerns, and medications you are giving. 🤗
@squeem3
@Wendy&Neko

Info - Dr. Pierson - new Food Chart
Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com
 
Have you seen these two web sites?

Feline IBD - Healing can happen!
IBDKitties – Helping Save Lives…One Paw at a Time

Have patience 🤗 Budesonide doesn't work magic in 4 short days. That said, Leroy's been on budesonide for 2 years or so now and he's still a hot mess :facepalm: His poop is firm at least, just still super stinky🤢, and the IBD is mostly under control. His bgs are affected by budesonide but other cats may not see the same effect.

Many IBD cats have super sensitive tummies and can no longer tolerate common proteins like chicken or beef. Give a novel protein only diet a try for a couple of weeks. Rabbit is a good choice to start with. Leroy has allergies to fillers in food so he can only eat a bland rabbit with no fillers.

Probiotics is helpful. It has no effect on Leroy but I still give it anyways. Visibiome is a popular brand.
I have looked some at the IBD sites, I need to go back through stuff again, though!

The trouble with Bee is historically he does ok with the Elsey's chicken, but every time I've tried a different meat variety, it's instant diarrhea, sometimes vomiting. I tried to find their rabbit kibble, and couldn't, so I tried duck. Turkey didn't agree with him, neither did salmon. He loves his dry food, and doing just wet isn't possible for me, but I can switch the wet he does get to non-chicken. Is turkey even novel enough?? Last time I gave him the Tiki I'd been feeding him (after being off it for a bit), he puked *sigh* it was either rabbit or venison. He's so freaking picky, it's SO difficult. I'll check put that probiotic after pay day.

How can you tell how much the budesonide is helping, short of another ultrasound? Is it just more or less by how the stool is coming out?
 
I am so sorry you are going thru so much, Have you considered seeking another opinion?, when you increase or decrease a dose the body needs to adjust to the new dose. it takes approximately 3 days before you begin to see a difference. since you are not home during the day, do you have a wet food feeder? is important for a diabetic cat to east 3-4 small meals or snack during the day, beside the two main meals prior to the shot, you might want to consider the CGM libre, this way you can monitor him throughout the day, The
Have you checked the carb on the Fancy Feast you are feeding? FF has many flavors you can feed Bee, I purchase 4 flavors for the month, I feed 1/2 can to each cats every day for a month for 4 years, they look forward to the time they eat, they know which food is next, they were picky eaters, not any more, maybe every other month I will change one flavor. for the soft stool or watery can be the sudden change in food, when you switch suddenly, the stomach gets upset. if you look at Corky's SS, (see Remarks menu posted) he has been diabetic for 4 years, and pretty much on the same dose for 1-2 years, he was doing great on 0.75 on 2024 however on 2025 his dose increased to 1.50u he's been on the same dose till 2 days ago, now he's on 1.75 again, Nothing has changed in his daily routine, he's very healthy but Corky will be a lifetime diabetic, increasing the dose does not means intolerance, all cats are different and react differently to insulin, I am attaching a carb calculator a drs approved food list, the third column contains the carb% for each food, look at Dr Elsy's ingredients, use them on the calculator, you will be looking for the DRY MATTER CARBS, I will post a couple of members that can give more or better input on your concerns, and medications you are giving. 🤗
@squeem3
@Wendy&Neko

Info - Dr. Pierson - new Food Chart
Carb Calculator - Felinediabetes.com

I do the FF classic pates only, usually turkey and giblets, chicken, ocean whitefish and tuna, and chicken and liver I think? When he was refusing the FF, I had him on Tiki pates (usually venison), but it's so expensive I was glad when he started eating the FF again. He won't touch anything but pate textured wet foods, he's a picky turd.
I can't do wet while I'm not home, he gets it before his shots every day, but has his Elsey's kibble in his pet libro feeder, so I can see when he's eating. He eats kibble hourly on his own accord, generally.

I've experienced him leveling after a few days on a new dose, but that hasn't happened this time, I assume due to also starting the budesonide. I don't know how long to hold at 1u before upping him, in this case? He used to run SO low in comparison, it's so distressing seeing him not react at all to much higher doses 😞
 
Looks like the Dr Elsey rabbit dry food is out of stock on Amazon, the only online place where it's sold. Try contacting Dr Elsey to see what local independent pet stores in your area sells the food.

Turkey... it depends on the cat. My cat can't eat any poultry / game bird because of his IBD.

Kangaroo is an option. Rayne is the brand.

Could you try air dried raw or freeze dried raw? Air dried raw is crunchy like dry food. Freeze dried raw, it depends on the brand. I feed the Vital Essentials patties which I bash into powder so it can be rehydrated in water.

I just go by symptoms. If he's not having diarrhea, he's eating well, and doing everything normally then I assume the budesonide is working.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) might have other suggestions.
 
Indy has IBD and unfortunately, his poops are incredibly stinky. Doesn't matter what I feed him they stink to high heavens.

I have no advice outside of reassurance because Indy is on chlorambucil instead of a steroid. He was on prednisolone for years and when he first became diabetic vet switched him to chlorambucil.
 
Looks like the Dr Elsey rabbit dry food is out of stock on Amazon, the only online place where it's sold. Try contacting Dr Elsey to see what local independent pet stores in your area sells the food.

Turkey... it depends on the cat. My cat can't eat any poultry / game bird because of his IBD.

Kangaroo is an option. Rayne is the brand.

Could you try air dried raw or freeze dried raw? Air dried raw is crunchy like dry food. Freeze dried raw, it depends on the brand. I feed the Vital Essentials patties which I bash into powder so it can be rehydrated in water.

I just go by symptoms. If he's not having diarrhea, he's eating well, and doing everything normally then I assume the budesonide is working.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) might have other suggestions.
I have not tried freeze dried food yet, I don't know where to get it from, but I'd be willing to see what he thinks about it!
 
Oooof I upped his dose from 1u to 1.25u this afternoon, and he went from 272 pre-shot at 3pm, to 288 at 8pm 😭
 
Chewy sells freeze dried and air dried raw food. Several brands are available. A local independent pet store will also sell freeze dried and air dried raw.

https://www.chewy.com/b/freeze-dried-cat-food-11737

Read the product description carefully. Some freeze dried products are not complete meals. They are toppers meant to go on top of canned or regular dry food as a flavor booster.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top