OMG!

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
Finally got my supplies. Did Bubbles' First BG (about 10 trys before I got enough blood)
+6 = 151
I am thinking that's OK?
She's on 2u PZI every 12h
Today is Day 8 of insulin
Whew! :o
 
Hurray! Welcome to theVampire Club! 151 is a nice +6 for a beginning diabetic. Here's a general guide:

We consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and 100 or under at nadir (+6). 40 and under at nadir is getting too low and requires intervention with food and possibly honey (if the levels continue to fall - it's what we consider a hypo). We like to see a new diabetic not get insulin on a preshot 200 and under. It is okay once you have been testing awhile and know your kitty's patterns, but not at first. If you get a preshot 200 or under, wait 20 minutes without feeding (food artifically brings up levels) and retest to be sure it is risng and over 200. If so, shoot a little less than the previous shot.

Did you sure reward both of you after the 10 tries? A low carb treat for her and something for yourself (chocolate is sometimes nice). The treat after is important so she will continue to allow you to poke her.
 
Thanks for the encouragement and info. Going after Bubbles tonight...hope she is up for this, and me, too! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top