? OMG..Switched from NPH to Lantus Today. What to do/expect?

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK....that last meal really took him up

You can wait an hour to test again....if he's still climbing at that point, I think you can relax

I can't stay on much longer though...forgot I have to take my mom to physical therapy tomorrow morning

IF he drops down below 68 again, just a couple teaspoons of the gravy and test again in 30 minutes....but I'm hoping he's getting past nadir and will settle down now

Don't be surprised if he's high in the morning....He may "bounce" off the low numbers tonight

If he's over 300 in the morning and you can test, you could try giving 1.25 and see how he does...if he's under that, I think I might try just going with 1U and let's work our way up if we need to

Others may chime in with other opinions though. I'm not the only one here who can advise you and that's one of the best things about the message board...getting several opinions on the best course of action.

Tomorrow, I'd suggest starting a new thread in the Lantus Forum...You'll get the most experienced eyes over there
 
6pm-1.5 can= FF Classic-Ocean Whitefish +Tuna feast (all 3 oz cans)
+1- .5 can= FF Turkey Feast in Gravy (sliced)
+2- .5 can= " " " "
+3+4- 1 can=FF Fish +Shrimp Feast (flaked)
+4-+5- 1 can =FF Ocean white Fish+ Tuna feast in Gravy (Grilled) + Karo on each half. The is the best i can remember. I htought there was a "sauce" one but not in garbage???
 
Hi Fran and welcome. Chris asked me to pop in as she has a pillow beckoning her.
If he's over 300 in the morning and you can test, you could try giving 1.25 and see how he does...if he's under that, I think I might try just going with 1U and let's work our way up if we need to
I think Chris's plan will work. Two units was too much insulin to start. It's much easier to start on a lower dose and work your way up safely, than to be initiated into the low numbers dance as you've done tonight. Great job by the way! The Lantus depot is still building, and to see low numbers this early on means too high a dose. Actually, looking at your NPH numbers, says that 2 units was too high.

If you are concerned in the morning, do your preshot test, do NOT feed, and post on the Lantus forum for guidance. On the Health forum here, we suggest that new users not give a shot if he is lower than 200 at preshot time. On the Lantus forum, experienced users will shoot lower with guidance from others.
 
How long since you last fed any food? High carb food can last in the system a couple of hours, after which the numbers can come down again.
 
220 quite a difference, if it were me to be on the safe side I would not give over one unit in the morning. You have been brave through this, I have never had Scotty stay low like that for so long, if I feed him a little gravy cat food he will usually bounce up about 30 points and stay there until next shot time.
 
A saying you'll hear a lot here is ECID or each cat is different. Cats really vary on how carb sensitive they are. I can get away with a 16% carbs high carb food, but some people need over 20% to get their cat to rise. The amount your cat just came up could also be as a result of the karo. Karo doesn't last as long in a kitty as high carb food.
 
I thought I was in the Lantus forum..maybe not..maybe haven't gotten there yet? I don't know. Sooo. Take BG at 6 am..do not feed and post and wait for guidance as what to do? What if no one is around to guide me? Your site suggests do not administer any Insulin if under 200? That sounds reasonable especially after this AM's BG=113...Then, I guess I need to transfer all of this info to the Lantus people? If the BG is >200, Shall I consider Lantus 1u?? I don't expect you to answer. This is a MESS..I guess that I will...I don't know what I will do. Start from scratch with Lantus Members. I have written and said so much, I don't know what more to say..but Thanks so much for caring about Elliott!!!
 
6pm-1.5 can= FF Classic-Ocean Whitefish +Tuna feast (all 3 oz cans) ..THIS IS LOW CARB
+1- .5 can= FF Turkey Feast in Gravy (sliced)...this is 17%
+2- .5 can= " " " "
+3+4- 1 can=FF Fish +Shrimp Feast (flaked) this is low carb at 0% carbs
+4-+5- 1 can =FF Ocean white Fish+ Tuna feast in Gravy (Grilled) + Karo on each half.....this is 17% carbs PLUS the Karo
 
Yeah Scotty's an IAA cat, I had him in remission from Feb to Nov but now he's back on 4.25 inits 2X a day. I think I would have a hard time with a regular non-complicated diabetic cat. I would probably test them 50 times a day.
 
You don't need to start from scratch with the Lantus forum members. Just point them to your post here and they can read it. That along with the spreadsheet is the tool we use to communicate.

We have people around the world on the forum - someone will be up and on in an earlier time zone who can help.
 
Fancy Feast Gravy lovers...hokay, going out to buy some of that today.

I'm going to reccommend a wonderful chocolaate for beans: Ghirardelli Intense Dark 86% cacao midnight reverie. It comes in a 3.17 oz. bar and supposedly compares to regular chocolate, as fine scotch compares to moonshine. Walmart carries it, and also some of the superdooper jumbo grocery stores.

I started out eating it for my health. Supposedly the darker the chocolate, the better. "Only a tiny piece." I told myself. "Just a smidgen, a tenth of a bar." This after being addicted to Dove Chocolate for years. (mmmmm how CREAMY!)

Ha! I have to put the darn stuff out of reach or I'll kill that bar in a day, and make myself really ill. If someone told me I'd develop a hankering for a bitter chocolate, I'd have laughed in their face.

So it's probably not a chocolate to have for emergencies, when you want to eat a WHOLE LOT in A VERY SHORT TIME...because it's really dense in cacao. Dunno the caffiene levels in it...probably would rev you up that you can tap dance in your sleep... But for a special treat now and then? Wowzer!

Hey, I just found out that cats don't have taste receptors on their tongues for sweet taste. So technically they shouldn't care about anyone adding syrup to their food. Unless what's left over in corn syrup besides the sweet taste is yukky,:eek: not sure.

That's a shame kitties can't taste sweet. I feel sorry for them, because my life would be so much the poorer without sugar.o_O And imagine not EVER knowing Dove chocolate?
 
EICD? You have no idea the jargon here that I could not figure out until a nice member listed all of the meanings..but not EICD... Shoot. AMPS,PMPS, etc,etc I still don't know what "bump" refers to when not in a sentence. And so, by 3 am Elliott's BG could plunge again....Who are the Lantus experts or do I just ask anyone for help like ASAP at 6 am or shall I follow Chris's plan? I will wait to see the next BG's..YOU ARE EXCEPTIONAL PEOPLE.. I HAVE NEVER KNOWN THAT PEOPLE LIKE YOU EXISTED!!!!! I HAVE TOLD EVERYONE ABOUT YOU. I think that no one can really appreciate all of you just by hearsay..First hand experience has taught (or reminded) me the greatest lesson of "CARING"..That of which I have been quite skeptical over years of seeing the way we treat animals!!! (Oh, and people too)
 
ECID Every cat is different. I would be very cautious, maybe even not shoot more than .50 if his blood sugar is over 200, I mean from the time you shot the 2 units yesterday morning it was just one big drop and you don't really know what a good lantus number for him may be, I would rather see him high for a couple days and increase his insulin slowly to see where he really needs to be. Like I said I will be up at 0600 though and don't worry other people will see and jump in to help. By the way bump is just sort of internet high five.
 
You can test again now, and if Elliots blood sugar is still as high as it was last test, you are probably OK to call it a night. If you are worried, leave some food out for him to graze on if he should go low. But it's unlikely he'll go into danger territory now.

The Lantus forum, like the rest here are all open and peer reviewed. There are no "experts" but there are some people with more experience than others. Your job is to sift through what is posted and do what you are comfortable doing. We are not there with Elliot as you are.

I'm off for the night. Good luck tomorrow.
 
ECID Every cat is different. I would be very cautious, maybe even not shoot more than .50 if his blood sugar is over 200, I mean from the time you shot the 2 units yesterday morning it was just one big drop and you don't really know what a good lantus number for him may be, I would rather see him high for a couple days and increase his insulin slowly to see where he really needs to be. Like I said I will be up at 0600 though and don't worry other people will see and jump in to help. By the way bump is just sort of internet high five.
Nancy and Scotty...I agree completely..I will do a 3 AM BG and try to stay alert for the 6 am start over again..Frank,( husband) has been relieving me at 6 am but today, I had better be ready for ????
 
You can test again now, and if Elliots blood sugar is still as high as it was last test, you are probably OK to call it a night. If you are worried, leave some food out for him to graze on if he should go low. But it's unlikely he'll go into danger territory now.

The Lantus forum, like the rest here are all open and peer reviewed. There are no "experts" but there are some people with more experience than others. Your job is to sift through what is posted and do what you are comfortable doing. We are not there with Elliot as you are.

I'm off for the night. Good luck tomorrow.
Thanks and goodnight!!!!
 
That's a bounce caused by the low numbers he hit. His body isn't used to being that low and releases hormones to bring him back up. Nothing to worry about. A bounce can last as long as 6 cycles, but since ECID, you don't know for sure how long it will last in your cat until you have a lot of data on him.

You did just fine, Fran. We all panic the first time our kitties go low. You are right about the people here. They literally saved my Cinco's life, and my sanity. They have helped me with all of my kitties, and when I lost my beloved Civvie, Minka, a few days ago, the sympathy and compassion was overwhelming. People that join this forum are here because they love their kitties, and they identify with each other because of shared experiences. Once you've been helped, you want to pass it on.

When you post in the morning, start a new thread in the Lantus & Levemir forum and do a subject line something like this: "1/22 Elliott AMPS 200. Dose?" There is also a ? icon you can add if you put your cursor over the first part of the subject line where it says "no prefix". We have plenty of East Coast people that log on early to see if anyone needs help, so you should get a response. BTW, where do you live? It helps to know what time zone you're dealing with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top