Heathy and Mommy
Member Since 2011
8/22/11 - This is Heathy's 4th day on Lantus. HIs amps went up to 308. He was scheduled :!: to go to the VET today. Should I wait until Thursday? Or is he still adjusting to the Lantus? Thanks
General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles). Without enough data, you're on the 5-7 day course which is no problem and gives Heathy a chance to adjust to the Lantus
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers. This is where those +numbers really come in to play
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Heathy and Mommy said:I did my first curve! Yeah!