OMG! Heathy's got a curve!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heathy and Mommy

Member Since 2011
8/22/11 - This is Heathy's 4th day on Lantus. HIs amps went up to 308. He was scheduled :!: to go to the VET today. Should I wait until Thursday? Or is he still adjusting to the Lantus? Thanks
 
Re: Heathy's amps are up today!

Hello and welcome! We have never stopped by before.

You really need to get some mid cycle tests. Lantus is based on nadir, or lowest point in the cycle, so you really need some +2, +4, +6, +8, +10. It is hard to say how low Heathy is going at the lowest point. Most kitties nadir is +6, but there are some that it is +8 or +10. Their nadir can also move around on a day to day basis. I work during the day, so I do my +2, +4, +6 at night and then a full curve on the weekends.

I would go ahead with the vet visit. The AMPS number doesn't look out of line with what Heathy has been showing.

Again, welcome!!
 
Re: Heathy's amps are up today!

Hi there!

Melissa's right on. It's hard to tell what's happening at times other than shot times, so it makes it tough to give any responsible advice. With that having been said, it makes the most sense to stay the course you're on, go to the vet and start collecting some data. Below are general guidelines for starting Lantus and how you handle the first week and then subsequent weeks (dose increases or decreases). You can see that you're in that initial period that should last 5-7 days but takes data to move forward......so collect away and you'll find this board to be the most help to you. Lastly, take a deep breath and give yourself a pat on the back, you're doing a great job and Heathy's numbers are very normal for this period!

General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles). Without enough data, you're on the 5-7 day course which is no problem and gives Heathy a chance to adjust to the Lantus

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers. This is where those +numbers really come in to play

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: Heathy's amps are up today!

It's hard to answer your question based on the data on your spreadsheet. It would be helpful if you could get a min-curve (testing every 3 hours for one cycle) soon.

Also, it looks like you have been moving the time of Heathy's shots. Lantus will perform best if you do what you can to keep the shot time as consistent as possible. And early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot, like a decrease.
 
Re: Heathy's amps are up today!

Hi guys .. don't think we have been by to welcome you here yet, so welcome from us! Looks like you got some good advice here, spot checks are really great if you can get them, they tell so much of the story .. good luck at the vets if you ended up going!
 
Re: Heathy's AMPS update..

8/22/11 - 4:17pm - Decided to try ny own curve on Heathy. He gets so stressed out going to the vet. Still working on the getting the graph together. I guess his "nadir" was at 2:30pm 108. Need to do the pre - dinner reading.
 
Re: Heathy's Daily Curve

Heathy and Mommy said:
I did my first curve! Yeah!

Great that you got a graph working :thumbup

Acutal time has no meaning on this board because there are members all over the world. We use a shorthand way which is midway in one of the stickies: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139 (+1, +2, +3, etc) Instead of +0, you can use AMPS for the morning pre-shot number and PMPS for the evening pre-shot number.

It would help, I think, if you could put points for each bg number in the line so that anyone can tell where on the line a bg number is in relation to time. And label each axis as well so one can tell which axis is what. Here's an example of one of my Squishy's curves. It's one of his better curves :razz: Just a suggestions :smile:

Lantus generally needs at least a week to "settle" and have an effect on bgs. Day 4 on Lantus is a bit early to tell how well the insulin and dose is working. Your numbers look ok overall. I suggest doing another curve next week.
 
Thanks! Will keep working on The Curve. I was also wondering how often I had to do it. Once a week sounds good for my beloved Heathy (and me). He's such a Sweetyheart....all that poking today...and he still purrs! They are such heroes!
 
heehee oh i loved your subject line for this post! that's so cute!

you don't have to do all the tests on one day. you can test at different times each day and your spreadsheet will fill in over time and the curve will become obvious. in general, it's good to get a mid-cycle test every cycle - if you look at other spreadsheets you'll see that the amps is often the last number to stay high - and you wouldn't want to base your treatment of heathy on that number.

really, really important to get mid-cycle numbers. i admit to being somewhat obsessive, but once i mastered home-testing, i've never let punkin go a single cycle without testing in the first 6 hours to see what he was going to do. what if he had an unexpected drop and went hypo? and he's a very flat numbers kitty. so i'd encourage you to always try to get something in the +2-+5 range, and more as you are able.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top