OMG! AMPS was 98! Now what???

Status
Not open for further replies.

jillmerg

Member Since 2015
I am fairly new to this site, to home testing & slowly learning. Haven't been able to get amps/pmps but learning the *tricks. This morning I fed while getting amps and it was 98! I immediately rechecked(good kitty) & got 126. Wow! Thank god I did this. So now what?
Yesterday I overslept and she was close to a hour late with her shot so her pm shot was also adjusted(9am/9pm). The time change too!ahhgggh!
Now its NO shot this am. Where do I go from here? Am I doing this right?
 
You are doing the right thing, in my opinion. Princess will require her evening shot but it is important to stay on the twelve hour schedule. Great that you are home testing!! If you hadn't and had shot blind your fur baby would be in a totally different situation!!!!!
 
Yes. Congratulations on getting that test!
Now you want to get another test tonight at preshot. It would be great if you could get one somewhere later today such as a +6.
You want to start learning her pattern.
 
I think Ill try to test as much as possible today. So, I shouldn't give her any insulin at all today & wait until her normal pm dose , assuming her pmps is where it should be ?
 
Correct - she doesn't get any insulin until her PM dose and only then if the BG is at a level where she won't hypo if the shot is given.

+6 is about when her "low" point (nadir) should be or thereabouts which is as important (if not more) as her pre shot numbers are.

If you don't have much to do today you could run a curve - which is taking her BG levels every two hours so that you can see what she does on a day. Technically if graphed it should appear to curve (hence the name) and it is something that vets will charge mega bucks for!!

You are being a good fur baby momma!!
 
With an unshootable pre-test, stall 30 minutes without feeding and re-test. If it is rising, above 150 mg/dL on a human meter, and you are using a NON-depot insulin such as Novolin N, you may reduce the dose and give a smaller shot.
N insulin is an in and out insulin, so there is generally no carry over shot to shot.
Read over this for info on how to optimize your use of this insulin: Humulin/Novolin Primer
 
Ok, obviously its to late to do that now but I'll remember that. I just tested her & her BG is +5 321. When can I give her dinner, normal time? How high is too high for her BG? I was so scared after she was hypo last month so I'd rather her be higher then lower - especially on a sunday when the vet is closed. How long does it typically take to get her back on track after today? Ugh, Ive been trying so hard to get her regulated since then.
 
Because N is an in out insulin (no carryover unless dosing closely spaced) you can resume your normal schedule.
Cats often tolerate higher numbers for quite some time before having issues. That said, do check for urine (KetoDiaStix) or blood ketones (special meter like NovaMax or Precision Xtra) if frequently over 300 mg/dL on a human glucometer.

See my signature link Secondary Monitoring tools for additional tips or assessments which may be helpful.
 
Feed as normal, Jill, remembering to lift the food 2 hours before the PMPS test. (Assuming there's no other worries or odd BG readings.) If in doubt, post for advice.

Great job catching the double-digit AMPS! :)
 
Thanks! Aine, I laugh at remembering to lift the food 2 hrs before! :p She inhales her food and the bowl is licked clean! She's a former fatty who loves her food!
Now I'll be afraid to ever give her insulin without checking first. I wonder what caused her to drop so low this morning? That darn cat!!
 
Ok, I'll want to give her insulin (2units) in about 3o mins from now so I'll feed her dinner now & then do a pmps. She's been high 200's, so that should be fine right?
 
She may need a dose reduction if she is going too low (below 50 mg/dL on a human meter or below 68 mg/dL on a pet meter)
 
I was in my car ready to go buy a new meter & my mom called frantic that's dad surgery incision was hemmoraging! & ambulance was on the way. So I went there & grabbed my dads accucheck meter then we dropped their dog at my house . Her BG was 300. It's 11:30pm . Do I have my husband give her a shot or wait until early morning ?
 
Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment. If you skipped, that was fine.
Hope your dad is OK.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top