Olivia and her recent hypo(?) episodes, part 2 (Electric Boogaloo)

Status
Not open for further replies.

mosi_yazhi

Member Since 2021
Part 1

The 411:

Me:
Wendy.
32 years old.
United States.

The cat in question:
Olivia
18 years old, female, calico
Indoors cat
Diagnosed April 22, 2021
Started insulin April 27, 2021
Vetsulin
1 unit, twice a day
Accu-check Guide Me
Currently on Clavamox for UTI
Vet says she might need to have teeth pulled?


Wednesday, May 12:

7:45am - 166bg. Gave half a can of 3% 9lives (she ate 1/2 of it -- so 1/4th a can total.)

10:42am - .25u vetsulin

11:10am - 135bg (taken at the behest of Shelley & Jess.) Nibbled more of her breakfast, had a few dried chicken treats.

12:12pm - 76bg. Had some Friskies Gravy Lovers. A few Meow Mix HC treats. Smeared a small dab of honey on her gums.

1:05pm - 64bg. Smeared another (larger) dab of honey. More Friskies gravy.

1:53pm - 101bg. A few Meow Mix HC treats. No longer interested in the gravy.


2:32pm - 143bg. A freeze dried chicken treat to thank her for the blood sample.

3:20pm - 171bg. A freeze dried chicken treat to thank her for the blood sample.

3:49pm - 148 bg. (+4:49) Considering I was *about* to leave for a few hours, and she took a dip, I gave her a few more HC treats because... worrywart.

4:24pm - 130bg. (+5:24) A few more treats. I decide not to leave the house afterall.

5:27pm - 145bg. (+6:27) Probably those treats starting to hit her bloodstream.

7:10pm - 187bg. (+8:10) ... Oops. Regardless, she had dinner shorty after this. About half a can of FF 1%. Took her last dose of Clavamox.​

Thursday, May 13

2:35am - 160bg. (+15:35) Randomly woke up and decided to see where she was at. Noticed she didnt finish her dinner, and encouraged her to finish the other 1/2 can of the FF 1%

7:34am - 130bg. (+20:34) She's working on breakfast right now, a 1/2 can of 9lives 3%

9:59am - 136bg. (+22:59) Its been 2-ish hours since she started breakfast, and shes been nibbling at it slowly since, which is her usual MO. Nothing exciting.
It's been about 24 hours since the .25u of insulin. As much as I want to take her sugars, I'm just going to let her rest until I get back from the shops (gotta get test and ketone strips, more cat food, etc)

Thank you so much to everyone who's been following and giving advice! I really appreciate it! I feel a lot less overwhelmed.

@Bandit's Mom helped me set up the spreadsheet, and I'm going to be plugging in the numbers this evening when I get on a desktop, since I'm just on mobile right now.
 
Last edited:
OK, Y'ALL, IM BACK! Shopping was a success. Got a pack of 50 testing strips for my current meter (Accu-check Guide Me), ketone testing strips, and a new Reli-on meter.

No testing strips for the Reli-on, tho, as they were sold out :banghead: Gonna order some online tho, so hopefully theyll be here before I run out of the Accu-check strips. Going to try using the Reli-on going forward so I can afford to test her more.

BUT ANYWAY, here is where we're at this evening:

Thursday, May 13

2:35am - 160bg. (+15:35) Randomly woke up and decided to see where she was at. Noticed she didnt finish her dinner, and encouraged her to finish the other 1/2 can of the FF 1%

7:34am - 130bg. (+20:34) She's working on breakfast right now, a 1/2 can of 9lives 3%

9:59am - 136bg. (+22:59) Its been 2-ish hours since she started breakfast, and shes been nibbling at it slowly since, which is her usual MO. Nothing exciting.
8:54pm - 163bg. (+34) I took her food away at 5:30pm (when I returned), so this is her numbers without food for about 3 and a half hours. She's having dinner right now, more FF 1%.

I have to say, the past day or so, Olivia has been feeling a lot like herself. Shes walking around, being chatty and affectionate, grooming, etc. I chalked her sullen attitude up to not feeling well from the diarrhea (and maybe some of it was) but I'm thinking it was a lot of her also just living in low blood sugars the past few weeks. I feel so bad.

Anyway. She finished her last round of Clavamox yesterday evening, and I'm hoping it's mostly out of her system enough to do a curve tomorrow without it interfering too much (she can actually absorb her food properly without it shooting out the back end, as it were.)

Where am I starting in regards to units? Just a few drops, maybe?
 
Im thinking a drop dose if between 150 and 200, which is where you push all the air completely out of the syringe, insert into vial, and let go (so you would not actually pull back on the plunger). The result is one drop of insulin in the syringe. Then when you give the shot, hold the plunger down for about 10 seconds to give it time to absorb.

Below 150 and I'd skip, though if we find over the next few days she keeps flirting around 150 then we may consider a drop dose at slightly lower BGs.

Above 200, I'd say 0.1U if you think you can eyeball it. If you can't, do a drop dose. I would only give 0.25U if she's above 225 and you'll be around to monitor.

I'd rather start small, see what happens, and increase as needed. You could also try 0.1U if you think you can eyeball it, but given how low she went with 0.25U and a lot of intervention I'm more comfortable with the drop dose.

I likely won't be around in the AM, good luck!
 
Im thinking a drop dose if between 150 and 200, which is where you push all the air completely out of the syringe, insert into vial, and let go (so you would not actually pull back on the plunger). The result is one drop of insulin in the syringe. Then when you give the shot, hold the plunger down for about 10 seconds to give it time to absorb.

Below 150 and I'd skip, though if we find over the next few days she keeps flirting around 150 then we may consider a drop dose at slightly lower BGs.

Above 200, I'd say 0.1U if you think you can eyeball it. If you can't, do a drop dose. I would only give 0.25U if she's above 225 and you'll be around to monitor.

I'd rather start small, see what happens, and increase as needed. You could also try 0.1U if you think you can eyeball it, but given how low she went with 0.25U and a lot of intervention I'm more comfortable with the drop dose.

I likely won't be around in the AM, good luck!

Ok! We'll see what tomorrow's numbers look like! I'm excited and nervous to see what happens! :joyful:

Thank you!
 
Hi Wendy, just getting online. It would be great if you could input her numbers for the last few days in her SS. That's the best way for us to see what dose has taken her how low.
We are so used to looking at spreadsheets that it's hard for us to process numbers in any other format! :rolleyes:
 
Hi Wendy, just getting online. It would be great if you could input her numbers for the last few days in her SS. That's the best way for us to see what dose has taken her how low.
We are so used to looking at spreadsheets that it's hard for us to process numbers in any other format! :rolleyes:

Yeah, I'm working on it! It was a hectic day, aside from the cat stuff, but I'll make sure it's up and running before the curve tomorrow!
 
Ok, shes at 130bg this morning (8:02am). Been almost two full days since her last shot.

As per @FrostD 's advice, holding off for now, but we'll see what her number is this evening, and maybe do the curve then if shes at 150 or higher.

Still plugging in numbers on the ss. I wasn't testing her with any rhyme or reason that day of the hypo scare so it's hard to pinpoint exact whole +1,+2,+3, etc values.

Plus, just trying to translate how to plot it when it's been like, +46 hours, and the ss only goes up to +11. Math is not my strong suit, be patient with me

But just wanted to let you know, no curve this morning.
 
Last edited:
Hi Wendy - fantastic update!

Even though you didn't give insulin this morning you might want to grab a test between the +3 and +4 mark after Olivia had breakfast. If the number is lower than the 'PS' number that will tell us if her pancreas is producing some insulin on it's own.
 
Hi Wendy - fantastic update!

Even though you didn't give insulin this morning you might want to grab a test between the +3 and +4 mark after Olivia had breakfast. If the number is lower than the 'PS' number that will tell us if her pancreas is producing some insulin on it's own.

Just took her sugars. We're at:

11:16am - 135bg​

But then, IDK. She doesn't really finish her breakfast all in one sitting. She'll eat about half of what's in her bowl when I first give it to her, and then slowly graze on the rest for a few more hours. In fact, she just had a few bites before I did that reading.

I gave her breakfast at about 8:15 this morning, for reference.

Do you want me to take away the food entirety and do another reading in a few more hours?
 
They're still blue. Some struggle a long time to see blue, or to keep them steady in blue.

Do you use syringes to the Vetsulin pen? Or do you have a vial?

?

I have a vial and use the u40 syringes to draw it out.

I wonder if maybe it's her bad tooth (or teeth, idk how many exactly) that is elevating her numbers, and if it will go down once I get dental work done?

That's a whole OTHER worry though, given her age and the anesthesia, ugh :(
 
?

I have a vial and use the u40 syringes to draw it out.

I wonder if maybe it's her bad tooth (or teeth, idk how many exactly) that is elevating her numbers, and if it will go down once I get dental work done?

That's a whole OTHER worry though, given her age and the anesthesia, ugh :(

Well, her numbers is elevated, but they're quite awesome still! Be proud!

Vets is really good at anesthesia these days, I understand your worries..
I was so worried when my Mauer went under, but when she got home? She was so fresh no one would have guessed she had teeth pulled the same day!
My civvie got an enema, under some light anesthesia... he was drunk until the next day.
Mauer had some extensive blood work done prior, so I asked my vet if she modified her anesthesia... but she didn't. Some is just quicker burning it off.
If you're worried, get some blood work first, to make sure her organs is in good shape :bighug:

Perfect on the U40 syringe! That makes things easier :p:D
The pen can only do whole units at a time.
 
Well, her numbers is elevated, but they're quite awesome still! Be proud!

Vets is really good at anesthesia these days, I understand your worries..
I was so worried when my Mauer went under, but when she got home? She was so fresh no one would have guessed she had teeth pulled the same day!
My civvie got an enema, under some light anesthesia... he was drunk until the next day.
Mauer had some extensive blood work done prior, so I asked my vet if she modified her anesthesia... but she didn't. Some is just quicker burning it off.
If you're worried, get some blood work first, to make sure her organs is in good shape :bighug:

Perfect on the U40 syringe! That makes things easier :p:D
The pen can only do whole units at a time.

She had dental work done a few years ago, pre-diabetes, at like 15 years old? I was worried sick even then. Camped out in the vet parking lot all day day of, and I burst into tears when the vet called and said she made it through.

Do you know of anyone here that can advise on 'natural' ways to help keep teeth clean, without brushing? I read that chicken wing tips might help when they gnaw on it, and people feed their cats raw diets, but I've never fed her anything that wasn't kibble, from a can, or cooked, so I'm hesitant to try.

She's HATED it the few times I've tried teeth brushing... but then also hated the ear pokes at first and is angrily, begrudgingly tolerating it now.
 
Y'all.

7:00pm - 140bg, before dinner.

She KNOWS we tryin' to curve her, and she's flexing her pancreas to keep her from going above 150, because she doesnt want to deal with being poked and proded all evening :rolleyes:

Anyway. Imma try to get her to eat most of her dinner in one sitting, take it away for 3-4 hours, then do another reading like @Shelley & Jess requested.

EDIT: Should I take a reading 30 minutes/1hour after dinner, just to see how she spikes, so we can compare it to the 3-4 hour marker?

@FrostD
 
Yes, if you're both willing. Any data is good data to have! Food bumps without insulin will be slightly different than when you're contending with the insulin, but this will help us see how pancreas is going.

Do you by chance have her lab results? I think somewhere you said it was based on fructosamine? And the vet had increased it, was that a curve at the office or another fructosamine?
 
If it were me, I'd give her another day or two of no insulin if she keeps this up. These numbers are just a titch too high, so at that point I'd experiment with a drop dose if you're comfortable (obviously, ideally on a day you can stick around).

Below 120 is ideal, but if even a drop dose takes her too low it'll either be time to try a different insulin like Lantus, or say her current numbers are good enough without insulin (though she'll still probably need once daily testing to make sure it's still in good range)
 
Yes, if you're both willing. Any data is good data to have! Food bumps without insulin will be slightly different than when you're contending with the insulin, but this will help us see how pancreas is going.

Do you by chance have her lab results? I think somewhere you said it was based on fructosamine? And the vet had increased it, was that a curve at the office or another fructosamine?

I dont have her lab results, no!

They never actually did a curve on her. This isn't my usual vet. I mentioned that I live super rurally - when I first noticed something was amiss with Olivia, my usual vet (an hour away) did NOT have any appointment openings whatsoever for like a solid 3 weeks, so I bucked up and took Olivia into the next nearest vet, 3 hours away.

We went in, they gave me a choice between two labs to be done - a 'usual check up' package, and a more in-depth lab. I chose the latter. They said cool, it will take a day or so.

We went back home, 3 hours away. Next day, they called with results. I was expecting a UTI, (was even low-key fearing kidney issues,) but they were like, SURPRISE, she has a UTI AND diabetes!

We made arrangements for me to go pick up insulin and the Clavamox, and they would do another quick blood reading on her (like, 30 minutes quick.) Doc told me 2 units, twice a day. I got a glucometer the same day, even though he was ambivalent about home testing.

Next day the first ever reading was 367bg or something, and I shot her the 2 units no problem. The next reading she was only at like 114 or something, so seeing how two units dropped her so much, I didnt give it to her.

After that, her numbers were consistently lower, and when the doc called a day or so later to check up, I told him my findings and he agreed she needed a lower dose.

He said after her Clavamox is done, do a curve, and make another trip in so we can reassess the UTI situation, talk game plan, and maaaaybe talk tooth extraction if Olivia looked like she was fairing better.

I want to go back to my original vet in the near future once she's in an ok spot, maybe even specifically for her tooth extraction because they did her last one, but I need to call them up and ask how familiar they are with diabetic cats and their care.

8:00pm. She just 'finished' dinner half an hour ago. 121bg.

(Wth?)
 
Good thing you had the sense not to shot when she dropped! Easily could have killed her, so many people blindly follow the vet.

Im wondering if she's not actually diabetic. The UTI could have been keeping her BGs high, which would explain fructosamine and the high readings. Then after starting clavamox it started to resolve and her BG came down. Right now, it could be just the dental stuff keeping her a little above the normal range.

Thinking out loud of course. As an FYI you don't need any more fructosamines tests if you keep testing at home, save a little money lol

That 121 is great! Test again in half hour, and maybe an hour after that if you're up to it? If those are both lower her pancreas is still kickin'

Edit: can you add the med info to the SS? Some people (like me) choose to add a column for it, others just do it in the Remarks column. Helps to know dose and frequency.
 
If it were me, I'd give her another day or two of no insulin if she keeps this up. These numbers are just a titch too high, so at that point I'd experiment with a drop dose if you're comfortable (obviously, ideally on a day you can stick around).

Below 120 is ideal, but if even a drop dose takes her too low it'll either be time to try a different insulin like Lantus, or say her current numbers are good enough without insulin (though she'll still probably need once daily testing to make sure it's still in good range)

Dude, trust me, I would LOVE to put her on Lantus, but even with the 50% discount from buying up in Canada, it's beyond my budget right now. I've actually been out of work since September because of the Pandemic. Running on my savings right now, and will probably have to use the credit card for her dental.

I have obligations this weekend, but Imma try to weasel out of them. If not, and she holds steady, Monday for sure. Even though shes just barely elevated, I dont want her kidneys picking up the slack for too long, dont need them strained for her upcoming dentals.

Good thing you had the sense not to shot when she dropped! Easily could have killed her, so many people blindly follow the vet.

Im wondering if she's not actually diabetic. The UTI could have been keeping her BGs high, which would explain fructosamine and the high readings. Then after starting clavamox it started to resolve and her BG came down. Right now, it could be just the dental stuff keeping her a little above the normal range.

Thinking out loud of course. As an FYI you don't need any more fructosamines tests if you keep testing at home, save a little money lol

That 121 is great! Test again in half hour, and maybe an hour after that if you're up to it? If those are both lower her pancreas is still kickin'

Edit: can you add the med info to the SS? Some people (like me) choose to add a column for it, others just do it in the Remarks column. Helps to know dose and frequency.

I'm lucky(?????) that I have diabetic family members who have also been helping me through this. I already knew how to test because my mom was showing me how she did it on herself, and then on me to kind of scare me out of drinking so much soda :p

Shes the one who advised me not to shoot her the 2u that day. So thankful.

That's kind of my theory too? But I'm trying not to hope too much.

I think my sisters dogs scared her from wanting to leave my room to use the litter box gave her the UTI, which elevated her BG, and it's being KEPT elevated because dental stuff.

8:30pm. Finished eating an hour ago. 120bg.

I'll definitely update her chart with med info in a bit.
 
Dude, trust me, I would LOVE to put her on Lantus, but even with the 50% discount from buying up in Canada, it's beyond my budget right now. I've actually been out of work since September because of the Pandemic. Running on my savings right now, and will probably have to use the credit card for her dental.

I have obligations this weekend, but Imma try to weasel out of them. If not, and she holds steady, Monday for sure. Even though shes just barely elevated, I dont want her kidneys picking up the slack for too long, dont need them strained for her upcoming dentals.



I'm lucky(?????) that I have diabetic family members who have also been helping me through this. I already knew how to test because my mom was showing me how she did it on herself, and then on me to kind of scare me out of drinking so much soda :p

Shes the one who advised me not to shoot her the 2u that day. So thankful.

That's kind of my theory too? But I'm trying not to hope too much.

I think my sisters dogs scared her from wanting to leave my room to use the litter box gave her the UTI, which elevated her BG, and it's being KEPT elevated because dental stuff.

8:30pm. Finished eating an hour ago. 120bg.

I'll definitely update her chart with med info in a bit.
Belieeeeve me I know. We're at 9.5U of Lantus 2x per day, that vial drains QUICK :arghh: When I did our budget at the beginning of the year I looked at how much he was costing us... probably shouldn't do that again.

She's certainly not acting like a "normal" diabetic, so fingers crossed!
 
Belieeeeve me I know. We're at 9.5U of Lantus 2x per day, that vial drains QUICK :arghh: When I did our budget at the beginning of the year I looked at how much he was costing us... probably shouldn't do that again.

She's certainly not acting like a "normal" diabetic, so fingers crossed!

I've had Olivia since i was in middle school, so that's definitely influencing my decision to be spending tons of money on her, when I'm not getting any reliable income right now :p

(Not to say I WOULDNT try to save my other civvie cat I've had for 5 years. I'm just more biased since I've had Olivia over half my life.)

9:30pm. 131bg. Two hours since she last ate.

Btw, I've been using THIS CHART to tell me how to food shop for Olivia, is there an updated version around I dont know about? Says it was made in 2017.

Tonight's dinner was Friskies Chicken and Tuna paté. It doesnt have any info for it, but CatFoodDB is telling me its 2.5% carbs.
 
10:30pm. 137bg. Three hours since she last ate.

11:30pm. 125bg. Four hours since she last ate.

As per usual, she ate half of her dinner, and was looking for the rest during these four hours. But those were some interesting numbers none the less!

Giving her bowl back to her so she can finish it off and heading to bed!
 
Just a thought, your family member who's diabetic. What insulin is he or she on?
You could look in the supply closet, and see if someone have an extra.
You won't need much.

I agree with Melissa... I don't think she's really diabetic. Once her teeth is fixed she might have normal numbers without help..
 
Just a thought, your family member who's diabetic. What insulin is he or she on?
You could look in the supply closet, and see if someone have an extra.
You won't need much.

I agree with Melissa... I don't think she's really diabetic. Once her teeth is fixed she might have normal numbers without help..

I felt horrible just asking to borrow a few test strips from my cousin the other night, I'm definitely not asking for insulin haha. Especially since so many live hand to mouth.

Keep in mind, we live in the US - med supplies are exorbitantly expensive. It'd be like me asking if they have $300 laying around they're not using.
 
8:39am - 148bg.

A bit higher than the previous mornings, but she didnt have the usual 1% dinner last night. Got obligations today, so I have to be out of the house, unfortunately.
 
I felt horrible just asking to borrow a few test strips from my cousin the other night, I'm definitely not asking for insulin haha. Especially since so many live hand to mouth.

Keep in mind, we live in the US - med supplies are exorbitantly expensive. It'd be like me asking if they have $300 laying around they're not using.
I understand! Really :bighug:
My point was, you won't be needing much. So from that point of view it would be a waste of money to buy your own..
Have you checked the supply closet yet?

Still pretty numbers! And you can be out of the house as much as you want to. No juice no hypo :D:bighug:
 
I understand! Really :bighug:
My point was, you won't be needing much. So from that point of view it would be a waste of money to buy your own..
Have you checked the supply closet yet?

Still pretty numbers! And you can be out of the house as much as you want to. No juice no hypo :D:bighug:

Saw someone selling their unused Lantus, but we'll see if it pans out, fingers crossed!

8:30pm - 117bg, before dinner.

I managed to find some FF 0%, and that's what she had for breakfast, so maybe that's what's influencing her PM numbers. Gave it to her again for dinner, but she historically doesnt like the same wet food for multiple meals in a row, so we'll see how it plays out :joyful:

[EDIT]

Sunday, May 16

(Trying not to keep bumping this page when there are more urgent situations needing help and advice.)

6:58am - 121bg
7:33pm - 95bg (!!!!!!)

Been feeding her 0% and 1% FF the last couple meals, but I rocked the boat and fed her 3% for dinner tonight. We'll see how this effects her AM sugars tomorrow.

(I've also been adding this info to the notes section of her ss)
 
Last edited:
8:02am - 142bg.

@FrostD

So - she hasn't broken 150 yet. I've been feeding her stuff below 3% carbs, and when she had 0-1% for a couple meals she even dipped into the green!

Gonna try to hold steady feeding her the 0-1% and see what happens, unless you advise differently?

I managed to snag her an appointment at her usual vet (not the vet that diagnosed her) next week, on the 25th. They're going to reassess her diabetes, and talk game plan for her dental extraction(s?).

I will of course make sure to call the place that diagnosed her, and have them forward her records. I'll see if they can email it to me, and if they do, I'll try to post it.

Is there anything I should make sure that happens during all this? I'll print them off the spreadsheet, and tell them about her new diet change.

Ive read people advising AGAINST convenia and metacam being used during dental, and asking for a antibiotic for before the procedure begins. Is there something else/specific I should request?
 
Metacam isn't dangerous, only in the US where it's only for dogs. In Europe we have a metacam for cats 0.5, dogs is 1.5. So if that's taken into account there should be no problem. We hardly ever use anything other than metacam, but we would have the same problem if we overdosed x2.
 
Metacam isn't dangerous, only in the US where it's only for dogs. In Europe we have a metacam for cats 0.5, dogs is 1.5. So if that's taken into account there should be no problem. We hardly ever use anything other than metacam, but we would have the same problem if we overdosed x2.

Yeah, I'm in the US, that's why I'm concerned! Would rather avoid all together if I can, rather than trying to do conversions, etc
 
Up to you! Those numbers are really good, I'd just like them a smidge lower. The next day you can stick around, have test strips, and hypo kit maybe try drop dose?

Sorry no advice on meds, except you're right that Convenia isn't really recommended.

@Diane Tyler's Mom Tyler had a dental a few months ago didn't he? Any advice? Or perhaps I'm misremembering...
 
I'll definitely look into this! Thank you so much for the heads up!

Please do go ahead and apply. It can take a few weeks to get everything set up and all the paperwork done (and by then, it's possible you won't even need it!)

Getting the UTI taken care of and any dental work she might need may be enough to put her into remission.

As for the dental, unless there's an infection, there's no good reason to be giving antibiotics. One of the reasons we have as many antibiotic resistant bacteria is the over-use of them when they're not needed.

There's all kinds of information in this "Info on dentals" thread.

If you'll send me a private message with your name, I can try to keep an eye on your application to DCIN.
 
Up to you! Those numbers are really good, I'd just like them a smidge lower. The next day you can stick around, have test strips, and hypo kit maybe try drop dose?

Sorry no advice on meds, except you're right that Convenia isn't really recommended.

@Diane Tyler's Mom Tyler had a dental a few months ago didn't he? Any advice? Or perhaps I'm misremembering...
Hi yes he did have a dental a few months ago, x-rays before and after. He didn't have to have any teeth pulled, he didn't even need any pain meds afterwards

He's been in remission since 1-24-21 , had the dental after remission, I only had the dental done because he had a lot of tarter , it was as his first dental
 
Up to you! Those numbers are really good, I'd just like them a smidge lower. The next day you can stick around, have test strips, and hypo kit maybe try drop dose?

Sorry no advice on meds, except you're right that Convenia isn't really recommended.

@Diane Tyler's Mom Tyler had a dental a few months ago didn't he? Any advice? Or perhaps I'm misremembering...

Ok, so here's what I'm noticing - her numbers are usually a little more elevated in the mornings, than in the evenings. Her PM numbers are usually 100-110, but her AM numbers can range from 110-140.

The only difference I can think of is, I sometimes give her a mid-day mini-meal if she's finished her breakfast right away and is really wanting something before 7pm.

She peed on the floor sometime last night. I think this was her way of saying 'Just because YOU'RE comfortable with my numbers, doesnt mean I am!!!'

So we're trying a drop dose today. I hope I did it right/enough of a drop got into her haha. I didnt know how to write 'one drop' on the ss, so I just put .001

Please do go ahead and apply. It can take a few weeks to get everything set up and all the paperwork done (and by then, it's possible you won't even need it!)

Getting the UTI taken care of and any dental work she might need may be enough to put her into remission.

As for the dental, unless there's an infection, there's no good reason to be giving antibiotics. One of the reasons we have as many antibiotic resistant bacteria is the over-use of them when they're not needed.

There's all kinds of information in this "Info on dentals" thread.

If you'll send me a private message with your name, I can try to keep an eye on your application to DCIN.

I read on this forum somewhere that it was a case of - the dental can often 'kick up' bacteria in the mouth, and so you want the antibiotics already there in their system to kind of 'catch' anything before it can grab ahold and actually cause an infection?

IDK. I'll try to find the thread again, and it might have been old, outdated advice. I'm just trying to cover my bases, for the best possible outcome, and see what the new, common consensus is.

Haven't gotten around to filling out the application yet, but I'll drop you a PM when I do!
 
89 at +2, with one drop dose.

She's going to keep me on my toes today, it seems.

I know 'below 90' is when y'all start talking about lowering doses, BUT HOW DO YOU LOWER FROM A DROP, but she still needs SOME insulin???

fml. /crying laughing emoji

/crying emoji
 
Not easy on Vetsulin :oops:
Unfortunately...
How is she feeling? :D

Shes awake and moving about, but you can tell shes a little tuckered out. Got into a slap fight with the other cat (not unusual for them).

This is so difficult with cats because they freaking SLEEP so much anyway, so it's like 'You sleepy because you're actually sleepy? Or is it the insulin?' This would be so much easier with a dog omfg.

Also, general question: At what point do I start checking every half hour?

I let her eat her fill at breakfast [3% Friskies], but she of course only ate about half. She would normally graze on the rest throughout the day, but I took it away in the interest of getting nice 'clean numbers' She's been looking for it, tho. Should I just give it back to her and let her self regulate as well? Or just give it to her at a designated time during the curve?
 
Well, the guide says newbies should not their cat go lower than 90 at nadir.
If it's early in the cycle, then intervention will be needed before.
So I guess it's now?
So I'd feed her now to keep her up
 
Well, the guide says newbies should not their cat go lower than 90 at nadir.
If it's early in the cycle, then intervention will be needed before.
So I guess it's now?
So I'd feed her now to keep her up

Sorry about that, had to skip out for a few to do a job interview over the phone (FINGERS CROSSED!!!)

She seems to be holding steady? She went up to 95(+3) before the interview, and is now at 87(+4).

I'm giving her her breakfast bowl back right now, though, because shes getting sassy and starting to chew on my hair.
 
Sorry about that, had to skip out for a few to do a job interview over the phone (FINGERS CROSSED!!!)

She seems to be holding steady? She went up to 95(+3) before the interview, and is now at 87(+4).

I'm giving her her breakfast bowl back right now, though, because shes getting sassy and starting to chew on my hair.
How nice! Fingers crossed :D

Is her food LC? I'd make sure she doesn't go lower.
 
How nice! Fingers crossed :D

Is her food LC? I'd make sure she doesn't go lower.

Yeah, it was LC. Friskies 3%.

95bg @ +5. Holding steady. She had the zoomies just a while ago, so I think she's feeling good? Lol.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top