? Oliver's LANTUS AMPS=63 Do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cat Caregiver

Member Since 2020
Last night I raised Oliver by 0.25 units Lantus because (long story).... And this morning I don't know if I should shoot or not. I think I'm O.K. to shoot. He's eating and I'm stalling. Any advice much appreciated.
 
Thanks. Oliver ate his usual 1 can FF after I measured AMPS. I measured BG=89 at +30 minutes since AMPS. He's going up so I guess I can shoot?
 
But I'm still stalling because early drops could be 20 points (my only data on +1 AM) or 100 points (which he's done in the +2 AM). So I guess I skip?
 
I KNOW that what happens at higher BG's is not the same as what happens at lower BG's. So, I will just keep measuring BG each half hour to find out. But I don't want to skip his AM dose!
 
So I went ahead and shot ONE HOUR LATE (since he was up to 134) using approximately 1.6 units (somewhere in between 1.5 and 1.75). I will keep taking BG all day as needed.
 
Last edited:
WELL DONE CC! It does look like the lantus forum is ...busy.

to be clear I dont give dosage advice but you taking the bull by the horns, is not only brave but smart. Your looking at your data and making clear decisions. BRAVO!
j
 
Thanks Jeanne. May I say that your welcoming encouragement has been invaluable!!! I would have given up without it.
I think lots of us had!
Jeanne is a huge part of this forum! She can't do dosing advice, but she never leaves if help is needed, and lots of us would have turned around in the door if it weren't for her.
This site wouldn't be the same without her!
I hope you know that, Jeanne :bighug:
 
Hi! Next time you have a number you aren't comfortable shooting, don't feed, stall 20 minutes, and ask for help on the LBL board. When you stall and don't feed, you can see if Oliver is rising or falling and gives you an idea of what the cycle may look like. Some kitties do keep falling without food (mine was one!) - but I learned that pretty quickly so I didn't stall often - just learned to shoot low (but that's my personal experience! Every cat (& caregiver) is different :))

I would visit the LBL board and at least read the shooting low numbers sticky.

If you didn't already know, since you delayed your shot this morning by an hour, you can work your way back to your regular shot time by moving it no more than 30 minutes in a 24 hour period. I personally move AM and PM shots by 15 minutes.

Looks like you got some good advice last time you were over on the LBL board - here's the last condo there for anyone following along - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-08-first-bg-curve-on-lantus.238268/

Hope that helps some :bighug:
 
When you stall and don't feed, you can see if Oliver is rising or falling
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!
I think I finally get it!!!
I was AFRAID Oliver would die if I didn't feed so I fed him immediately without thinking.
You're words--"see if Oliver is rising or falling"--were a "light bulb" moment for me. I went back and looked at the past 5 days to see whether Oliver's blood glucose was RISING or FALLING when I injected him. I made the chart below and put GREEN arrows to exaggerate the RISING trend when I injected him and RED arrows when FALLING. Now I SEE why he fell so low this morning. I RAISED the insulin dose in the midst of two consecutive FALLING cycles.

upload_2020-11-18_15-55-31.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-11-18_15-55-31.png
    upload_2020-11-18_15-55-31.png
    81.6 KB · Views: 131
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top