Oliver is hypo at 51 following first dose of prozinc.

IdahoOliver

Member Since 2026
I fed half a teaspoon of Karo. And he is eating high carb fancy feast beef with gravy. This is the first time I have had to treat this at home. We are freaking out a little!
 
Got bg up to 98 15 minutes after sugar. He had a good portion of high carb fancy feast food as well. Plan to check again in 30 min
 
Giving too much syrup and HC will cause to later have very high BG ( bounce) in the meantime please remove the 911 from the thread I'm here with you , do not freak out he's fine
 
Karo Syrup is only a quick fix id BG is under 50, this is why is always best to start with 1/2tsp of low carb, wait 1/2hr test feed test if the BG does not get higher, we feed the same protocol with medium carbs, if it remains the same or continues to get lower, again we use the same protocol with HC. Good you contacted us. thanks for removing the 911, I'm here, after we get him to a comfortable number for you, I will tag Suzanne so she can discuss dosing with you, although with that only 51, it will probably remain the same, is her call
 
We do not normally give any HC unless the cat goes BELOW 50. However if it’s quite early in the cycle it may be warranted. What did you give and when did you give it?
 
Ok, feel better now? as I explained below 51 is not hypo, 27myesterday was, there is were you would give the Karo, you can find a small syringe with the pharmacist, that has Milimeters, and you use that for the Karo, 1Ml, not more and follow the directions above, I can understand panicking, I've been there, not being used to seeing low numbers can be shattering, but you will get used to them eventually, (see Corky's SS) I shoot in very low numbers, but it takes time, and lots of coaching, and guts, now is a walk in the park, You did good,
And are you okay?
I've been here with her 2 minutes after her 911m post, she gave 1tsp of Karo and HC, before posting
 
We do not normally give any HC unless the cat goes BELOW 50. However if it’s quite early in the cycle it may be warranted. What did you give and when did you give it?
I have 1/2 tsp Karo and he had probably about an ounce of high carb food immediately following the 51 bg reading taken at 12:20. It’s now 1:40 here. He is at 206 and we are settled back down.
 
Good , as you can see he's
BG is the same as the last reading, Read carefully all posted on the protocol when BG is 50, if that were the case you start the feed 1/2 tsp of LC at a time test in 1/2 hr and repeat until he reaches a few higher numbers ;) 🤗 i
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
What +hour are you in now? I can’t compute your times so we use the + hours here to communicate. Are you at +5 now or +6 (or in between.)
 
These are my notes of exact times and what we did:

12:25 - 51

1/2 tsp Karo

1/2 can beef and gravy FF

12:55 - 98

1:27 - 206
 
These are my notes of exact times and what we did:

12:25 - 51

1/2 tsp Karo

1/2 can beef and gravy FF

12:55 - 98

1:27 - 206
This all needs to go into the appropriate cells on the spreadsheet (during whichever +hour the tests were taken). You can do this after you get another test.
 
Until you make sure his BG numbers are staying up on their own without any food you have to keep testing. The rule is also to keep testing for two hours after the last HC was given. If he is still in the 200s or higher, you can wait an hour.
 
Here’s an example of one time I had to put multiple numbers in my SS
1768428210382.jpeg
 
Did he get a snack/small meal at +2 today. That’s important to prevent steep drops.
Also, the +2 test I explained above. Super important for a cat like Oliver now.
okay, no he didn’t. I was wondering if it was a lack of food issue… that makes sense. I hadn’t heard of doing that.
 
This an example on how to type in the cells (square) each BG within the hour, so if you tested 206@12:30 you will type 206@12.5, then you tested again at 1:00 you will type next to the 12.5 / 229@1 and so on as many times you test within that hour, you just place a " / " after the time, the cell expands to fit everything you type, the time is important because we can see the development, of the time of the test, food, MC<HB<Syrup is affecting as the hours go by, please do continue testing at least every hour for a bit, he had the Karo and HC, as long as it drops some is good, if he drops below 69 please post again with 911 and we will walk you thru it as you do it. but still , remember 50 IS NOT HYPO, only the lime BG numbers 49 under hypo begins, and we will walk you thru it. But Oliver will be just fine till morning, As Suzanne said it is important with ProZinc to give a small LC or small meal at +2, which means two hours after shots ,🫶;):cat:
 
Oliver will have high BGs due to the Karo and 1 cn of High carbs all at once, its expected, but is ok, you were nervous which is understood, and did not know the process, tomorrow will be a better day, may have some green numbers as well as yellows, and is ok, We are here for you, you can pout your feet up now for a while, our cats love to have us on our toes.
 
okay, no he didn’t. I was wondering if it was a lack of food issue… that makes sense. I hadn’t heard of doing that.
The +2 small meal is quite important to help prevent steep drops around the time that the ProZinc onsets (begins to lower BG.) With new members, I usually recommend a small meal at +2 and +4. Some cats need another snack around +6, but feeding much after nadir can shorten the duration of the insulin and cause BG to rise too quickly.

I am sorry. I thought we had gone over his feeding schedule — or it may have been buried somewhere in the many posts of the previous thread.
 
Back
Top