Oliver - 6/18 +8=68,+11=102 Going up after pred.

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
This is the start of Oliver's 3rd day without insulin. Of course, I did skip his prednisolone last night. I will give it to him tonight and see what that does to his BG.

Question 1: I have seen that food seems to start affecting BG about 20 minutes after eating. How long does that last. (If I test 2 hours after eating, does is that reading still impacted by the food?)

Question 2: I live in Baltimore. Is it possible to get 3ml vials of Lantus and, if so, where can I get them?
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66 Two Questions

i suspect the answer to your first question is that it depends on the cat. It probably also depends on where in the insulin cycle the food is eaten.

For a cat not getting insulin, we typically look at the BGs about 3 hrs after eating. If the pancreas is working, it will kick in from the stimulation of the carbs and it will bring down the BGs. So if you get a premeal test of 70, no shot, and 3 hrs later he's at 50, i'd assume that his pancreas was working and bringing down the BGs like it is supposed to!

Are you seeing signs he needs the pred? I know you said earlier you weren't certain whether or not he really needed it. How will you know?

Regarding the Lantus, it comes in 1000u vials or 300u pens, called a Solostar pen. There is a discount card that *might* allow you to get one pen for $25. http://www.lantus.com/sign-up/offers The pens come in boxes of 5 and cost somewhere over $250 for a box - i'm not sure what the going prices are. Some pharmacies will break up a box and sell one pen at a time. There's no rhyme or reason to who will do that, although pharmacies that serve hospitals and nursing homes often will. It might be a big name chain and it might be a small local pharmacy. You have to call around. I found a small chain within a grocery store that would sell me one, and I had a Solostar coupon for $25, so the one pen cost me $18 at the time. That's been a couple of years and Lantus has gone up in price since then.

The last insulin I bought for punkin, i bought 4 or 5 boxes of pens for about $200ish maybe, off of Craigslist. A woman's diabetic dad had passed away - she had a legitimate story, the insulin had been refrigerated the whole time, and the pens worked great for me. Buying off craigslist is a iffy situation, of course, so you'd have to be careful. It was a great deal for me, though, and worked out fine.
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66 Two Questions

I guess I will know Oliver doesn't need the pred anymore if/when I take him off it and he doesn't show IBD symptoms (Mostly vomiting and weight loss.) I'll have to talk with my vet about it. I do know that we have dramatically reduced his pred. over the last 2 months and he has shown no signs of IBD.

About the pens -- I am assuming there is a way to insert a needle into the pen to draw out the dose for a cat. (??)

I paid $240 for a 10 ml vial of Lantus. The problem is, at such low dosages, I will end up throwing away half the vial after 6 months. If I could use the pens instead, there wouldn't be so much waste. I mentioned this to my vet and she wasn't familiar with 3ml. vials (or pens.) She asked me to let her know if I can find out anything about it.
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66 Two Questions

Hello to you and Oliver! Do you have CVS in Baltimore? My CVS in NY will sell a single pen for $79. I explained that the insulin is for my cat, and the pharmacist understood that it would be crazy to make me buy extra and have it go to waste. I use regular syringes to draw from the pens.
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66, +2=65, +5=59, +8=68 Gave Pred

My Fluff Bunny has been surfing along nicely today, but he has seemed a little subdued and he is not eating with his usual enthusiasm. I fed him some Royal Canin canned diabetic food, then gave him his prednisolone at +8 (4 PM.) I will be tracking him tonight to see if I can record the impact the pred. has on his BG.
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66, +2=65, +5=59, +8=68 Gave Pred

Take a look here on the Lantus & Lev, Infor, Proper Handling & Storage yellow starred sticky for how to draw up insulin from a pen or cartridge. The video includes both - as a bonus you get to hear punkin talking in the background. :lol: There are also some pics of small doses on the "New to the Group?" sticky. I've gone back to read those 5 stickies about a million times. Lots of good info in them.
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66, +2=65, +5=59, +8=68 Gave Pred

Great video. Thanks. I have been doing several things wrong. :o
 
Re: Oliver - 6/18 AMBG=66, +2=65, +5=59, +8=68 Gave Pred

hopefully it won't have contaminated it!

if you see high numbers rising inexplicably and you think the lantus got contaminated, you might consider replacing it. For now, though, i'd just power on and change whatever you were doing. he's looking great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top