Oliver 10/11 AMPS 426 after increase - question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
I'm a little nervous.
2 days ago (10/9)Oliver was
AM +6 300
yesterday 10/10
increased dose to 1.25 in the am
amps = 349
+6 = 330
PMPs = 325
this morning
AMPS = 426

oliver eats his breakfast between 5:30 and 6 each moring... about half a can of fancy feast. Then about 1/4 can and a shrimp with his shot. which is now at 9am His dinner is between 5 and 5:30pm.

we flirted with yellows a couple days ago, but now seem to be heading in the wrong direction.

Should we change his eating sched?

breathing ..... he looks good, coat shines again, dandruff almost gone, ketones negative, playing, right now he seems quite hungry.. the last couple days he didn't seem so hungry and even left some food in his plate.

He had blood work done last week and she said his white cell count was not elevated. Doesn't that mean he doesn't have an infection that might make his numbers high?

Ollie and i are hanging out today so i'll be able to keep a close eye on his little self.
thanks in advance
mary
 
Hi guys .. not sure the last time I was in Oliver's condo (if ever!) so welcome from us! I don't have any answers to your questions, but it's nice to know that there doesn't seem to be any health factors other then FD going on right now .. others will be by soon to help out I'm sure .. have a great day!
 
How much before his shot are you feeding?

We encourage you to not feed anything during the 2 hour period prior to a shot. The food can elevate your pre-shot number. While if a cat is in higher ranges this may not be too big of an issue, it can be a huge issue if your cat is in lower ranges. You could end up shooting on what is a number that is food spike.

Are you able to get a +2 test in the evenings?
 
Hi Mary-

Couple quick questions, which I'm sure will come up before others can really answer your dose questions. Do you have a spreadsheet set up for Oliver? If you do, you'll want to attach it in your signature, so those with more experience can look at Oliver's overall trends. If you don't have one set up, you'll need to have one and attach it to your signature...in a nutshell, a spreadsheet is the key to making dosing decisions.

Also, I see you are feeding well before shooting. Are you following a 12/12 shooting schedule, shooting at both 9:00am and 9:00pm? When are you taking the preshot pokie tests? If you're doing it right before the actual shot, with the eating schedule you've got going, I'm wondering if numbers are wonky/skewed because meals and shot time are so far apart. In general, most of us test, feed a meal, then give the shot within 10-ish minutes. For Trix, after her main meal and shot, she does get a little dollup usually at +2 and sometimes at +4, but it's not a major portion.

I have to get ready for work right now, but I'm sure others will be along during the day. I just wanted to give you a little food for thought while you were waiting.

Keep asking questions...we'll all help you get Oliver where he needs to go!

Have a great day!

Amy
 
The others are right with regards to the meals. Also, this may be something to keep in mind with new doses, too. Sometimes if a kitty is given a new dose, the kitty may go through what is called New Dose Wonkiness (aka NDW). It simply means that the kitty's body is trying to adjust to the new dose, and it may take about 72 (+/-) hours for the kitty's body to settle down.

With regards to my kitty, Blackie, I normally test, shoot, and then feed within 5 minutes after her shot. That's just me, though, Oliver's #s aren't looking too bad at all, and I'm hoping that he'll show you some lower #s very soon. Because his #s are still up there, please get some ketone tests from him so that the experts can see how he's doing. You're both doing a wonderful job! Keep up the excellent work.
 
thank you for all your thoughts. i'm also surfing all the boards.. great information for those of us who know enough to fit on the head of a pin...with room left over for the Lord's prayer!

to answer some of your questions
1) we usually feed 3 hours before a shot, since his shot is 9am and 9pm. He'd kill me if i made him wait until 9 for breffis. We tried to get his fasting BG yesterday am... no blood. Will try again tomorrow.
2)when do we test before his shot?
am: we test and shoot at the same time. (as i type this... i'm thinking we should test an hour before shot )
pm: we usually test 1 hour before shot
3) Oliver's spread sheet... i see it in my signature line.. does it show up for you? It's labeled "http:// google.com.......spreadsheet......" I don't know how to make it a simple "Oliver's spread sheet"
4) can we get a +2 tonight
yes. will do
5) do we shoot on a 12/12 schedule
yes.

Have to go spend some time reading to our little feral rescue.... will be back shortly.
xoxo
mary
 
I see the SS now! It blurs into the link for Oliver's profile, so I didn't notice they were both there. Sorry 'bout that!!

I know what you mean about waiting to feed. When Trix was first diagnosed, we shot at 7:00, but fed her dinner at 5:30ish, because there was no way the herd (we have 6) was going to wait until 7:00 for din-din - as soon as we get home for work, that means it is kitty fuds time!!! Ultimately, feeding so much before shooting wasn't working out for her, so I ended up switching my sleep schedule so we (I) feed at about 5:20, and shoot by 5:45 - both AM and PM. (My shot would be closer to feed time if I didn't have 6 kitties to manage). I admit, it's a bit hard on me, sleep-wise, but it works best for all the cats.

How sweet that you read to your feral rescue! Of course you know we need to see pics - of your rescue AND Oliver!
 
ecurie said:
thank you for all your thoughts. i'm also surfing all the boards.. great information for those of us who know enough to fit on the head of a pin...with room left over for the Lord's prayer!

You're most welcome. :-D This board is full of helpful information. Even those of us who have been here for along time (Blackie and I have been here since 2010), I still use the Stickies at the top for reference.

ecurie said:
2)when do we test before his shot?
am: we test and shoot at the same time. (as i type this... i'm thinking we should test an hour before shot )
pm: we usually test 1 hour before shot

AMPS and PMPS tests are typically done before the shot is given. For instance, as I normally test Blackie at 5:50 a.m. and again at 5:50 p.m., I give her the shot at 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. (I allow myself 10 minutes to draw and remove any bubbles that may be present). Then, as soon as her shot is given, she gets fed. The norm on this board is to get a preshot test done before you give the shot so that you're not shooting a low # that you're not comfortable shooting at this time. You can test at any time within each 12 hour cycle. It's always best to get at least a +2 and/or a +3 to see if that's where Oliver's nadir is, especially if he decides to go low in the beginning of the cycles. You can also do a curve on him and test him every 3 hours after his shot to see how he does throughout the day, providing your schedule allows it, or even do a 2 hour curve if you want to see more information from him. I've done a 12 hour curve a few times, meaning I tested every hour on the hour to see what Blackie does throughout the day. As long as you get at least 1 midcycle test each cycle, that's the main thing. The more testing you, the more information you'll have for the experts to look at.

ecurie said:
3) Oliver's spread sheet... i see it in my signature line.. does it show up for you? It's labeled "http:// google.com.......spreadsheet......" I don't know how to make it a simple "Oliver's spread sheet"

I was able to see it without a problem. :-D I hope that others can, too, especially the experts. :smile:

ecurie said:
4) can we get a +2 tonight
yes. will do

Good! :-D If you want, you can also get another test before bedtime just to be safe. With any dose adjustment, they can, and have, thrown surprises like dropping. :lol: So, it's always best to test them. For instance, Blackie received a dose reduction this morning, and gave me a surprise of 45 +3. Needless to say, that was about her snack time, so she received her snack, and I retested her 1/2 hour later, and she went up 9 points like I knew she would.

ecurie said:
5) do we shoot on a 12/12 schedule
yes.

Again, good. Lantus is a 12 hour schedule insulin, and works best that way. :smile:

ecurie said:
Have to go spend some time reading to our little feral rescue.... will be back shortly.
xoxo
mary

Have fun, and please give her/him some pettings from us. :smile:
 
Hi Mary - I don't have any feeding/dosing advice, but I wanted to let you know I can see your SS. If you want to give it a shorter name, you just add whatever title you want after the main URL tags and then add another url tag at the end. I'll illustrate, but not using the correct characters for brackets so it doesn't actually make the link...I think...

{url=https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Am477g8CYOMedDJvTFJ4VW1NNEtrNk1TZkNMa2F5bXc&output=html}Busters Glucose Numbers{[/url}

In this example "Busters Glucose Numbers" would be what the link title would say in your sig. The little { } thingers should actually be [ ] when you make the link.

I hope Oliver comes down for you. You're doing great and you'll get lots of support to be sure! Remember, it's a marathon, not a sprint (I think I tell myself that daily - lol!)
 
Here's another thought;
When I started out, I picked a 8am/8 pm schedule for shots but it wasn't working so well since most food spikes lasted about 2 1/2 hours
for Shadow back then and for 12 years my husband gets up early and feeds her first thing in the morning. She gets very upset if she didn't
get that early breffis. So he was feeding her around 6 am , and I was shooting at 8.
I finally realized to get control of that, I HAD to get up with him and shoot the dose so we could avoid the food spike.
I didn't want to. I resisted. But I finally realized it was better overall for her even if I didn't want to give up sleep. :sad:
If we want to go out to eat now we just wait until after shot time which is 5:45 or sometimes 6 am. ( it migrates)
Plus, now I get a +5 every night before I go to bed or thereabouts. And I am able to get at least to a +3 in the morning IF I have work that
day.


Here's the instructions for a fancy link.

The way you make a fancy link is as follows:
• copy the location of the link from the top of your browser
• then, open a post and above the text box are button. Click on the button with URL inside;
• the following will be inserted at your cursor: .
• inside the first bracket, insert an = sign and then paste the location information of your link. It will look something like ;
• in between the two sets of brackets, type what you want to call the link. It will look something like this: [url=the http:// location of Reuben's condo from yesterday]Reuben's condo
 
To make a sweeping generalization, most of us test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes. Gabby gets her shot when her head is in her food bowl. She typically doesn't get any food between +3 and her next shot.

What I would suggest, if it's possible, is to give Oliver a snack at his usual time (approx. 3 hours before his shot time). Then give him the larger meal at shot time. Again, many of us feed several small meals over the first half of the cycle.

Rhiannon said:
...since most food spikes lasted about 2 1/2 hours
This statement may be true for Rhiannon's Shadow. It's not true for everyone's cat. One thing you will consistently hear is "every cat is different" (ECID). Cat's vary with how sensitive they are to carbs, how quickly they metabolize their food, etc. The effect of food can depend on how much you feed, whether your cat inhales every morsel all at once or whether your cat grazes. You'll have to gauge what is accurate for Oliver. And, naturally, cats being cats, once you think you have it figured out, Oliver will do something different. (For example some days, I don't see a food spike with Gabby.)
 
The sentence says that amount of time is for Shadow. not for other cats.

most food spikes lasted about 2 1/2 hours for Shadow back then

You have to figure out how long your own food spike takes by experimenting with tests after you feed food and different foods take
longer to clear than others . different carb %, different ingredients.
It's a complete individual thing for each cat.

I figured out her particular time by using the same food several times in a row and testing to find out when it changed and got lower.


And it's still prudent to try to get a +2 after the shot every time that you are able to do so.

It was after I experimented and figured out Shadow's pattern that I would wait a few minutes more. I still do +2's often .
They are very important to get.

Hope that makes everything clearer.
 
I think Sienne's suggestion is a very good one and one we've used. As a snack, we feed boiled chicken breast.....low carb for late in the cycle so it doesn't affect numbers too much and it's just a little snack before +10.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top