Hello. 14 year old cat recently diagnosed with diabetes. Voracious appetite, drinking A LOT, much urination. After a couple days in and out of the vet, we started him on Prozinc 2U twice daily. I've got the Alpha Trak meter at home to test with. Since starting him on the insulin, his thirst has returned to normal and he had days of appearing more normal and days where he seemed sluggish, glassy. The 2U run lasted about 2 weeks. I ran a BG curve while he was on 2U and it showed the BG wasn't coming down enough. The vet increased it to 3U. After several days i ran another curve and the BG was coming down to about 105 six hours after the morning shot so the vet seemed to like those numbers.
Diet: After initial diagnosis we switched both cats to wet food only. We've been using the TikiCat fish series as they seem to both like that best ( the non DB cat won't touch chicken). The food lists seem to indicate it's low/no carb. They get fed twice a day 7am/7pm about 3.5 ish ounces each of the wet food. He still seems to be losing weight though. He's lost most of any fat he had. What's my next step in addressing the issue of continued weight loss?
Thanks in advance for any/all advice.
HD
Diet: After initial diagnosis we switched both cats to wet food only. We've been using the TikiCat fish series as they seem to both like that best ( the non DB cat won't touch chicken). The food lists seem to indicate it's low/no carb. They get fed twice a day 7am/7pm about 3.5 ish ounces each of the wet food. He still seems to be losing weight though. He's lost most of any fat he had. What's my next step in addressing the issue of continued weight loss?
Thanks in advance for any/all advice.
HD