Okay - We Have Movement - A High Bounce - Need Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

G & I

Member Since 2017
Just not in the area I wanted. At pm +7 we had a bg of 64. In trying to get second test could not get blood. When I was able to about 8 minutes later, bg was 54. Gave 1 1/2 Tbsp Hill's M/D and 1 Tbsp FRW. She was acting normal, eating normal. Kept an eye on her and checked again at pm +7.5 and she was safely resting at bg 109. Fed her breakfast and she is now fast asleep.

Just a quick post as an FYI
 
Last edited:
Just not in the area I wanted. At pm +7 we had a bg of 64. In trying to get second test could not get blood. When I was able to about 8 minutes later, bg was 54. Gave 1 1/2 Tbsp Hill's M/D and 1 Tbsp FRW. She was acting normal, eating normal. Kept an eye on her and checked again at pm +7.5 and she was safely resting at bg 109. Fed her breakfast and she is now fast asleep.

Just a quick post as an FYI - No Action Needed - All is Well...
You're doing very well in a complicated situation. :)
 
I'm sorry I'm so late! Yes, I agree with Kris that despite the low number, I wouldn't reduce the dose right now. I'd stick with the 3.5u. And I'm so sorry about that icky number. Not unexpected, but still yuck!
 
I'm sorry I'm so late! Yes, I agree with Kris that despite the low number, I wouldn't reduce the dose right now. I'd stick with the 3.5u. And I'm so sorry about that icky number. Not unexpected, but still yuck!
I am thinking perhaps I should stay with this dosage for a longer period of time. I did not expect such a rapid evolution of this bounce which goes with my lack of experience and knowledge. I literally passed out last night and should have caught that lower number sooner. Lord only knows how low she actually got before I interceded.
 
I would guess that she'll stay high for a few cycles after that drop today, so I would probably aim for more like six cycles this time before considering another move, although we'll have to see if she's giving any hints about what she has in mind.

It's so good to see her getting some movement again!
 
Yes to bouncing but she did come down mid cycle instead of staying high and flat. That's something. Hold this dose for a bit. The +2 test is a good weather vane test to get routinely. If there's no dramatic drop you can usually wait until +5 to +7 to test again.
 
Yes to bouncing but she did come down mid cycle instead of staying high and flat. That's something. Hold this dose for a bit. The +2 test is a good weather vane test to get routinely. If there's no dramatic drop you can usually wait until +5 to +7 to test again.
I sincerely appreciate the continued advice/guidance - always nice to hear from you.
 
Yup those darn bounces! Sticking with the same dose might help with the bouncing some...I think it’s a good plan for now.
 
Glad you got some input. (I can't help with the dosing side of things because I've not used Prozinc.)


Mogs
.
 
Sorry, didn’t realize and will remember now.
Not a worry. :)

I've used Caninsulin (an intermediate-acting, in-out insulin) and Lantus (a long-acting, depot insulin) plus I've seen case histories of FDMB cats receiving other insulins so I understand the general principles of treatment with Prozinc but not the nitty-gritty.

I see Goma had her sunglasses on during today's PM cycle! :cool:


Mogs
.
 
What would be consider rapid vs. Non rapid drop for +2 to make decisions on when to test again. My Jax seems to always have at least a 100pt drop.
 
What would be consider rapid vs. Non rapid drop for +2 to make decisions on when to test again. My Jax seems to always have at least a 100pt drop.
It depends on what the actual BG number is of course but 100+ points when the BG is in the 300-400s is a big drop. If PS is in the low 200s a 50+ point drop is big.
 
It also depends on the nadir and the kitty's usual patterns. My cat drops quickly, and is usually at or near nadir by +3, then stays pretty steady for a few hours from there. Other cats drop throughout the curve, so in that case, a big early drop can be a sign of an active cycle.
 
I'm glad you'll be going up to 4 u tomorrow - saw the note on your SS. Are you beginning to feel more confident about increasing her dose?
 
I'm glad you'll be going up to 4 u tomorrow - saw the note on your SS. Are you beginning to feel more confident about increasing her dose?
Not particularly confident, I just think I see the need. Would have done this today, but as I noted there were other issues I am dealing with. Have pretty much alienated the current vet who still thinks I should back the dosage down and move slower. Also insisted I needed a fructosamine test as it was critical. I again attempted to show him the spreadsheet and assure him I had a pretty good handle on what her levels were not only over the past two weeks, but the past two months. Refused to even look at it so that is that....However, the treatment of other cats in my care by this individual leaves much to be desired and I am now trying to move on. I've grown weary of the guessing what is wrong with a particular cat and even after tests (blood, urine, xray, echo just to name a few) still not have a diagnosis. "Try this for a while..." For the love of ... they are in need and I know have feelings.

Sorry to ramble, not pertinent, but just letting you know I have many others in my care; some with medical needs that I am trying to meet. Goma needs the increase as I know we've got to get these numbers down. On a positive note: She is now weighing a good 4+ kg. Not much energy still, and as noted on the ss, I am trying Zobaline which I just got in the mail from stateside. Will see how that goes and start the probiotic shortly. But definitely more cat like - loves to be waited on...

Thanks again for monitoring the way you are - I need it and believe me I do know it...
 
Not particularly confident, I just think I see the need. Would have done this today, but as I noted there were other issues I am dealing with. Have pretty much alienated the current vet who still thinks I should back the dosage down and move slower. Also insisted I needed a fructosamine test as it was critical. I again attempted to show him the spreadsheet and assure him I had a pretty good handle on what her levels were not only over the past two weeks, but the past two months. Refused to even look at it so that is that....However, the treatment of other cats in my care by this individual leaves much to be desired and I am now trying to move on. I've grown weary of the guessing what is wrong with a particular cat and even after tests (blood, urine, xray, echo just to name a few) still not have a diagnosis. "Try this for a while..." For the love of ... they are in need and I know have feelings.

Sorry to ramble, not pertinent, but just letting you know I have many others in my care; some with medical needs that I am trying to meet. Goma needs the increase as I know we've got to get these numbers down. On a positive note: She is now weighing a good 4+ kg. Not much energy still, and as noted on the ss, I am trying Zobaline which I just got in the mail from stateside. Will see how that goes and start the probiotic shortly. But definitely more cat like - loves to be waited on...

Thanks again for monitoring the way you are - I need it and believe me I do know it...
Kudos to you for taking good care of multiple kitties. I think you really are getting used to assessing Goma's BGs and knowing when a dose increase is needed. Don't sell yourself short. There are many members who have vets who are totally clueless about treating feline diabetes and that's why we end up here helping each other. :)
 
I echo what Kris said: you're doing a great job! And it sounds like you have your hands full! I'm sorry things with your vet aren't working out. It is so so so hard to find a good vet anywhere really. I hope you are able to find someone that at least feels more comfortable to you than the current one. :bighug:
 
I echo what Kris said: you're doing a great job! And it sounds like you have your hands full! I'm sorry things with your vet aren't working out. It is so so so hard to find a good vet anywhere really. I hope you are able to find someone that at least feels more comfortable to you than the current one. :bighug:

I do have a quick question - How much bearing will her weight gain now have on the insulin? I'm reading but not grasping a lot at the moment. She has gone from 2.3 kg to 4.25 (+ 4.4 lbs) in about 2 months. Is this too rapid a gain? The target is well within reach, so should I be looking at abit more regulating in regards to feeding schedule? I know I keep focusing on this, but it is, I believe a crucial part of the overall picture and want to give her the best chance for a solid recovery and enjoyable life.

Sorry - there is a second question - What do you do give a cat that is not eating well? What can I provide (short of steroids which is the vets only answer) to get one to start eating again. Blood tests and other tests do not indicate any problems.
 
Last edited:
If it's just mild inappetance, sometimes tuna juice or fortiflora (you can buy this on amazon) can entice a kitty to eat. However, if it's more severe, then I believe Cyproheptadine and Mirtazapine are the two drugs usually prescribed for appetite stimulants. Often in conjunction with cerenia or ondansetron for anti-nausea. So first you give the anti-nausea meds, and then a while later the appetite stimulant.

I haven't seen Mogs around as much lately, but I'll tag her just in case as she is definitely our expert on meds around here! @Critter Mom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top