okay, Sheila...I think we are ready to reduce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Paul-Kyle

Very Active Member
I don't want to jinx this and maybe I am jumping the gun getting you all involved, but...

I started getting high-ish flat numbers with PK, no low +9's like I was getting- the curve pretty well went flat.

I'd already been to the higher doses and when we stepped down the last 2 times, we've gotten good results, so my gut told me go down- even though the "numbers" said go up.

Check the SS for results...

I think we may be getting a little bounce today from the 69 I caught at +10 ish was it, yesterday? ( first green in some time)

But I am thinking to hold this dose or go lower yet? It was a tough call to shoot that "normal" level pre-shot last night, but I have data that he can be shot at low PS's and still raise after eating....so....

Also- note that I am working back towards feeding and shooting together...

At first, feeding +9 and shooting +12 moved our +12 nadir to +9 and shallowed the curve.

But then I started to see the pinks 3 hrs after eating again- we'd just moved them to PS instead of +3 by feeding him earlier.

As confining as it is to be here at +9 and +12 every single day twice a day, and still get the same results as feeding/shooting at +12, just at different spots in the curve- it just isn't worth the trouble. It isn't helping PK any as I can see and just keeping me strapped to the house.

ETA- wondering if moving the food to +9 helped at first, but then seemed not to help b/c a dose reduction was needed, but I didn't see it soon enough?

Does anyone have time to look through SS and see what I am talking about?

Where I shot/fed +12, the high numbers come from +1 to +4ish

Where I fed =9 and shot +12, the higher numbers come from +10 to +1ish

It al seems dependent on when I feed him- meaning nadir IS when I feed...if I feed +11, that is lowest #, if I feed +2 THAT is lowest...

BUT- where the lows and highs REALLY better when I started feeding +9?

I'm all jumbled up- gonna have to look at it later...I wish I had a SS that just documented shot and food, not the +time it happened so I could lay both ways ( fed +9 or fed +12) over top each other and see if the curve is similar...I should be able ot just do this visually, but I am all jumbled..neevrmind.

If anyone see's differently ( even those lurking that would care to speak up) I'd be open to discussion on this.

Okay- that's it...Thanks!
 

Attachments

Melissa, are you thinking of another decrease - down from 1u? Or are you just talking about the current decrease TO 1u?

Given PK's history with settle time I think I would stick with 1u for a few more days and see if the pinks go away.

I agree with you about the feeding thing not really making a true difference. Perhaps hold this dose until you get the food/shot back to one time? Then you can reevaluate where he is at. If, at that point, he gets pinks again I might be inclined to say step down again on the dose.

I always "see" the set-in higher numbers from too much insulin as a "push me, I'll push you back" thing where as soon as you give less insulin (decreasing the insulin 'push') there is a bounce to a bit higher, then a settle to lower - but if the reduction was not enough the numbers slowly rise back up and you have to repeat the process until there isn't any "push back" from the liver/adrenals that drive up the numbers. I'm a "coax" it to work with gentle persuasion rather than beat it over the head with a sledge hammer kind of person. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top