Thank you! Today is basically so far an exact repeat of yesterday so I'll update my SS soon and start a new thread.
I read the guide to dealing with hypos. We have been through 4 sympomatic hypos in almost 3 years, always early on in the cycle. We always thus assumed his nadir was early, but with the monitor we now know it's late, the AM nadir anyway, so those +4 hour symptomatic hypos were all actually hypos overlap from the previous dose.
We would know then what to look for as he would seem normal but his eyes would look through things instead of at them, his eyebrows and whiskers would twitch and he would look around as if seeing things that weren't there. The first one of these after dx in December 2014 was in July 2015, and the most recent one in June 2016. The numbers tested once at the vet to treat him were around 1.5-3.5.
Anyway, since wearing these monitors, he's been apparently at 2.2 and lower "LO" and yet seemed normal. His normal food does not lift the numbers at all. I find it odd that he used to be visibly low on numbers higher than ones he has now and seems perfectly fine.
Usually his AM nadir is late, at 7pm or +14 hours. Usually his PM nadir is earlier, at 11pm-1am or +6-8 hours. Why, we don't know. His food is the same for both meals. His activity level is much the same. He is an indoor only pampered furbaby.
I am still full of questions even after reading these guidelines.
Why did his AM nadir today and yesterday not occur late, like the ones prior?
At the +12 hour shoot time, it says if the number is low but higher than the +10 or +11 number, then it should be safe to shoot. But shoot what? The regular full dose, even if the BG has just started to rise and is still low?
It also says if the +12 number is lower than the +10 etc and is dropping, to delay. Which I have done several times. At +12 hours he has often been 6 and and +14 he will be 4. I delay after the 12 hour time. And delay. And eventually I must feed my boys their dinner. Still dropping. After +14 it sloooowly starts to come up, but not until it's now quite a few hours late for his PM shot. Even then the number is low and I fear giving a full dose.
Is there any logic to the question of whether if a full dose of 1.5 units can drop a pre-shot BG from red numbers to green in 3 hours, what on earth would it do to a a pre-shot BG in the low blues? Send the BG into minus numbers!?
Oh, and when I say a dose of 1.2 units, it may as well be 1.25 as right now my syringes only have 1 unit markings. Anywhere between 1 and 2 looks like 1.5 so we just do our best. A tiny bit over 1, we call 1.2 and a tiny bit under 2 we call 1.8 or so, but really...it is certainly not able to be so exact as to say 1.25.
I have forgotten the other questions for now, but I'll be back. lol.