NoI have a CareSens glucose monitor. If i went to the drug store and baught any kind of glucose test strips are they compatible with my glucose testing machine?
Hi there! I am in the USA. Does my profile say I am in the UK? If so, need to get that changed.@Red & Rover (GA)
Hi Kel I didn't know Shell was from the UK
Hi I only asked because the link Red gave you for the meter is from the UKHi there! I am in the USA. Does my profile say I am in the UK? If so, need to get that changed.
Yes thank you. Pumpkin just tested at 92 at the time of his usual dosage. The vet told me personally would hold the dose if it were that low and give him the opportunity to eat some more. So I am holding. Meanwhile, I go to Amazon to get my strips and see in my order that they are expected next week. That really sux. But, I feel positive about the situation because I am glad to learn that it's good to have a backup. Because I will have to get one tomorrow. Thank you!If you have a Walmart near you, your best bet is to buy their ReliOn meter and strips. It’s always good to have a back up meter anyway.
@Red & Rover (GA)
Hi Kel I didn't know Shell was from the UK
Hi I only asked because the link Red gave you for the meter is from the UK
@Shell
Thank you. Yes still feeding science diet. Was a little shocked by the lower number. Do you think I need to be concerned since he hasn't had a dose in 13 hours now?Hi I only asked because the link Red gave you for the meter is from the UK
You are good
Go to Walmart if you have one by you tonight
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103
The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
@Shell
Are you still feeding science diet? What science diet?
Shell is the science diet wet low carb or is it the dry food?Thank you. Yes still feeding science diet. Was a little shocked by the lower number. Do you think I need to be concerned since he hasn't had a dose in 13 hours now?
@Red & Rover (GA)Thank you. Yes still feeding science diet. Was a little shocked by the lower number. Do you think I need to be concerned since he hasn't had a dose in 13 hours now?
Thank you. Yes, if available, please let me know. I got him to eat a bit and am not familiar with whether I am good to go to sleep or if I should test again to be sure.@Red & Rover (GA)
Kel can you answer Shell's question because I can't
@Shell
You need to add dry to your signature
I remember you saying in previous posts that you can't test that often and Bron replied back
What about your days off ? Can you get tests then? It before you go to bed? Or before you walk out the door to work? Or when you come home from work?
Also I just looked at your spreadsheet and you gave 1 unit sometimes at night
The dose is not based on the pte shots, it's based on how low Pumpkin is dropping during each cycle . you will never know if you don't test more often.
That's why you need to pick one of the dosing methods for glargine to follow.
They will tell you when you need to either increase or decrease
That dry food is probably high carbs , and her BG was still 92
I saw on previous posts not to change the food to a low carb wet food unless you can test a lot more often or she will have a hypo most likely
So I think you better stay with what you are feeding her
Here are the dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Since you really aren't testing that much at all you are better off going with the SLGS method
But please try and get some more tests in after you get home from work ,on weekends and at
night. Is this what you are feeding
![]()
Yes. And, I did not know that the dose is simply based on the numbers that are lowest and not the 12 hour glucose test, but now I do. I like that i have learned this because I really don't understand much about this and am winging it.It depends.
Sometimes numbers can drop even after the 12 hours.
But you don't have a lot of strips.
If it were me, I'd feed more Science Diet and leave some out - it's all high carb.
AND
Buy another meter in the morning. It is dangerous to not be able to test for a week.
And once you do, any chance you can get some PM cycle tests in? And random tests during the AM cycle? Curves do not give the full picture.
OK but can you please add science diet dry to your signature it's important members know and add the dosing methodNo. I am feeding the 7+ formula. And yes I could test more often at some point between.
Yes. Does Science Diet show in my signature? And, by dosing method do you mean add something like "1.75 units every 12 hours"?OK but can you please add science diet dry to your signature it's important members know and add the dosing method
No. I am feeding the 7+ formula. And yes I could test more often at some point between.
Yes, that is it.
Yes it does I want you to add the word dry after itYes. Does Science Diet show in my signature? And, by dosing method do you mean add something like "1.75 units every 12 hours"?
OK that is around 38% carbohydratesYes, that is it.
Changed it. I just tested him and he is up to 144 now. Although i will be up for a bit, I worked 10 hours today and I tried to read. But the math isn't absorbing because I am falling asleep, so I will probably be best to dissect that link in the daytime for me.Yes it does I want you to add the word dry after it
Tap in your name up top then tap on the word signature and add dry to it then tap save
About the dosing method ,no that is not what I mean ,you need to read the link I put in blue below
Here are the dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Yes, Will that cause him discomfort on his ears if I poke them that much?The main problem I see is that you’re not testing enough. I don’t mean today since you’re low on test strips, but you should try to get at least 4 tests a day. Can you get a midday test and also a +2 in the evenings? I also don’t know what dosing method you’re following. You seem to be making dose adjustments randomly?
Not at allYes, Will that cause him discomfort on his ears if I poke them that much?
I don’t see the link@Shell please add SLGS to your signature and spreadsheet up top so members don't keep asking you what method you are following
Here they are again have you read them so you understand them?
Okay, thank you!! It should be showing now.@Shell please add SLGS to your signature and spreadsheet up top so members don't keep asking you what method you are following
Here they are again have you read them so you understand them?
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Ohh! This makes sense. Or it feels like I am starting to scratch the surface. I am afraid that giving him a dose will sink his numbers too low. From what the doc said, if it is under 150, cut the dose in half for that 12 hour period. Unless I completely misunderstood. I just saw his number at over 500 one day, gave him his dose and watched it fall to double digits all in one day and was a little shocked at the power of the medicine. Now if he tests in the 3 or 200's, I wonder if that very same dose could spell trouble. If I can get a grip on understanding this all, that would be great.If you’re following SLGS, you hold the same dose for 7 days unless he goes under 90 which means a 1/4 unit reduction. You’re changing the dose too often and not giving the depor a chance to build.