Oh My Lucy

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
Penciled in today for a curve. Of course, Lucy worked all night to get her AMPS wonky @ 168.
I think I'll give her the rest of the day off, check her at +7 or +8, and schedule a new curve for this Wednesday, day after tomorrow.
Am I reading her patterns correctly? Does it seem that her nadir comes very late in the cycle, and she stays high most of the day?
Also, looks as I am becoming complacent and not checking enough midcycle numbers to even come up with a plan.
It's discouraging.
I feel like it's pointless to check her all day today.

AMPS 168
20 minutes later 177
Reduced dose 0.8
+2 349
+4 358
 
Good to hear from you and Lucy again, Joan. The 12/28 cycle just looks wonky to me. I like the two yellow preshots on 12/24. Wonder if her nadir would have looked normal that cycle?

The next time you get an preshot like the 168, I would try to wait 20 minutes to see if it goes up to the 180 range and shoot - maybe .2 less but not a whole lot less. She looks good in the 1.2 - 1.4 range. MI think the .8 this am was just not enough insulin. (of course this scheme is predicated on the idea that you'd be around to wait the 20 minutes...)

Agree that a curve today won't be of much value.

The 200s at preshot are very encouraging. Some more of those with some nadir numbers will help fill out the picture will make this much clearer.
 
I did wait 20 minutes, it went up from 168 to 177. I just added it to my notes in the spreadsheet, I haven't figured out a way to put readings just 20 minutes apart in the actual spreadsheet.

I get nervous giving her insulin when she's below 200, and I get nervous skipping it altogether. :sad:
 
I understand. Sorry I didn't see the second number. Maybe just increase that dose by a little more next time? What I am thinking is that 177 is not much below 200, so one unit might have worked. Now you have some data that says .8 may have been a smidgen too little.

It's easy for me to say shoot below 200, but Lucy is not my cat and I understand how scary it can be. She is doing fine and so are you. I am glad you didn't skip. The more you shoot lower than 200 and can see some patterns that let you know she would be okay with this dose at this level, the more confident you will feel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top