Oh boy

I think I’d be tempted to do 1 unit again. She might be sensitive today due to those lows yesterday and the fact that she’s yellow even after that makes me think that it might be enough for now. It could be too little but 1 on a red brought you to a yellow today. Either 1 or 1.5 is what I’d do depending on if you’re around and what you feel good with.
 
I think I’d be tempted to do 1 unit again. She might be sensitive today due to those lows yesterday and the fact that she’s yellow even after that makes me think that it might be enough for now. It could be too little but 1 on a red brought you to a yellow today. Either 1 or 1.5 is what I’d do depending on if you’re around and what you feel good with.
 
You've had great advise from all the others. I like Rachel's recommendation of 1 u in light of the recent lows. You can always bump it up later. :)
 
Hi guys.. so far we are flat today in the 200s. +7 at 284 Thoughts on this evenings dose? Looks like I’ll be around myself as my meeting got cancelled however I will be gone after Am shoot tomorrow. Do I bump her a bit maybe to 1.25?
 
Since you will home for the PMPS, I'd hold off on that decision. Right now I am leaning at holding at 1u. That flat yellow cycle can sometimes just be a flat cycle but it can also mean the next cycle will be an active one. Little bounced after those low numbers yesterday but she is coming back down. If you are going to be away for only one shot, my vote would be to hold at 1u while you are gone unless of course that dose elicits a lower BG again tonight. I wouldn't chance raising the dose until you are back home and any bouncing from those lows has cleared.
 
I hear ya but I tend to be a bit aggressive so my gut says 1.25 especially if PS is pink or worse. I guess we will see what PS is. My fear holding is it would be 5 cycles at 1 U and if not enough.... I just want her to feel good. Assuming things stay stays quo the next few days- I am away from PM on the 20th till AM on the 26th. Where she would only be getting max 1U going by what I’m faced with today (I know this may change) This is just so tough.the worry-no sleep and knowing she’s not at the best level. Thanks for listening to me wrestle with the thoughts in my head!
 
Lisa, I get it completely. My girl is a high dose kitty (16u twice daily for awhile) so I really do get your angst about not allowing BG to go up and also keeping Little safe in your absence. Remember though this is not a sprint....its a marathon. You are helping get Little's BG down but you can't force it and sometimes trying to force it serves to lengthen not shorten the journey to regulation. Patience is key.

Despite lowering the dose to 1.5u yesterday, Little still went lower than you really want her to go and especially when she will not be monitored at all. Take this time to see what she does on 1u. When you get back on Friday you'll have time to see if a dose increase is needed before you leave for the longer business trip. Consider this a trial run for a day. It should make it easier to determine a safe dose to give for your longer trip. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment.

Her BG is not that bad. I may be wrong but I don't think she'll be pink tonight. I'm betting on yellow. Little....are you listening? :D
 
lol. I know your right. I think I haven’t quite recovered emotionally from yesterday so I’m over thinking and not doing it clearly. I hope little IS listening and will hold a high yellow. C mon Little!! I’d feel better about the 1U then. Thank you Linda. And 16 U? Omg. I think I’d have a heart attack. You are a stronger woman than me and I looked at your SS strong intestinal fortyto shoot on those greens. God bless. How long before menace was OTJ? I guess if he can go from 16u to OTJ there is hope for us!!
 
We lucked out eventually after 3yrs, 7 months and 12 days! Long trip and one I never thought would end. Menace was young when diagnosed, a total kibble addict until 2+ years into our journey and she had IAA (Insulin Auto Antibodies) which is relatively rare on its own so my vet had no idea what to do with her. This board taught me what I needed to know and gave me the strength to be able to give large doses of insulin without having a nervous breakdown. So yes there is hope and no one should ever give it up. I admit my hope was waning. It was like someone suddenly flipped a switch with Menace. A sudden change in her BGs similar to what Little just did to you.

The hardest part of FD is patience. Little is doing extremely well so try not to get discouraged. Little may be feeling off today thanks to those green numbers yesterday. She isn't used to those dark green much less the lime numbers. She'll be fine. :)
 
Thanks again. All here in this group are truly a gift. I could not have gotten this far without all of you. That’s an amazing story you have with menace. Btw.. love the name. Lol
 
Well apparently Little's middle name in Menace! She let me down.....
I'm still concerned that flat cycle today could be the precursor to an active cycle tonight or tomorrow. She is up but not that much. Last night Little was in the red and came down to yellows. Tonight she is pink and 1u might take her into blues. I'd still go with 1u but it's entirely up to you if you want to try 1.25u but I'd be prepared to possibly be monitoring later into the night.
 
The flat cycle today was honestly not that surprising...they sometimes do that after going super low like she did. She should clear this bounce soon (hopefully) and get back to normal.

What are you thinking? 1 or 1.25? I might be tempted to stick with 1 for one more cycle and then go up if you didn't get some good numbers. Both because you want to stay consistent for a bit to help her settle down after that low, she might still be a bit sensitive, and you really might want to g me et some sleep. And believe me that last reason is totally valid. I feel uou about wanting to be aggressive and get those numbers down, but you've had a tough few days and you might feel better with some rest. However, if you want to bump to 1.25, I think that'd be fine too. Just make sure to get a test at +2 and see what that tells you about the cycle. :)
 
Lol splitting it in half....I love it! Let's see where Little is in the morning and if needed, we can increase then. :)
 
Not even really. Even shy of what I’d call a fat 1. Just under the line but with no space in between. Lol talk about micro dosing. I have to leave at +3 tomorrow and PM will be sitter but I will be back for +2 after pm shot. Thought it best not to push it too much for tomorrow’s sake.
 
Deep breathes! That is essentially the same as the PMPS with meter variance. She may still drop this cycle. For now though I think you should go get some sleep. Little will be fine. :)
 
Sorry to disappear -- my internet has been down for the past 24 hours. Turns out that I really can live without Instagram! :p Honestly being offline for awhile was really nice. Regardless, I agree with what everyone else has been saying about dose, and I hope you have a really good trip today! :bighug:
 
Any thoughts on dosing going forward? Flat few cycles with a sprinkle of blue/green. My concern is I am leaving Wednesday and if I need to increase her a bit I want to do tonight or tomorrow so we have a few days. 1.5 sent her lime so I will definitely keep her below that while I’m gone but my fear is she’ll be running high for over a week at fat 1. Should I just hold and wait to adjust when I come back?
 
You could try 1.25 over the next few days to see how she does. If she doesn't dive too low you *might* be able to have the sitter give that. When it comes to sitters who won't test there are two things often recommended: 1. decide on a dose that's easy to read on the syringe barrel; 2. leave a bigger margin than you would for yourself. If you decide that a fat 1 u or 1.25 u looks like a good sitter dose, draw up a reference syringe using coloured water for that person to use as a guide.
 
Yes I’ve thought about all of this. Thank you Kris. Last time I left colored water in a syringe I got a phone call asking me if he were to inject it!! If you look at last nights numbers we got a 109 and 98. I am afraid 1.25 may be too much. For sure 1.25 is a tough dose as it is totally subjective to someone’s eye..in any case my plan is to perhaps mark a syringe with marker for dose reference but I’m a little afraid of 1 .25 and a sitter Based on last nights numbers
 
I agree getting a sitter to draw up 1.25u could be problematic. Given that Little has gone down to 98 on a slightly bit fat 1.0u, I don't think I'd chance anything higher with the sitter. Little definitely bounced today after the 98 last night but she has to get used to those greens and those are the numbers you need to be concerned with particularly in your absence.
As Kris said, you could try the 1.25u this weekend but I'd still revert back to the 1.0u a couple of days before you leave just to be sure the 1.0u is still safe.
 
Exactly where my brain is but obviously worried she will run really high for an entire week! Makes me sick to think about yet I know the other option is way worse. I guess my real quandary here is she went from getting good numbers at fat 2 and bam.... now we are at 1? Doesn’t seem logical to me -so my big worry is can leaving her too high for a n entire week by having sitter hold at 1U set any progress back ? And then I think how do you go from fat 2 to 1 in an instant ? Maybe she really needs to be brought up again gradually given the solid high 3s and holding at 1 for so long will be detrimental to any progress. I know. I’m an overthinking worry wart pain in the *#! :p
 
You are NOT a PIA except maybe to yourself. Been there....done that. You are doing exactly what so many of us do. You are looking for the black and white perfect answer that meets both Little's and your needs. It doesn't exist because unless you can stay with your kitty 24/7, which none of can, there will be times when you have to take the next best answer.

The last vacation I took, I didn't reduce as much as I should have (wrestled with much the same things you are.... not wanting to lose momentum). My sitter was testing and was terrified (as was I) when my girl threw her a 48 the 3rd night. Needless to say, the dose got skipped that night and considerably lowered for the duration of my trip. Menace was no worse for wear in the weeks to come.

As for the dose dropping all of a sudden, it happens. With my girl, a few months before she went into remission, it was like someone flipped a switch and I suddenly felt like I was "drowning" in a TOTALLY green SS. I learned that sometimes I had to skip shots or reduce dose in order to keep my life together and quite frankly, I never regretted it. Better to take a safe course and deal with any setback should it happen, when you get home.
 
God.i would have flipped out with a 48 if I were not there!! You are truly a strong woman 16 units/ hypos when not home... Thanks Linda again , .without you guys I’d be totally batshit crazy. If I’m interpreting what you said correctly I am correct in thinking lowering her too much can set us back? Still gonna do it of course. Just want to set my brain up for disappointment upon my return if need be.
 
If I’m interpreting what you said correctly I am correct in thinking lowering her too much can set us back?

Not exactly. You can't expect to keep the same downward momentum going when you are not there to monitor and no one else will be monitoring. Keeping Molly in safe reasonable numbers will not set her backward but she won't be making headway either. Far better to be reasonably conservative and keep Molly in reasonable numbers than to have her go too low in your absence.
 
Live and learn......;) you shot a dose increase into a bounce that just broke! Beware those highs after lows.

I'm loaning you my Patience pants..... PatiencePants.jpg :woot:
 
Lol. I’m ok thank you. Better I know now. Do you think the numbers might look different on this dose if she wasn’t on a bounce? Guessing maybe she went lower than 98 last night. That might explain things. Guessing I’m not the only one with cat blood on their pjs:joyful:
 
Do you think the numbers might look different on this dose if she wasn’t on a bounce?
Yes if her BG was in the pink but not from a bounce, she probably wouldn't have dropped as much. That's a heck of a drop (300 points in 4 hours) so you can pretty much bank on more bouncing. Sometimes being too aggressive holds up rather than speeding up progress.
 
Don't worry about it and don't beat yourself up. You found out tonight that she doesn't seem to need the extra 0.25u. We've all fallen down that rabbit hole.....I know I did it more than once so don't sweat it. ;)
 
Yes. Eating no problem. Just have some HC food. So here’s another thing that I wasn’t going to bring up but this seemed to appear overnight a day or so ago and could it have gotten bigger in a day? No redness, itching sign of getting swiped by Molly. Skin looks totally normal. Of course I just googled bald spot on cat and now I’m panicked. I NEED SLEEP. But seems not so much tonight.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    30 KB · Views: 146
That little spot looks pretty benign to me. I'd keep an eye on it but I really don't think it's anything to be concerned about. My girl gets those every so often and I'll be darned if I can figure out what caused them. The hair should grow back relatively soon.
 
That little spot looks pretty benign to me. I'd keep an eye on it but I really don't think it's anything to be concerned about. My girl gets those every so often and I'll be darned if I can figure out what caused them. The hair should grow back relatively soon.
Did you ever google it? While it does day diabetes can cause I find it weird that she would develop that when she is actually doing better. Anyway google also lists a host of other causes none of which are pretty. My original gut told me it was nothing which is why I didn’t mention it before. I will try not to obsess and hope it just grows back. Thank you for hanging with me tonight and coaching me through. So appreciated to know I am not alone. We just played our nightly game of fetch .. yes she brings me her toy at bedtime, drops it on my head and the game ensues. Amazing that every hypo we’ve had she has never had a change in behavior or symptom.
 
I did google it out of curiosity as to what you'd found and yes it was unsettling. But Dr. Google is often a panic monger. They never tell you that kitty may have just scratched themselves vigorously in one spot or against something. I have 3 furballs and while I have never seen a cut or anything, I always figured her periodic unknown cause tiny bald spots were probably from her overly exuberant brother getting a little rough. I literally caught him with her hair in his mouth one day but couldn't find a mark on my girl save for a tiny bald patch that I didn't remember being there before. Who knows!?

No problem staying with you. Got another active kitty going tonight too. Lowest pre-shot for them so far and no "too low" numbers yet but we are close so monitoring closely. Those first times are scary! I remember my first lime green reading. I ran around my coffee table several times muttering instructions to myself. If anyone had seen me they would have locked me up.:woot:
 
Lol. Thanks Linda. I won’t freak out about baldy just wondering if your bald patch girl was the diabetic though. AMPS WAS 266- I’m surprised actually. Shot a straight up 1U. Have to ask... were you wearing those pants when you ran around the table muttering?:woot::woot:
 
You are looking for the black and white perfect answer that meets both Little's and your needs.
Read this statement of Linda's again and again because it's SO important. The thing that helps us "lifers" here stay sane is arriving at a place where we accept the ups and downs of treating FD, accept that we have made and will make mistakes, accept that how we dose our kitties often has to be a compromise to allow the rest of life to go on, accept that they will do unpredictable and scary things occasionally, and so on. BUT we also need to recognize that we're doing far more for our beloved kitties than many people would be willing to do, understand that kitties' bodies are more tolerant of the effects of FD than humans or dogs, that clinical signs are also very important and - once we've been through it a few times - trust our ability to deal effectively with kitty's dives into low BGs.

I can't emphasize strongly enough how important mind set is in coping with this. There's just no magic bullet or way to fix it fast. :)
 
Soooo.....I accidently posted this over on Asiina's thread, but meant it for you, Lisa. Sigh. Sorry for the late contribution:

On a sticky somewhere it talks about bounces lasting 3-6 cycles. So maybe a good rule, given how quick to drop Little is these days, would be to make yourself wait at least three cycles before you try an increase. She seems to clear them pretty quickly, so if you haven't seen another green by three (or four so that increases can be during the day), then you can consider trying a little increase after that if it looks like she needs one. For now though, 1u is looking like it's enough.
 
Back
Top