Off the juice since January and now experiencing high numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
Norman has been off the juice since January and doing great. We test weekly to keep up on him and he has been doing great. All of a sudden I am experiencing HIGH numbers , last night he gave me 315 bg. Tested this morning (fasting ) and he gave me a 240 bg . So I felt like he was going down but now I test him +2 340. All cats are on Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblets and one cat is getting liquid clavimox mixed in his cat food ( all done with that now ) and we suspected Norman had gotten into some of that food. We are shocked he would have eaten anything with clavimox in it cause he hates it, gags and carries on. How long do I watch and see before I start him back on his LANTUS ??? I just went and bought some Fancy Feast Classic turkey and giblets out of fear that something is wrong the Friskies.
 
Clavamox should not cause a BG spike. Sudden really high numbers like that, I'd recommend a vet visit to make sure he doesn't have pain or an infection going on somewhere himself. Get his teeth looked at, get a urine sample and look for a UTI. ...
 
its liquid clavimox and from what I have read can cause BG increase. I am going to call vet and get him in for a check up and urine sample
 
As far as I can tell from looking on the internet, Clavamox can increase BG in some cats at least. The liquid isn't meant to contain sugar, but it does contain artificial sweeteners and those can definitely affect BG.

The jump at +2 this morning could very well have been a food spike - those do occur even in non-diabetics as it takes time for the body to process the food. Of course he needs to come back down, but if it is the Clavamox and that's now finished, any effects should wear off in the next few days.
 
It's possible that the Clavamox is in a syrup base. I would give it a day or two to see if Norman's BG comes back down. If not, a vet visit is in order to make sure there's nothing medically wrong. Make sure the vet takes a very good look at Norman's teeth. There are lots of kitties that fall out of remission because they need a dental.

 
My vet I can get hold of thru facebook...he confirmed that the liquid clavimox is a pediatric formula with SUGAR..he said give him a few days and see if he trends down and gets himself back in normal range ..If not he goes in for a full work up
 
That wcould do it if enough were consumed. If it comes down over a couple days, I'd think that's what happened.
 
his BG is being consistent and this is upsetting....AM 299 +2 341 today....yesterday he was identical......I know he got into the clavimox friday morning and god knows how many days prior to that....Like I said in the past he wouldn't touch it for nothing so I was NOT worried....I just wonder how many days to wait this out before starting Lantus back up ? I have him so high....yesterday morning he did start off with fasting BG of 240 so this is freaking me out. I even ran out and bought new Friskies Special diet cause the batch I had was from walmart and wondered if the labeling was WRONG or something.....
 
Typically, HC anything should be out of a cat's system in a day of two. I'm really wondering if there's not something medical going on. BG numbers are a wonderful early warning system of an infection/inflammation especially since you've been monitoring his levels on a weekly basis. If there is something that's bumped him out of remission, the good news is that you've discovered it earlier rather than later. If it were me, I'd be making an appointment with my vet.
 
I just wonder how many days to wait this out before starting Lantus back up ?
My vet I can get hold of thru facebook...he confirmed that the liquid clavimox is a pediatric formula with SUGAR..he said give him a few days and see if he trends down and gets himself back in normal range ..If not he goes in for a full work up
I think you've answered your own question. :)

Typically, HC anything should be out of a cat's system in a day of two. I'm really wondering if there's not something medical going on. BG numbers are a wonderful early warning system of an infection/inflammation especially since you've been monitoring his levels on a weekly basis. If there is something that's bumped him out of remission, the good news is that you've discovered it earlier rather than later. If it were me, I'd be making an appointment with my vet.
I wholeheartedly agree with Sienne. If I were in your shoes, I'd be making an appointment to bring him in for a full checkup, including blood work.
 
going to call tomorrow and schedule some blood work and a full exam. He had been on liquid clavimox while he was on Lantus at the start of his diabetic journey and we went back through my journal and noticed that after going off clavimox his numbers jumped for 3 1/2 days and then dropped so much we had to lower his units.......so I keep being hopeful that he will beat this but I do believe he will need insulin for a little bit to help his pancreas heal again......I am so damn mad at myself. I have gotten comfortable cause all 4 cats are on the low carb food of Friskies special diet turkey and giblets and Fancy Feast classic turkey and giblets so I don't worry about anyone eating anyone elses food.....Simon who was getting the clavimox mixed in his food is a PIGGY cat and doesn't let anyone eat his food but NORMAN my sugar baby is TOP CAT so Simon probably allowed it and I didn't catch it
 
Don't beat up on yourself too hard. Gabby stole a piece of Chinese chicken (marinated in soy & honey). Her #s were dreadful to say nothing of the day Gizmo found a sample pack of treats I missed and shared them with Gabby. Things happen.
 
There's no way you could have known that Norman would steal food with clavamox in it so please don't blame yourself. :bighug: These things happen - fortunately, you noticed quickly when his BG went higher and you know how to handle testing and shots to get him back on track if necessary. The important thing is that you're monitoring him now to see what happens and you're ready to restart insulin if he needs it. If it took him 3 1/2 days to get the clavamox out of his system the last time, then it might easily be the same this time around too though a vet checkup and blood work wouldn't hurt at this point since he doesn't seem to be getting lower on his own right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top