Odin - AMPS 295, +3 340, +6 384. PMPS 423, +6.5 102

mcb486

Member Since 2026
Perhaps I am feeding the wrong treats/snacks? I have to entice him with food to allow me to stick him for his glucose test. I fed him normal just before AM insulin 1 can FF pate and rewarded him with 2tsp Reveal chicken broth treat after insulin. Then I tested at +3 and his sugar is up. I gave him 1/4 (of 3oz) can of Hills GS as snack/treat to get him to allow me to test him at +3. Did the same at +6. Any advice?

1000033918.jpg



Thanks!
 
Any advice?
Be patient and get those 1/2 unit marked syringes. The Lantus depot depletes when you skip a dose. It'll take a few cycles for the depot to build again - hence the suggestion on finding some patience pants. We give them out a lot here. 🤣

A couple of housekeeping comments. First, make sure Odin's name is in the subject line so we can find you quickly. We like to keep an eye on the newer members. Second, if you can, try to include the link to your previous post in your first post of the day, so we can easily go back and see the history.

We don't need to see the activities/feeding list above. It's easier for us to figure out how feeding relates to if you summarize it in the Remarks column of the spreadsheet. Feeding times, amounts are important, but we'd rather see it and the blood sugars in the same document.
 
Not sure if I should continue on this thread? PMPS 423 (using alphatrak 3) - do i still just continue with 1 unit?
@Wendy&Neko @Lisa & Lady Arya Stark 🦋 @squeem3
Thanks
Good that you shot the 1 unit! I wasn't sure if Wendy might suggest a larger dose at this point, so I didn't want to intervene.

Moving forward, you're following SLGS, so the dosing guidelines say the following:

"Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change)."

Pop back in here any time you're concerned or have questions. You're doing a great job with Odin!!
 
Not sure if I should continue on this thread? PMPS 423 (using alphatrak 3)
Keep all of the information for one day in the same thread. You did right. What you can do is update your subject line with the new data so it's easier to see. Go to the first post of the thread and edit it, and that'll let you edit the subject line.

Sorry I didn't get back on time to help with dosing, but looks like you did get Mary stopping in to help so all good.
 
Back
Top