Odd numbers for 1st curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jane & Boo (GA)

Active Member
I had planned to do Boo's first curve on Sunday, but an AM fur shot derailed that plan.

I did succeed at it on Monday and the numbers were not what I had expected, or hoped for. Things were looking good until +6 onward. I was with her all day and I know she didn't get into any food after her breakfast. I was cleaning house, but she didn't act like she was fearful and stressing out over the vacuum cleaner. Then the AMPS this morning was her first venture into the "red" zone with 408. Not sure what to make of this.

I know she has a painful tooth/teeth. I had a dental scheduled for her last week to address that issue and the vet said he didn't want to go forward with the dental until after her numbers are consistently in the 200s. I told him that I thought her high numbers are related to the stress of the dental pain which is quite obvious when watching her eat. He wants me to bump her up another whole unit and see if that gets her consistently into the 200s and if it does, then he'll schedule her for the dental. Should I increase to 2Units or should I hold to 1Unit and insist on the dental ASAP?
 
I would not increase. I think your thinking on the dental pain is probably right on the money. I've often seen the dilemma you're in - kitty needs dental to get better numbers, vet wants better numbers before doing dental.

The 1u dose looks like it is working to me. It dropped her around 200 points yesterday and today. I think 2u will drop her too much. I think the 400 AMPS is a bounce, stress from pain, or both. If you can tell just from watching her eat that it's painful, no doubt it is painful.
I'm not sure how people insist on the dental being done, though.
 
You'd have to ask the vet. I am not sure what the issue is with doing a dental on a diabetic cat, but it seems to come up often.
Maybe post a question on Health like "why won't my vet do a dental"?
 
I double checked Merlin's numbers when he had his dental done (he had one tooth extracted). His pre-shot numbers were in the 300's but I was able to get some greens and blues around nadir. My vet wouldn't do it at first due to finding out that he was in Stage 3 kidney disease but did not delay due to high diabetic numbers. We delayed only for four weeks before his dental (when he was 17 years old) was done. I think he just wanted to see if his BUN/Creatine levels changed within the month and they didn't so he proceeded. So I am not sure why your vet would want to postpone till he got in the 200's. Not sure if vet is expecting 200's for pre-shots? Hopefully you can convince the vet to proceed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top