KPassa
Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
10/21
AMPS: 298
+5/243
Since my last post was it for all of September, I figured I might be too ambitious if I added an actual day to Michelangelo's condo this month. :lol:
Oh, what a month it's been already! For those of you who don't know, my mother passed away at the beginning of this month from cardiogenic shock as a result of DKA from undiagnosed diabetes (Type 1, they determined). I hadn't talked to my mom in over 10 years and then suddenly, since I was the only family member in the area, I was being asked to make all sorts of decisions (her husband had experienced a debilitating heart attack a couple of years ago and no longer has the cognitive confidence to make those types of decisions). My sister and brother arrived a couple of days later from Portland (where my brother had just moved 3 weeks prior) and she passed away later that day. After that, it was a whirlwind of planning for the memorial and emptying out the house as quickly as possible so her husband's family could short-sell it, plus we had to find homes for her dog and cat. @-) There is still so much left to do and we have a storage unit full of stuff to sell that's just collecting dust while costing me $150 a month. I'm taking a break from life for a week or two before dealing with all of that again.
My house was a revolving door for two weeks and Skitty-Kitty Mikey was not amused. I had already dropped his dose even before everyone arrived because I learned back when I moved that Mikey is quite intuitive to when I'm stressed and stops eating as much. I ended up having to drop it even further when my 12-year-old niece tested him and caught a 39!
Speaking of which, DeNiece is incredible with Mikey! Most of the tests and half the shots Mikey got over those two weeks were because of her diligence and care. :thumbup And I'm so glad Mikey was on Levemir throughout all of this. It is really much, much, much more forgiving than Lantus when it comes to late shots, early shots, and reduced doses. He only hit 300s once during that whole time and that was the day after he threw the 39 and we feed him some gravy food (too much gravy, but my niece was being ever so helpful).
Now, I'm working my way back up the dosing ladder to see if I can bring Michelangelo's numbers back down into the blues and greens instead of the yellows and blues he's been running in. Mikey is none the worse for wear, even after I fostered my mom's cat for a week. He was surprisingly not bothered by her at all, even when she took over his favorite sleeping spot. I debated whether or not to keep her, but I'm not allowed to have more than two cats where I live and there was already another home for her to go to. I'm glad I fostered her for that little bit because it helped me realize I made the right decision on letting her go instead of always wondering if I should have at least given it a try. cat_pet_icon
Now, I'm just trying to return to normalcy. :YMSIGH:
10/21
AMPS: 298
+5/243
Since my last post was it for all of September, I figured I might be too ambitious if I added an actual day to Michelangelo's condo this month. :lol:
Oh, what a month it's been already! For those of you who don't know, my mother passed away at the beginning of this month from cardiogenic shock as a result of DKA from undiagnosed diabetes (Type 1, they determined). I hadn't talked to my mom in over 10 years and then suddenly, since I was the only family member in the area, I was being asked to make all sorts of decisions (her husband had experienced a debilitating heart attack a couple of years ago and no longer has the cognitive confidence to make those types of decisions). My sister and brother arrived a couple of days later from Portland (where my brother had just moved 3 weeks prior) and she passed away later that day. After that, it was a whirlwind of planning for the memorial and emptying out the house as quickly as possible so her husband's family could short-sell it, plus we had to find homes for her dog and cat. @-) There is still so much left to do and we have a storage unit full of stuff to sell that's just collecting dust while costing me $150 a month. I'm taking a break from life for a week or two before dealing with all of that again.
My house was a revolving door for two weeks and Skitty-Kitty Mikey was not amused. I had already dropped his dose even before everyone arrived because I learned back when I moved that Mikey is quite intuitive to when I'm stressed and stops eating as much. I ended up having to drop it even further when my 12-year-old niece tested him and caught a 39!
Now, I'm working my way back up the dosing ladder to see if I can bring Michelangelo's numbers back down into the blues and greens instead of the yellows and blues he's been running in. Mikey is none the worse for wear, even after I fostered my mom's cat for a week. He was surprisingly not bothered by her at all, even when she took over his favorite sleeping spot. I debated whether or not to keep her, but I'm not allowed to have more than two cats where I live and there was already another home for her to go to. I'm glad I fostered her for that little bit because it helped me realize I made the right decision on letting her go instead of always wondering if I should have at least given it a try. cat_pet_icon
Now, I'm just trying to return to normalcy. :YMSIGH: