October 19 Blackie AMPS-345 *Question*

Status
Not open for further replies.
Under 40? Like in the 30s and below? I certainly wouldn't. I have to go look at your spreadsheet, now.
 
Phew! I don't see any PS tests under 40. How is Blackie doing on his new insulin? :-D
With J.D. his onset became later, like +4 with Levemir, instead of almost right away with Lantus. And his nadirs became later.

I don't think anyone would advise shooting below 40, unless you knew your cat real real real well and were going to be home all day to monitor and were totally prepared, and even then, I don't think so. It would be a stall situation, until the numbers were rising without food on board, and if you weren't going to be home, probably a "fur" shot day.

Others with more knowledge than me may say differently.
 
I wouldn't shoot 30's ever, and I wouldn't shoot 40's until you have more data on what Blackie's onset/nadir/duration are on Lev. I have to say, so far Lev is looking good for Blackie. :smile:
 
Yeah hes responding well so far after the change. If I get under 50 I'll reduce the dose by 0.25 units just like I did with Lantus.

I'll make it so that we won't shoot below 50.
 
There is a starred post by Libby that is around. Here is the link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26571
many have printed it out so they have it handy. If/when you get a low preshot, recheck the number to make sure it is correct. then, do not feed but retest in 15 minutes to make sure the number is rising....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top