Mariella & Simba
Member Since 2018
Hello everyone, this is my first post on the Lantus board for Simba. I got his spreadsheet done, hopefully correctly. Short history, he was dx'd mid-August, first curve at vet 8/19 (I don't have those numbers), subsequent four curves done at home and on his spreadsheet, along with a "comment" that I hope you will be able to open, about this week. Because of low readings on his last curve on 10/6 we stopped his insulin, hoping he was going into remission. Vet instructed us to do AMPS reading for a week, and if it stayed below mid to high 100's, continue for 3 weeks, and then we would do a fructosamine test. The comment on his spreadsheet gives his AMPS numbers for 10-7 through 10-12, ending today at 193. Since it was the continuation of his trend through the week, and today's number was a large jump from yesterday, I started him on insulin again at 1 unit (he was increased to 2 units on 9/13), rather than let him continue to climb. I called those numbers in today to the vet, haven't heard from her, may not hear until next week, as I think restarting at one unit is what she would prescribe, as she mentioned it.
It has been suggested by those on the main forum that he may do best on 1.5 units, but vet seems reluctant to prescribe partial units, due to fear of me improperly reading the syringe markings and overdosing. I have 1/2 unit syringes on hand, and I think I can safely handle that, and will tell her that.
Any observations are welcome. Thank you.
Mariella & Simba
It has been suggested by those on the main forum that he may do best on 1.5 units, but vet seems reluctant to prescribe partial units, due to fear of me improperly reading the syringe markings and overdosing. I have 1/2 unit syringes on hand, and I think I can safely handle that, and will tell her that.
Any observations are welcome. Thank you.
Mariella & Simba