Oct 29 Felix AMPS=264, +4=167, PMPS=209; cardiologist, labs

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
Ohmeowgosh, Felix's last thread was Sept. 13.

Felix had a cardiologist appointment yesterday, and he had an echo, radiographs, and a renal panel. He was supposed to go in by early September, but I hadn't realized it would take months to get an appointment (I made his next appointment while I was there). I hadn't been able to meet the cardiologist when he was hospitalized in May because she was so busy and was fitting him in between other things. I liked her a lot and also the two techs who were helping her, both of whom especially love orange tabbies. The appointment lasted almost two hours, so thorough and no rushing through questions. I got to stay with him most of the time, and we'd all shuffle around so he could have me by his head during the exams and procedures.

The best news: they can no longer detect the blood clot in his heart!! He was a pretty high risk for a thromboembolism, and now his risk is far lower. More good news, his kidneys are looking good so far; his meds are hard on kidneys, so that can get hard to balance. His BUN is kind of high, but that was true before he started on the heart meds, and it's not really getting worse. Labs are posted with his spreadsheet.

He had coughed a few times and his respiratory rate wasn't at its low as much of the day over the past week or two, and she found very mild pulmonary edema, so she adjusted his meds. She says he's still on a fairly low dosage, and she has more tricks up her sleeve if he does max out the dosages.

At the end of May, when he was diagnosed with restrictive cardiomyopathy, I was told that he would most likely live two or three months. They said his heart might just stop and I'd find him curled up somewhere. Or he could have a thromboembolism, which he may or may not survive and which can cause a lot of suffering. Although his prognosis is still poor, he seems to be enjoying a good quality of life, and I sure am enjoying every bit of time with him.
 
I’m so glad he’s stable and he’s got a good QOL. You have such a great attitude about making the most of your time together. Great news about the clot.

His labs do look really good. His potassium is on the low side so best to watch that.
Thank you, Marje. Full disclosure about my "great attitude": I do still get weepy over him pretty easily.

We did talk about potassium during his appointment and that he may need supplementing, but the lab results weren't back yet then. He'll see his regular vet in a week or two to recheck labs after his furosemide increase, and I'll talk to him about it. There's another cardiologist appointment with labs scheduled for later in January.

Thanks for becoming a moderator--that's great!
 
So glad to hear this good news! Felix is quite the fellow for showing those vets that he could do it! Glad to hear you're spending good quality time with him. He sounds like he picked the right hooman to take care of him. Sending vines to you both for continuing good reports! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Susan, this is such good news. Felix is amazing!

Chef Felix: keep on getting better and better :cat:. I'm so happy to see that your labs are looking good and that the echocardiogram revealed no blood clot. That is great! Now, go and whip up a delicious pot of chicken soup for yourself (and save some for me!).
:bighug::bighug::bighug: for your mamabean and scritches for you, dear boy.
 
I've missed seeing you and Felix...what a lucky boy to have you as his mama! Keep giving him all the love and attention, that is obviously working wonders. Extra bum pats for Maverick's pal...he misses Felix too.

Good to hear you are going to look into a potassium supplement, you want to keep all those electrolytes in good balance.

Yo Felix...Iz been thinkin it's time to cook up some hotdogs on the beach, let's meet up and have some fun! ...your pal, Mav
 
Thank you, Marje. Full disclosure about my "great attitude": I do still get weepy over him pretty easily.

We did talk about potassium during his appointment and that he may need supplementing, but the lab results weren't back yet then. He'll see his regular vet in a week or two to recheck labs after his furosemide increase, and I'll talk to him about it. There's another cardiologist appointment with labs scheduled for later in January.

Thanks for becoming a moderator--that's great!
You’re welcome and thanks very much!

Since he’s just at the lower end and labs are a snapshot in time, your vet might want to wait (or not) to supplement. If you supplement, it has to be closely monitored as too high of a potassium level can be as bad as too low.

Good luck and please keep us posted. Lots of love and scritches for Felix and hugs for you.
 
Back
Top