Oct 28 Felix AMPS=376 (partial?) fur shot; +4=405, +6=384

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
previous thread: Oct 24

Arrrrggggh! At least a partial fur shot this morning! :banghead: I usually shoot on Felix's back, but I was experimenting with shooting his flank. His skin sort of rippled like he was startled (he doesn't usually respond to the injection), and the needle must've come out.

We were getting close to being back on schedule after inching our way from four hours off schedule, too. And that had happened because his BG was going so high after a skipped shot. Arrrrggggh! Please stay under 600 for momma today, Felix.

Time to focus on the good stuff: He has been so happy the past few days and we've had some great cuddles. He had Weruva Fowl Ball for the first time today, and he seemed to like it. He still needs Fortiflora on his wet food to get him started, but it's exciting when he'll make a meal of it instead of licking a little and walking away.
 
Ooo I’ve done that, tried the flank. It’s harder to grab hold of the skin. Maybe he flinched just because it was a new spot. I read somewhere that people shave a small area of the flank and easier to give the injections because there’s no fur. You can even easily rotate the injection spots within by going each time in a clockwise fashion.
Hope he comes down soon. Great cuddles are the best:bighug:
 
Yes, love the cuddles! He just hopped down from a snuggle and went to the litterbox, so I was just able to get a ketone test, too.

Maybe some insulin did go in after all? His BG is fairly high, but he's cruising so far instead of going through the roof.

Usually I inject starting at his shoulder blades just past his scruff on Saturdays and move down a bit along his back through the week, left of his spine at AM and right of his spine at PM shot time. Maybe I'll just "stick" with that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top