Oct.2 MEME pmps 104 (AT)advice!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

rawia

Member Since 2017
Hi,

Meme today is doing great, her pmps is 104 should i inject the 0.1 dose!!

I am afraid of the +3 dropping even with food :(
 
I noticed that she dropped fast only at the second cycle, in morning shot she never drop to low even if the amps is low?
 
Did you shoot?

If you did, I would start by getting a +1 and +2

104 giving the variance with meter readings, is almost the same as that 115 you shot this morning.
It looks like she is pretty flat coming into the end of the cycle, if it were me and I could monitor/had supplies, I would shoot.
 
She has earned a reduction!! I think the next dose down from 0.1u is a drop dose. If she is on a mission, you will need to start giving HC, not LC.
 
She has earned a reduction!! I think the next dose down from 0.1u is a drop dose. If she is on a mission, you will need to start giving HC, not LC.
Should i give this dose a few more cycle??

And why should i change to HC food?
 
Should i give this dose a few more cycle??

And why should i change to HC food?
I wouldn't do 0.1u again. It has been 6 cycles. Meme earned her reduction and you should give it to her.

+2 is too early to be dropping this low and it isn't nadir yet. You need to get her above 68.
 
This dropping happened yesterday also.

Will test again after 20 minutes.


So the drop is just the first line on the syringe right??
 
This dropping happened yesterday also.

Will test again after 20 minutes.


So the drop is just the first line on the syringe right??
Did you steer in that cycle or did she come up by herself?

I will be watching for that test.

No. You shouldn't have been on a line with the 0.1u. Let me go find images and post. The drop dose is when you push the plunger in all the way and hold it until you insert the needle into the Lantus and release the plunger then pull the needle out. You do not touch the plunger other than pushing it in and releasing.
 
For a drop, basically just do whatever you think you can measure consistently. If your syringes seem pretty similar, the first line could work, but if the position of the line is irregular, you can try something like the "squeeze and release" drop. For this, you push the plunger down really hard before inserting into the insulin vial, then when the needle is in the vial release the plunger and let the vacuum draw up a drop. It doesn't seem like it should work but it does, and at least when I tested with my syringes, seemed to give a consistent drop.

And I agree-- when she drops below 68 this early, I'd probably just go straight for a little HC rather than mixing with LC.
 
01unit-1.jpg
 
Did you steer in that cycle or did she come up by herself?

I will be watching for that test.

No. You shouldn't have been on a line with the 0.1u. Let me go find images and post. The drop dose is when you push the plunger in all the way and hold it until you insert the needle into the Lantus and release the plunger then pull the needle out. You do not touch the plunger other than pushing it in and releasing.
I am not sure that i understand it very will
 
For a drop, basically just do whatever you think you can measure consistently. If your syringes seem pretty similar, the first line could work, but if the position of the line is irregular, you can try something like the "squeeze and release" drop. For this, you push the plunger down really hard before inserting into the insulin vial, then when the needle is in the vial release the plunger and let the vacuum draw up a drop. It doesn't seem like it should work but it does, and at least when I tested with my syringes, seemed to give a consistent drop.

And I agree-- when she drops below 68 this early, I'd probably just go straight for a little HC rather than mixing with LC.
Ok understand now
 
I gave her now another food which she likes, she is eating a little

Oh, good! And, "a little" is good in this situation-- it's still early, you may need her to eat for a while longer today.

Another thing you can do if she isn't interested in eating is to rub a little honey or Karo (or other syrup) on her gums. It will absorb and help boost her numbers that way, just as much as eating the syrup would.

Hopefully she'll head back into the higher numbers soon!
 
I think I read it too fast and was thinking of a different line. I'm glad to hear you were doing it correctly.

If she won't eat any HC foods, do you have honey on hand?
Yes but this will be my last option because she through up everytime i rub honey or syrup.
 
I'm glad she came up now. Yes, you'll want to try the "drop" dose. Insert the needle, with the plunger pressed firmly and release. It should vacuum up what we call a "drop" dose. When you inject Meme be sure count to like 5 before removing the needle. It's harder for us to really determine where her numbers are with using AT in respect to an OTJ trial. Think she's close and we'll have to see what she does the next few cycles. Going to tag @Wendy&Neko and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) to take a look. they are not on all the time but will respond.

I don't see the need to feed HC unless she drops again. Looks like her regular food brought her up which is good.
 
Also, have you been feeding at +1,+2, +3 as discussed previously? I see a few tests at +1 & +2 but it's not clear if you've been feeding. By doing that it will help the drop and allow her to surf.
 
Glad to see she's bumped up a bit! Hopefully she'll just surf along now with a little LC.

I'll be interested to see what others say about an OTJ trial. She's close!
 
Congratulations on the reduction.

I would definitely give some insulin using the method @Doodles & Karen described above, as she has already said do make sure that when you shoot hod down the plunger firmly and count to 5 before removing needle.

Looking at the numbers, overall Meme is looking ok, though with some yellows and mid to high blues there fairly recently, I really think that a little more insulin support is needed to give those fragile beta cells some time to heal and get strong.

Karen makes a good point regarding the food, if like today she's dropping early on, like she was at +1 I would feed some higher LC to try to slow the drop avoid the reduction, depending on where she heads at +2+3, you would then feed a teaspoon or two of LC(or higher carb depending on numbers) we call that 'feeding the curve', that way you may be able to keep her on some insulin for a while and that will give her beta cells some extra recovery brine which in theory should lead to a stronger remission.
 
Also, have you been feeding at +1,+2, +3 as discussed previously? I see a few tests at +1 & +2 but it's not clear if you've been feeding. By doing that it will help the drop and allow her to surf.
Yes i have been doing this since yesterday but always dropping in the second cycle
 
Since Meme doesn't quite look ready for an OTJ trial, I would try the drop dose. Another thing you can try is feeding a small meal, a couple taps, of regular low carb food at +8 to +9 to see if that brings down the preshot numbers. When they are on a small dose and the pancreas is healing, that small meal can get the pancreas working to bring down the numbers a bit. If Meme is not as high at preshot, then she won't drop as much when the insulin takes effect.
 
Since Meme doesn't quite look ready for an OTJ trial, I would try the drop dose. Another thing you can try is feeding a small meal, a couple taps, of regular low carb food at +8 to +9 to see if that brings down the preshot numbers. When they are on a small dose and the pancreas is healing, that small meal can get the pancreas working to bring down the numbers a bit. If Meme is not as high at preshot, then she won't drop as much when the insulin takes effect.
Yes this is what i am doing, i gave her small meals. Is light blue on AT still consider high, or it is ok since it is lower than human meter
 
One more question

Can i shoot 0.1 at morning as she hold it will and a drop at the next shot or this is not a good idea?
 
One more question

Can i shoot 0.1 at morning as she hold it will and a drop at the next shot or this is not a good idea?
Could you fill in the SS with the numbers you have gotten since +1? If Meme starts bouncing, I think it's fine to shoot through the bounce with 0.1u. But if she's holding steady, then do the drop dose.
 
I agree -- it looks to me like MeMe needs to stick with insulin. I would encourage you keep your kitty on as much insulin as is safe. At the moment, there's still a bit of bouncing (e.g., that 200 on the 30th) and overall, I'd like to see the entire range just a little lower to insure when you stop insulin, that it''s a successful OTJ trial.
 
I fill the SS and will write it her in detail:


+1 89
+2 65 ( feed LC with little gravy from HC)
+2.5 67 ( feed HC)
+3 94
+4.5 120
+6 127
 
Those blues are good numbers on AT. As Wendy said above unless she zooms to 300, shot the reduced drop dose in the morning
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top