Oct 16, Minerva, advice please,PMPS 275, +3 112, +5 70, +7 113, AMPS 261, +5 164, +10 139, PMPS 216

Joy W

Member Since 2021
Hi folk

Minerva is determined to keep me on my toes and I would LOVE some advice!

She had an increase based on her last curve but has been quite bouncy since, so based on some advice from @tiffmaxee (THANK YOU!) I put her down to 2.25 to see if we could get her to smooth out a bit. However she only had the new dose once before having a really steep drop with a nadir of 70. My understanding is that a nadir of 70 earns a reduction, and I have previously been advised to take that reduction from the dose she was given, so I reduced further to 2 units today. However it is possible I misunderstood that instruction, so I would greatly appreciate any advice on if that was the right call, or anything else that you can see in her chart that I have missed.

And also of concern to me, is that in the last 24 - 48 hours she has started getting a bit fussier about her food, eating and then stopping suddenly, or rejecting a flavour she ate earlier in the day, etc. Could be that she is being a cat, could be very minor nausea? Hard to say, she isn't showing any other signs of distress or lethargy etc and her overall food intake is still within normal, although at the lower end (but she always starts eating less over spring and summer and more over autumn and winter so a reduction as we move into spring is about right). When should I get concerned by the fussiness, and/or try cerenia? Getting oral cerenia from the vet was a minor miracle so I don't want to use my leftovers unnecessarily, but also if it is justified then I definitely would use it.

Some extra notes, she has been a bit pukey the last couple of weeks; we are in spring and she has been shedding a lot so her puke has been either grass and fur and brown gunky stuff that looks a bit like food; or grass and a bit of clearish liquid. I am assuming it is mostly the fur that is making her puke so much. We are brushing her lots to try and help but it is an uphill battle. Also, the last 3 or 4 days we have had quite a temperature increase, so not sure if that is a factor in either the blood sugar or the fussiness.

Many thanks to everyone!

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/nov-14-minerva-amps-333-pmps-131-122-stall.270771/
 
A reduction is earned for the following cycle if under 90 when following SLGS so you did the right thing. I’d see how her appetite is for a few days before starting cerenia unless it really tanks. She definitely could be nauseous if being picky but some cats just become picky as they age. She could be getting read to vomit a hairball. It seems like when shedding starts I brush and more fur gets loosened. Some use dried egg yoke to help. I’m afraid to try it with my furry girl as she has so many food allergies but if that’s not a problem I would try it. I think the fur is the cause fir your girl.
 
Back
Top