Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

I don't know Obie's story... Protocol says to shoot anything above 50, but looking at your spreadsheet you don't test much after PM shot time so there really isn't any information to know what Obie does in his PM cycles. Are you able to test and monitor what happens after shooting a low number? I'd only shoot a low+lower-than-ever-before number if you are able to test and monitor to make sure he doesn't get too low.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

Whether or not you shoot depends on a few factors.

Are you able to stay up and monitor Obie for at least several hours? Do you have an adequate supply of strips if you have to test every 20 - 30 min? Do you have a supply of high carb food?

It the answer to the above is "yes," then I would first suggest you do not feed and stall -- retest in 20 - 30 min. from when you last tested and post your result.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

I will be around to monitor him.
He does tend to go low at night, I imagine that he will be close to 400 tomorrow morning whether he gets a shot or not.
I feed him 20 minutes before his shot time usually, so he is probably already up 10-20 points.
I usually give him a tiny bit of his nightly portion while I give him his shot. I think I'll give him a bigger batch and test him again before I shoot.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

He is a difficult cat to test without feeding him
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

The problem with giving food is that you are artificially inflating his numbers. You don't know if numbers are going up on their own or because of the food. Please do not feed. Given your lack of testing at night, I do not want to even hint that you should shoot a dropping number. I'm just not familiar enough with your skill at handling low numbers -- especially if you shoot a dropping number.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

he is now at 85.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

He rose about 25 points in 25 minutes. I did give him his shot. I will wrestle him down in about 40 minutes and see if I can get a reading without food.
He had a very small amount.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

If you shot, you don't need to worry about the food issue. I'm sorry if I wasn't clear. For the next time,..

When you get a lower than your comfortable shooting pre-shot number, do not feed if you plan to stall to see if numbers are rising. The reasons are as I stated above -- you don't want food to influence the numbers. If you feed, typically numbers rise and you don't know if it's the food or the dwindling of insulin that's causing a rise in numbers. It's entirely possible that without food, numbers could drop further. Unless you have experience with steering numbers with food, shooting a dropping number can present a challenge -- it can be challenging even if you do have experience managing low numbers.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

Thank you. He has had the best 2-3 days that he has had since i have been treating him.
I don't think I would have even considered shooting him if he was any lower than 60.
If I know his liver, he is about 1-3 hours away from bouncing through the roof for several days.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

90 minutes later he is at 132.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

Bouncing right now is expected for Obie. From his SS, he hasn't spent that much time in lower numbers. The more time he spends in lower ranges, hopefully, the calmer his liver and pancreas will be. (They both contribute to the bouncing.)

If I may, I'd like to make a couple of suggestions.
  • It would be very helpful if you could get a test or two before you go to bed every night. You're already seeing some lover numbers later in the AM cycle. I'm guessing your schedule doesn't let you get tests earlier in the AM cycle. Having some early tests in the PM cycle may be informative. In addition, without PM tests, you're missing half of your data so it's hard to know if numbers are high and flat or if there's more bouncing occurring.
  • For a kitty that is as newly diagnosed as Obie, you should consider sticking with the TR protocol with regard to dosing. Obie has been at his current dose for almost a month. When a kitty is at a dose that's not bringing numbers into the normal range for large portions of the cycle, you may want to consider increasing the dose. With the TR protocol, you evaluate the dose every 3 - 5 days, depending on where the majority of the nadirs fall. Allowing a cat to stay in higher than desirable numbers can cause glucose toxicity. This is a misleading name. It basically means that your cat's body treats the higher numbers as "normal." This contributes to bouncing and makes it more challenging to get numbers into a better range.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

Just wanted to say hi, James! Sienne's given you lots of great advice.

It's encouraging to see Obie getting a lower preshot! In fact, the past 6 evenings you've had 4 blue or green preshots - which is good progress. We like seeing those yucky pink numbers disappear from the spreadsheet.
 
Re: Obie pmps is 61 on the Relion. I think I should still sh

Hi Julie!
He seem to be having a pretty good week. I will check him again before i go to bed.
:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top