Obie hits 37 on Relion. Shows no symptoms of HG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Obie

Member Since 2014
I fed him and he ate like a pig. This number was 4 hours in. where he tested at 104 on the relion this morning.
My vet told me to give him the 2u even if he was at 100, so I did. ****!
Advice?
 
I would give a couple of teaspoons of HC food if you have it and then test him again in about 20 minutes....

You want to get his numbers above 50.....

It is ok to shoot lower numbers as long as you are around to monitor him....you are in control as you have your hypo kit and can do this....
 
I will do that. I was supposed to go on a road trip in the next half hour, but I can't leave him until I know he is ok
 
I just saw your other post that you feed him alot of food after that 37. Dont want to fill him up because you want him to be able to eat if he drops lower. We recommend a couple tsp of high carb first, and test again in 20 min. If you have Karo , it wouldnt hurt to add a drop or two. Now that he ate so much, just retest in 20 min.
 
Nope....

Once we get him over 50, you want to have at least two tests of rising numbers without the influence of food.....

He dove pretty fast on ya, so don't be surprised if you see a bounce in the next few cycles......

For now, let's just get him above 50.....please post when you do your next test, so we can see what we need to do....

You are doing awesome!
 
I am not sure if the rules are different for the Relaxed group, but in the Tight Regulation group, when you go under 50 you reduce the next dose by .25.....


So congrats on your reduction!
 
He is now 53 on the Relion and 76 on the alpha trak 2.
And I fed him before I read this. I will reduce his next dose by .25
 
So the 53 is at +5?

That is good....now remember that could be influenced by the food that you gave him.....

So I would hold off on giving him any more food and test him again in 30 minutes.....and let's see where he is at, sound good?

You are doing great!

Looking at his spreadsheet, it looks like you jumped past the 1.75 mark....I am guessing that is on the advice of the vet? I think that is why they normally suggest doing increases by .25 as you may miss the ideal dose....

Do you have half marking syringes where you can dose the 1.75? I am at .25 with Skooter and have the half marking syringes....
 
Great job catching that 37 and getting Obie up above 50. What type of food did you give him when you saw the 37 (at +4, right)? Karo typically wears off a bit more quickly than high-carb canned food, which is why I'm asking.

Yep - Obie definitely earned a reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Yikes. My vet told me to shoot anything above 80, too. It almost killed Mona a few times, but luckily she made it and then I found these wonderful people and stopped doing that!

Keep in mind that you'll be fighting against the insulin through the nadir, so he could possibly go low again through the next few hours. :(

You're doing great!
 
Yes, my vet suggested it. And regarding his ideal wieght and the suggested dosing by kilos 2u seemed logical.
I will test him again in 20-30 minutes. He isn't going to like it without food though. I usually give him a snack when I test him
 
I gave him low carb fancy feast at first, and one with Gravy that I bought by mistake when I tested him last
 
It is hard to tell when his nadir is because there isn't a lot of multiple tests within a cycle.....

I learned through lots of testing with Skooter that he nadirs early in his cycle, usually around +4....I know normally they say it is around +6, but ECID....

Anyway to get any additional tests in during the cycles? Maybe a "before bed" test? I am not sure what your shooting schedule is or if that is possible, but if you can, a few more tests might be able to help learning what Obie does during his cycles.....

So the goal at this point is to get two rising numbers without the influence of food....then I like to also get a test one hour AFTER the two rising numbers to see where Skooter is before saying he is out of the woods....does that make sense?
 
Will love and affection work for a few tests as far as his reward? lol

What do you give him as a treat when you test him?
 
Also, Him not eating doesn't seem to be a problem. My sweet pig/cat :razz:
MollySkooter, I give him a few watered down table spoons of fancy feast watered heavily down.
 
Yeah, unfortunately, you don't want to have the numbers really influenced at all by food.....so hopefully he will be ok for two tests without it.....

And normally Skooter doesn't have a problem eating either...however when you are dealing with low numbers like this....you don't want to run the risk of your cat all of a sudden deciding he is full and then not be able to get the food in him to get his numbers up....
 
Also, if you wanted, you can go to your original post and remove the 911 icon.....

You have several sets of eyes on ya now watching out for ya ;-)
 
I gave him low carb fancy feast at first, and one with Gravy that I bought by mistake when I tested him last

It's actually great to have the gravy lover's around for situations like this. There are a lot of carbs in the gravy. When he dips below 50, you can start off with just a tsp. or two of the gravy itself rather than the actual food. That will help bring the numbers up. When in the 30s, adding a drop or two of Karo/syrup can help boost the numbers a bit more quickly. We used gravy lover's on several different occasions when Jersey fell below 50.

You're doing a great job. Just to recap so I don't get confused:

AMPS - 150
+4 - 37
+5? - 53

Is that right? I see a 76 on the ss, so I'm afraid I may have missed something. (I do that a lot. ohmygod_smile)
 
Shelly & Jersey said:
I see a 76 on the ss, so I'm afraid I may have missed something. (I do that a lot.

It looks like she has two spreadsheets, one for the ReliOn meter (which is the one I have been looking at) and one for I think AlphaTrak.....


Is there a reason why you test with both meters or have both spreadsheets? Most people on here are used to the human meter readings.....

It may be less confusing to pick one spreadsheet to use for here and remove the other one....
 
Shelly. My RelionObienumbers chart has the proper numbers from the relion. The other one I keep for a second opinion and because my vet wants me too.
he was at 90 at 3:30
104 at 6am
37 at 10am
and 53 at about 10:30am
 
Since we are all in different time zones, it is easier to use the AMPS and then the +# (however many hours after the shot) when reading going through and assisting....


So what is your latest reading and at what point in the cycle was that test?

Opps! Sorry about the gender thing....so used to dealin with the mommabeans on here lololol
 
Cat ladies seem to me more common than cat dads :P :lol:
The 90 was 3 hours before shot, the 104 was at shot time, the 37 was the 4th hour and the 53 was about 1/2 way into the 5th.
 
I've seen several cat dads on the board. They seem to have really good luck getting their kitties into remission (e.g., Boots & Dwayne, Brian & Tyler). ;-)
 
I am about to piss him off. Testing without a treat. He is going to kill me in my sleep!
 
He will get over it....

Just explain to him that you will have to test even more if he keeps getting more FF :)

Short term change for long term gain! lol
 
I am confused because you said the 53 was about half way through the 5th hour....

Are you sure the 74 isn't the +6?
 
so I would get another non food influenced test at +6 (30 minutes from now).....as long as that is rising, then I would wait until +7 and get a test then (as long as that number is rising, you could give him his treat)......if that is still rising you should be good....

+6 is the normal cycle nadir, but ECID so may be earlier or later for Obie....

Have you ever thought about posting in the TR forum? I think it might be a little bit busier than the relaxed forum, which comes in handy when situations like this occur....

I would also suggest when you are shooting lower numbers than you have before to get a +1 and/or +2 reading....that will really help you know how your cycle is going to go......and how much additional testing you will need to do.....
 
I will do that. And post in the TR forum.
You guys are so much help! Thank you.
 
In the TR group, we do everything by the time in the cycle....

So I would get used to talking in terms of +1.5, +3 etc....

Also, on your spreadsheet, if you are testing at 5.5....I would indicate that the test was at 5.5, you will just have to go to the top and manually change the colors....take a look at Skooter's spreadsheet as I LOVE to test throughout the cycle....

Again, I would sugget getting a few more tests in the pm cycle and at varying times, just to see what Obie is up to during the cycle.....

Knowledge is power and that is very important with the sugarcat dance we all do....the more we can learn about our cat's cycles, the better....

Also, our subject lines in the TR are a little different....we do one post a day and just edit the subject line....it should read date/cat name/ and then readings...
So Skooter's today looks like this:

9/6 Skooter AMPS 160 +2 97 +3 87 +4 86 +5.25 113......
 
Awesome job today, James!

I would probably get one more test in at +7.5 to make sure all is still on the up and up for Obie....

Remember you will want to reduce to 1.75U.....

The other suggestion I would make is maybe getting a +11 reading just to see where Obie will be headed when its time to do the PMPS and if still low or uncomfy shooting it, I would suggest posting in the TR forum or help and adding a link to this condo, so the more experienced members can help you out....

Do you know how to link this condo to a new one?
 
I will most definitely cut it to 1.75!
I can figure out the linking process. :)
I may run to get some beer and some more wet catfood and chicken to boil for him.
Thank you and everyone for talking me any my friend off of the cliff :)
 
Glad we were here to see Obie go low!

I am off to meet my sister for lunch.....


Have a great rest of the day...don't forget about that +7.5 and +11 test.....and Obie....chill out a lil tonight and give daddybean a break :)
 
You did a great job today. That first go-round with low numbers can be really frightening. (Every time was frightening for me, truth be told.) The good news is that you were testing and caught it. :-D
 
Thank you, Guys. I will test him again at the top of the hour.
He is still hungry and acting like nothing happened.
I guess I found his "Oh Sh_t" point :P cat(2)_steam
 
at 8 hours he is at 150 on the relion. 210 on the alphatrak.
I think he is out of the woods for this half of the day.
 
Yep - time to give the ears a break for a while. He may end up bouncing pretty high from those low numbers this morning, but there's not a darn thing you can do to stop it at this point. :YMSIGH:

Have a great day, James!
 
Thank you, Shelly. (Hope thats your name and not a cat) :P
You have a great day too!
:razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top