Nuzzles AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206 PMPS=354

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Since this is my last weekend with Nuzzles I decided to do that promised curve. Unfortunately it is also the same day that she decided to eat the really soupy canned food I put down. Yep, she cleaned the plate.

So she goes from HI in the amps - drops to 421 in two hours and comes crashing down to 136 in five hours. I am going to do another test in an hour so I have a +6.

I may have to keep her a little longer to see if I can get keep the food change going. I don't want to send her off with the wrong dosage. I am also concerned about leaving her all day tomorrow so I may need some advice on lowering dosage depending on today's and tonight's numbers.

Gosh it would be such a dream to hand her off with only canned food and on 1u of Lantus.
 
Re: Curve on Nuzzles today

She is at 82 at six hours past shot. Running out to find some beef canned food. Apparently she's a fan and I only have poultry in the house.

The beef pate she is currently eating is the Merrick BG that is being phased out. Any suggestions on higher carb beefs (higher meaning more than 2%. I don't want to bring back the dry food but I want her to be safe tomorrow while I am at work.
 
Re: Curve on Nuzzles today

I found some FF beef classics on the back of the grocery store shelf. Cans are dusty but I bought all of them.

She is at 104 after 8 hours. Sorry I couldn't get a 6.5 or 7 because I was out finding food for her. None of my cats like beef so I had none in the house.

She has cleared four bowls of food (about 3/4 of a large can). She is going to the food bowl instead of the water bowl. Maybe the new water bowl did the trick. Who knows, I am just so pleased to remove that dry food.
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

On her second can of food.
Worried about tomorrow. I will probably leave a full can of food in a ton of water and see if she continues to go to it instead of her water bowl. I am going to have to get up in the middle of the night for maybe a +7 because I don't know what dosage to give her in the am and I think some overnight numbers might help. I tried to do it on Friday night but could not get my eyes to see clearly.
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

Tonite I would get a PMPS and a +2 or +3 because if this number is less than the pre shot test number it implies an active cycle and you might want then to get up for a +6 or something But if the number is higher then she is likely bouncing and you are safe.

maybe same thing tomorrow morning? AMPS and AMPS +2 or +3 if your schedule allows? the 2 units didnt take her too low today and she has been on it over a week so I dont think I would worry too much.


Wendy
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

I can't get any numbers between AMPS and PMPS tomorrow as I am at work.

Do you think that the 2u would be safe if she is no longer eating dry food? That's what I worry about for tomorrow. I guess I will see if she is a bouncy girl tonight. She is very calm today - sleeping peacefully at the window. Guess that's a good thing - not as restless.

I have asked to keep her until next weekend so I can keep an eye on her and her new diet.
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

As far as I am concerned. She won't eat the Wellness or EVO dry food and I would like for this to be the end of the Kitten Chow. She made a huge step forward today and it is showing in the litterbox too. She is seeking and getting all her hydration from souped up canned food. I am very pleased by this. Maybe now I can get some numbers to work with.

I am about to test for PMPS but don't think that I should be giving the full 2u if she is off dry food.
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

She's at 354 for her PMPS. Not going to shoot yet
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

why not shoot? might stop her going to HI

if she isnt going to get any more high carb dry then you could try reduce dose tomorrow or even tonite to 1 unit.

Wendy
 
Re: Nuzzles AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206 PMPS=

Ok I will compromise and give her 1.5u tonight and see how low she goes at +6 tonight. As far as I am concerned, this is the end of the dry food unless she just stops eating completely.

Thanks Wendy
 
Re: Nuzzles AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206 PMPS=

Remember Lantus is a depot insulin so the impact of the 2IU could hang around for a day or two.
 
Re: Nuzzles Curve AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206

Robin, I agree with you that you don't want to give the entire 2U dose since Nuzzles has just accepted the switch from the high carb dry, to the low carb wet. Especially since you are away for a long stretch tomorrow after AMPS, being safe is probably a big concern in your mind. It would be in mine.

Numbers can start to come down very quickly with a food change like that. I went through it with Wink, dry food addict extraordinaire. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile He went from 1.5U to 0U in 10 days, while the food change was going on.

Nuzzles may bounce way up, in reaction to those lows today. Recommendations kind of depend on what tonight's numbers are.

Remember, you've still got some depot with that 2U dose. I think I'd reduce to 1U with tonight's dose. That's my recommendation.

What is your current shoot/no shoot number for Nuzzles?

You could always reduce the dose by half, to 1U for tomorrow. This would be my first choice if Nuzzles were my cat.

You could skip the shot tomorrow. Not my favorite choice.

You could give the full dose, hope that Nuzzles eats the new wet food and is ok. My last and least favorite choice, especially since Nuzzles just started eating the wet. It's hard to know if she'll continue to eat it, and you are not home to give her something else.
 
Re: Nuzzles AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206 PMPS=

Thanks Deb

I gave her 1.5u tonight and depending on tonight's numbers, I will stay at 1.5 or go down to 1u for the am shot. I have to make sure she continues to eat (which in her mind is drinking). So far she still is not touching the water bowl and the wet food is diminishing. It's like walking a tight rope with her now for sure.

But I am hopeful. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: Nuzzles AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206 PMPS=

Nuzzles was 341 at +6.5 last night - might be bouncing.

I left two different bowls of very wet beef, LC food. I hope they are both licked clean when I return this evening. She seems calmer. I guess the activeness of before may have been from not feeling well and now she can relax. She is sleeping on the desk instead of under it. I thought it was because the cold floor felt good on her knotted belly. She also had gloppy poo this morning which I attribute to the food change.

They have agreed to let me keep her a little longer, to this weekend so I can make sure she is dosed properly.

I gave her 1.5u this morning - her PMPS was 461
 
Re: Nuzzles AMPS=HI +2=421 +5=136 +6=82 +8=104 +10=206 PMPS=

Yep looks like a bounce. Lets hope she comes down soon although it can take up to 72 hours to clear.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top