numbers in black - sunday - no vet to ask..

Status
Not open for further replies.
With the PMPS reading of 11.5 I would definitely get as late a reading as you can this evening as he could drop quite a bit lower tonight. If you find he has dropped a lot I would set the alarm and get another reading later. Do you have any higher carb food if needed? And some honey?
Did the vet give you a sheet on how to recognise a hypo and how to treat.? By the time they are showing symptoms they are extremely low. That is why we advocate testing between cycles so that scenario can be avoided.
 
Huey is one weird cat..I SAW that insulin go in..and what happens at + 5..up it goes. The frozen snacks for later seemed to have worked..lower morning reading..that is good. I'm going to measure out his daily ration today and give it to him in increments throughout the day ( up to 2 hours before shot time tho..I've read the info on that! and cross eyed from it all .. o_O See what happens. Thank goodness it' a cooler day..have a good one. ps..I really do appreciate all your advice and comments..but if you need to take a break from me and Huey, please do so. Helping others can get a bit much sometimes..I know that from experience and sometimes we need a break and a recharge. Have a lovely day. Cheers .
 
your Sheba looks alot a kitty I had for only a short time..she was chased by a dog that got into our yard...jumped the back fence into the bush and was never seen again. Was she part Abyssinian? Gorgeous kitty. Do you have another kitty now?
 
Huey is responding to the insulin....it just takes time for the depot to build up and the right dose to be found.
The one thing we have all learnt here with FD is we all needed to buy patience pants. I had to buy several pairs:banghead::arghh::joyful:
The most important thing in this dance is to keep Huey safe.
It's a journey not a sprint and just when you think you have learnt the steps to the FD dance, the kitty changes them!

your Sheba looks alot a kitty I had for only a short time..she was chased by a dog that got into our yard...jumped the back fence into the bush and was never seen again. Was she part Abyssinian? Gorgeous kitty. Do you have another kitty now?
Sheba was an Australian Mist which is half Burmese, quarter Abyssinian and quarter domestic short hair cat. She had a beautiful nature and loved to talk to me which I miss. She followed me around like a dog. I got Sheba and another kitty Maxie from a rescue centre....up until then I had never heard of an Australian Mist.
I have another Australian Mist now called Harry who is a gorgeous boy. Very affectionate. My daughters cat, who lives next door spends every day here so Harry has company.
 
I thought she looked like our Fynn..here is a photo..I've linked it to my little web page..he was quite stunning...Huey hated him though..we had to do some serious management..I have a feeling that when Fynn was chased of, he found a new home, there was a caravan park home thing at the back of us so he hopefully found a home there. http://www.swinglindy.com.au/pets.html
 
those Australian mist cats are just beautiful.... ( I AM NOT LOOKING!!) no more pets for us (hahahahaha famous last words..) maybe we will foster or pet sit when Huey and Andre cross the bridge..5-10 years..
 
I thought she looked like our Fynn..here is a photo..I've linked it to my little web page..he was quite stunning...Huey hated him though..we had to do some serious management..I have a feeling that when Fynn was chased of, he found a new home, there was a caravan park home thing at the back of us so he hopefully found a home there. http://www.swinglindy.com.au/pets.html
Yes Fynn is a lovely looking boy. Looks like he could have some Burmese or Abyssinian in him. What a shame he ran away.


those Australian mist cats are just beautiful.... ( I AM NOT LOOKING!!) no more pets for us (hahahahaha famous last words..) maybe we will foster or pet sit when Huey and Andre cross the bridge..5-10 years..
Yes the Australian Mist is a beautiful looking cat but also has an amazing nature. They get a lot of that from the Burmese and the intelligence from the Abyssinian and hopefully the stamina from the DSH.
Here is another photo of Sheba. She had lovely markings on her. She was a Blue Mist. I used to call her my snow leopard.

And below that is Harry. He is a golden Mist and his markings are not as pronounced. Also he is young and they darken with age. But he has the wonderful Mist nature.

ETA the photo of Harry didn't upload. It still won't. I'll. try and do it later
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2352.jpg
    IMG_2352.jpg
    82.5 KB · Views: 107
Last edited:
Beautiful cats..I'll bet they dont get dry cat food!!
:joyful::joyful: No! They certainly don’t. I feed a home made raw diet. And I try and keep Harry slim. (He Loves his food). They say Australian Mists are the Labradors of the cat world and I have to say both Harry and Sheba love /loved their food.
I give bones as part of the diet which is great for teeth and I also clean Harry’s teeth each night.
 
Your cat lets you clean his teeth?? OMG..if I ever get another kitty ( nonononono!!) it will be one like Harry! Huey does not have many molar teeth left, they simply rotted when he was quite young and they were removed. As I get used to the regime, I will go for more raw food..taurine is coming in the mail soon, and I have calcium powder for dogalog. I have the info on the Frankensense? diet - it made sense to me - did you give me that? So many files printed out and in my on line folders now. My vet now has access to the on line chart..and is very pleased with what we are achieving, I got an email from her this morning. And a timed feeder on it's way. January, usual activities are suspended, but come February we both come and go, and I want to keep the regulated food supply going. I feel like I'm on a good path now.. have a lovely day!
 
Yes I gave you info on the frankenprey diet..to get a balanced diet you need all the different parts like the liver( very small amount daily), kidney ( small amount daily), muscle meats variety including chicken hearts......and the sardines once a week and an egg yoke once a week.. if the raw egg yoke gives him the runs, then cook it. I sprinkle a bit of taurine on the food each day and you will need to work out how much calcium powder you need as that is important.
Did I send you this site
https://perfectlyrawsome.com/cats/prey-model-raw-pmr-for-cats/

Have you thought about moving over to the Lantus forum to start posting?
 
yes you did...and I have seen the Lantus forum..but.... I like talking to you!! Anyway, we got Huey smoked trout filet as a treat after the ear jab..all is really going OK at the moment..the Lantus is doing the job well and he is stabilising in the yellow zone. We will most likely up to 2 units next week..and see if we can get him a bit lower. He is certainly feeling better..going for walks, wacking the dog..back to his normal behaviour! We probably should end this conversation, its getting a bit long. If you know how to do it, please do so. And thank you again for all your help, advice and support. :bighug:
 
I post over on the Lantus forum too. And it’s good for others to have input as well.
If you increase from 1.5 units after the 7 days you should only go up to 1.75 units. We increase in 0.25 unit increments as it is the safest way to do it. You would be amazed the difference 0.25 units makes especially when you are getting close to the best dose.
Huey is doing well for a newly diagnosed kitty.
Think about starting a new post in the Lantus forum. If you don’t like it you can always come back to the main forum.
To do that just go to that page and click on the start new thread
 
Just wanted to say that you're doing great. It may take a month or more to get to the correct dose, but if you go slow with gradual increases, then its a pretty safe process and you don't need to worry so much (I know its all scary at first!) His spreadsheet so far looks pretty normal for a newly diagnosed cat who is getting used to insulin and isn't yet at the right dose. So I'll say it again: You're doing great!

Hypos are sudden and life threatening and can come on with no warning beforehand. So that's the big danger we want to avoid. The other one is DKA, which often happens with very high numbers and/or when kitty is refusing to eat but still getting insulin.

High numbers and complications thereof generally cause problems more gradually and will have clinical signs you can watch for (normal signs of trouble such as lethargy, hiding, failing to eat/drink/groom/use litter box appropriately, limping, struggling to climb.) As long as he looks well and is behaving as if he feels ok, you can keep an eye on him with a few tests a day and monitoring how much he eats. And if you have to miss a test or injection for whatever reason, its not ideal for the goal of regulating him, but he won't be in imminent danger.

Other advice I have for you is to see who in your network could help you by learning to give injections and tests. You may not need them now but its great to have someone trained up who your cat trusts, before you need them. Your vet office may have a tech/nurse/nursing student who is willing to catsit to earn a little extra money and (will know what to do and what symptoms to look out for as well.) Family members and friends can also be taught to give injections and possibly tests as well.

Life will be MUCH easier once he is regulated.

Best of luck to you.
 
hi, I have updated..we got a blue today..which I wonder about, as Huey is not hungry at all, ..but this afternoon, he just had a little bbq chicken..some days when he was not sick, he wasn't hungry either..and I know for sure he is not getting any food at the neighbours. So again, wait and see...wait and see...nothing unusual about his behaviour - a bit quiet, but it is so hot today.. :)
 
Hi Linda,
Very nice to see the 10.4 today. That’s progress. Why did you wonder about it?
What day are you going to do the curve before you increase?
When you do increase, please think about only increasing 0.25 units as he has got a 10.4 on this dose, so it’s good to hasten slowly. I notice you haven’t been getting many night time BSLs. Kitties often drop lower at night so it is a really good idea to at least get a before bed test to check he is not dropping too low.
I think his SS looks pretty good for a newly diagnosed FD kitty:)

ETA. Looking at the SS I can see you haven’t always got a Preshot test. Please ALWAYS get a before shot test to see the number is high enough to shoot. Someone last week inadvertently forgot and her kitty was dangerously low a couple of hours later.
 
Last edited:
I know I should, but some days ( like the other day) I am just so tired, I still do odds and ends of work and I've a troublesome ex husband and oh boy 31 years of his shite, ( we were only married for 4 years we share a son, so its impossible to be totally done and dusted with them ..) and if kitty wont co-operate and hand over some blood..I give up, say my prayers and leave it to whatever swirls around that we cant understand or explain...however, all things are here to teach us and to learn from and one path leads to another..and the rotten path led to hubby number 2 who is a good man. And of course kitty kat and dogalogs who have been put into my care....I'll see about another reading tonight..especially as Huey has not eaten much today..that is what I am wondering about..the why loss of appetite?? But tomorrow is another day..and we will see how it goes. Bye for now, and good night :)
 
I’m sorry you have some family issues. They can be hard. :bighug:
But I can’t stress enough to always test before giving insulin particularly as you increase the dose and Huey’s BSL comes down closer to normal. Cats don’t usually show ANY signs of low blood sugars until they are dangerously low. Once they are showing signs of a hypo they are in big trouble.
Do you have some higher carb food and honey in case of low BSLs ? Canned gravy foods are best as dry food takes too long to be absorbed. Some of the fancy feast ones with rice in them are higher carb.
Have you tested for ketones in the urine in the last few days? I’d try and get a test in if you can given his appetite is s bit off.
Bron
 
I haven't done the ketone test..I'll see if I can do that tomorrow. He usually goes outside into his cat run but I will fix up his litter box and see if he will co-operate. Probably lock him inside until he does the deed. Good night,sleep tight.
 
ps...if we do change his insulin, I will definitely be back on regular monitoring until we see how it is going..and the pre shot tests..he was Ok tonight, and it has gone up a bit, as it usually does at the +3 mark. I have to go to bed now, working early tomorrow, so we will see what we see in the morning.
 
pps..all the reading says basically this " We have not seen ketosis in cats on low carbo, high protein diets. This is the normal diet of the cat and its metabolic machinery is especially adapted to such a diet as the normal order of things, in times of feast as well as famine...Huey is eating a very low carbohydrate and high protein diet..no dried food at all. If it's his pancreas that is playing up, that raises a whole lot of other issues..however, apart from lack of apetite, he does not have loose stools, no vomiting or other stuff like that that I researched. i just hope that he feels better and is hungry tomorrow..I just know this will play on my mind tonight. and I have to get up early, so I have to go to bed!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top