Kira & Max
Member
After two days of curves and following our vet's advice, my husband and I are about to pull our hair out and the cat has way too many red spots on his ears. Our numbers are so low, even as we lower the insulin dose, that we are beginning to suspect Max's food change may have corrected him so much he doesn't need insulin at all right now? He's acting great, alert, playful, coat looking better, gaining a bit of weight.
He got his new dose of .5 Prozinc at 9pm, a half hour after he ate well and tested at 115 bg. Our vet said over 100, give the shot. Now it's midnight and he's reading at 65, which is the as low he was in the last 12 hour cycle at the low point, dosed at 1U. His curves suggest the insulin will peak in three hours.
I just fed him, fearing some kind of hypo response at 3am, and at this point we're afraid to go to sleep in case bad things happen overnight. I'm thinking there's no way I'm giving him a shot in the morning, as his lows get lower even with lower doses. I know this is all new, and I don't have a ton of bg #'s to go on, but I'm wondering if the food change is starting to be enough? What bg numbers mean a cat is diet-controlled?
He got his new dose of .5 Prozinc at 9pm, a half hour after he ate well and tested at 115 bg. Our vet said over 100, give the shot. Now it's midnight and he's reading at 65, which is the as low he was in the last 12 hour cycle at the low point, dosed at 1U. His curves suggest the insulin will peak in three hours.
I just fed him, fearing some kind of hypo response at 3am, and at this point we're afraid to go to sleep in case bad things happen overnight. I'm thinking there's no way I'm giving him a shot in the morning, as his lows get lower even with lower doses. I know this is all new, and I don't have a ton of bg #'s to go on, but I'm wondering if the food change is starting to be enough? What bg numbers mean a cat is diet-controlled?