Numbers Are Higher...What's Up?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmied

Member Since 2014
Hey all,

Since getting Hank to eat wet food his pre shot numbers are higher and some tests in between are higher than they've been in awhile.

Yes, I'm still giving him some dry food but it's the low carb Wysong. I let him eat some wet food first and then give him half as less dry (1/8 c., I was giving 1/4c. at main meal times. I am still offering a little dry at +2 & +3 to try and keep his numbers from dipping too low. I'm hoping to have Hank totally on the wet food by Wednesday.

I was feeding Hank FF kitten wet food for him to get used to the taste. Then I switched to FF turkey flavor. Tonight I gave him 1/2 can of Friskies turkey and chicken flavor. After he finished, I gave him his dry. He ate a little and will probably eat the rest before +3.

I do have a new problem. Hank wants Oscar's wet food after he finishes his wet food. I put Oscar's dish on top of the dryer but am not sure if Hank or Oscar is finishing the bowl.

See before Hank liked the wet food, Oscar would nibble all day till the next feeding time. Guess Oscar's not going to be able to do that anymore.

So my questions are;
Did I lower his dose too soon?
Should I raise it back to 1.75u?
Is he bouncing? Should I wait it out? Cause he does have a few low numbers at +5.
Should I keep at 1.5u to see how his numbers are when he's off the dry?

Thank you

Kimmie
 
Hi!
I think that the dry food will affect his numbers to some degree. I have never heard of that brand of dry food before so I don't know anything about the carb content.
If they were mine I'd do my best to get them both off the dry food. I know sometimes that that is easier said than done as kitty's will sometimes not go along with that plan. You may have to separate both of them to their own room to eat so that you can monitor who eats what. I have had to do that with the cat and dog or the dog will take away the food from the cat.
It took a while for me to get mine to eat wet but now she loves it. I still use dry but only when I go on vacation and have a pet sitter come in.
To be safe I think I'd wait it out first and then I'd get him off the dry then keep at 1.5 until I saw what the numbers are going to be without the influence of dry food.
I wish that I could answer all your questions however I'm sure that someone with more knowledge will come along and be able to help you more.
 
You have 2 conflicting opinions, raise the dose and hold the dose. I'd suggest holding, only because some cats do take several days/up to a couple weeks to settle in and you recently dropped it right? If you planned to keep the dry in his diet, I'd say raise the dose. From what I've seen, some cats are more sensitive to carbs than others. I know how convenient dry food feeding is and truly, some cats are very hard to change (I have one of those, non diabetic, that still gets some dry) but keep at it, you've got him eating wet food, slowly remove the dry entirely.

Now where's Mel? :-D
 
So sorry but I did not see Sue's post. I would have said to follow Sue's advise if I had seen the post. So sorry about that!! I think I'd better get on the ball and go get that new pair of glasses that the doctor told me I needed!! It seems that he is right!!
ohmygod_smile
 
I'm with Sue on this one...his numbers are still high enough to handle it...hang in there with the diet change,maybe his body is just processing the wet differently than the dry till he adjusts.Try to be very consistent for 3 or4 days on doses,schedule,amount you feed and type you feed( brand and flavor) etc.This has worked for me. Will keep my fingers crossed for you.
 
If he was more me, I think I'd increase. The numbers are high and don't seem to go down. An increase might help bring them down.

I'm not sure what the carb count is for what you're feeding now, but I will say I used friskies special diet. My girl was super sensitive to carbs so the lower carb count of special diet was helpful. They're roughly 5%. I use turkey and giblets and beef and chicken. Something to consider.

Remember this is your decision. Let us know how things are!
 
Thank you all.

I didn't know what to do. So I stuck with the 1.5u because I'm afraid of him going too low.

Today at +4 1/2 and +5 he stayed at 106. Weird.

I don't like the pre shot numbers either.

Today has been the first day that Hank is eating totally wet food. I'm feeding Friskies Pate. Probably the carb is 10% and under cause I am
doing a variety of flavors to see what he likes. Which is all and he wants Oscar's too! :smile:

Rachel, that's a good idea about the Friskies special diet cans. I'll pick some up. Thanks.

Should I go ahead and up the dose to 1.75u tomorrow morning?

I have to be at work at 1pm tomorrow till 6pm. I can check BG until 12:45pm.

Oh, as soon as I send this I'm going in to update my spreadsheet so please give me a few minutes before checking. Thank you.

Kimmie
 
You got a nice amps this morning and a blue nadir. Then it looks like he bounced up to pmps..... Up to you, Kimmie. I am wondering why the amps was good this am after several cycles of red ones. But he does have room to drop. If you can monitor tomorrow, an small increase should be okay?
 
Sue, maybe it is what I'm feeding him.

I had a big can of Friskies Poultry Platter (not sure what the second word was) that I divided between Oscar and Hank yesterday.

Before that to try and get Hank to eat the wet, I was giving him FF wet for kittens. I think I did that for a couple of feedings. I had 2 cans. Plus Hank was still getting some dry.

I guess I'll see what happens in the morning. Hanks PM +3 tonight was 366. So it's slowly going down.

I did give Hank about a teaspoon or a little more of FF beef feast for a snack before bed at about + 2 1/2 tonight.

Hank seems to be very hungry since I switched him to the wet food.

How do I know if he's getting enough food a day? I give him 1/2 can for breakfast, +2or+3 a snack, 1/2 can for dinner, +2 or+3 a snack again.

Still don't know what dose to do tomorrow morning. Guess I'll see what AMPS # is. I'm not going to be home for nadir at +6 AM. Oh, wait a minute, yes I will till 12:45pm. Ok so I can test before going to work and it will be a little over +6. Ok, that'll work. I know talking to myself. :?

Kimmie
 
Ok, Hank's AMPS number this morning...566! What the heck happened overnight???

Yep, I gave him 1.75u at 6:20am.

I'll see what happens.

I looked through my variety of canned wet food and found some special diet flavors and also some 9 Lives flavors. Both of these are around 4-5% on carbs. So I think I'll stick with those for awhile to see what happens.

As Joyce said, should I stick to one flavor for one day? Two? How are you doing it Joyce?

That morning number really surprised me! :sad:

I was expecting his numbers to really go down after switching to wet food. Not so, yet.

Ohhhh, where's those "patience pants"!!

Kimmie
 
Yes, I think you need to be patient. :-D sometimes the wet food makes the numbers drop overnight; sometimes they take awhile. And he is not making the big leap from a 40% carb dry to a low carb wet; he was on lower carb dry food so the chnage may not be so dramatic.

I don't know about this am's number. It looks like a bounce, but the one number last night doesn't look that low. And remember, it's just one number. I think the 1.75 was a good choice for the amps. I'd suggest wiggling into those patience pants and see what happens over the next few cycles. :mrgreen:
 
My goodness Kimmie!! That AMPS number is certainly a surprise! Are you sure you did not have a possible fur shot at PMPS? I saw that he did go down some at + 3 , but maybe if he wasn't eating then,it might have been a normal drop of his own. I would go easy on his food today,just in case and see what tonight brings. Like Sue said, you already had him on a low carb dry food for awhile,so you are not going to see a big change with the wet diet,but it is better for him in the " long run". Are you sure he doesn't have something else going on,like fever or gum inflammation from need of a dental? My Whitey' s number went up a couple weeks ago( look at SS) when he had a tooth problem,and a week later when teeth were cleaned,his numbers dropped right away,and now he hasn't had a shot for 3 days.Dont freak out,just try to breath and get to the bottom of it by observation and patience!I hope you are checking for ketones with number like that!! You know your kitty better than anyone,I will pray for the little guy! P.S...like I have said before,it is good to find one kind of wet food that he will eat and stick with it for awhile and FAIRLY consistent dosing , and schedule for at least a week at a time( with plenty of data) so you can see a realistic pattern somewhat. He is really keeping you on your toes,girl!Also,as Sue mentioned,it could just be a bounce!
 
Thanks Sue and Joyce,

Where are those "patience pants"! Somebody TOOK mine! :lol:

Hank is sleeping on the couch! He's been active today. I gave him a snack this morning. Sorry Joyce just saw your response AFTER I gave him snack.

I haven't checked for ketones in awhile. It's hard to catch him going to the litter box. I'll try tomorrow, on Thanksgiving.

I'll also try to look at his gums. But from what I've seen, his teeth look fine.

Hmmmmm, I think for right now I'm going with the 1.75u dose and try lower than low, carb wet food.

Stay tuned for "As the Hank Turns"! :lol:

Kimmie
 
Remember - human glucometers are not precise.
Whenever you get an usual number, re-test!
 
Thanks BJM.

I didn't even think about it, retesting. I have in the past though. I guess I didn't because Hank had such high numbers all day.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Kimmie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top