Number going up after giving insulin?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Dallas boy, Jul 19, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dallas boy

Dallas boy Member

Hello! This is the second time that Dallas's BG has gone up after giving insulin and we definitely aren't giving fur shots. Does anyone know what could be a reason for this? Also, how much data do we need in order to determine whether or not it's safe to shoot under 11.1? Should we be checking him more often? Thank you!!

2. Ann & Sister

Ann & Sister Member

If you can, also post this in the Lantus forum. While more peeps hang here, the insulin experts weigh in there. Hugs.

3. Dallas boy

Dallas boy Member

Oh I didn't know. I will! Thank you!! :)

4. Ann & Sister

Ann & Sister Member

5. Dallas boy

Dallas boy Member

I'm not sure what that means

6. Ann & Sister

Ann & Sister Member

Wendy&Neko can answer... :) I am a newbie.

Dallas boy likes this.
  7. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

Here is the definition of bouncing:
    Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).