Nudderbaby 2/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

TammieW

Member
Good Morning..

We are 399 for AMPS which is to be expected. He ate very good right away this morning but didn't eat through the night after we went to bed. He doesnt want to get out of bed and layed back down after breakfast. (he usually wants to go out).

He was a little snotty this morning which is new but I'm hoping its a start of breaking up everything that was in his lungs. Also, the Albuterol might make him sleepy it says so if he's too drowsy tonite I may take his dose down. His breathing is much better.

I'm supposed to give 1.0 this morning. What are your thoughts?
 
Good morning, ~O)

First thing... I think the AMPS actually look good being that he was at super low levels all day and into the night coupled with the fact that you gave high carb and gravy. I'm actually surprised the AMPS isn't hovering in the mid to high 400's, so this is good news to see.

As far as dosing, being that he went so low yesterday he may be more sensitive to the juice this morning. Will you be home to monitor him? How do you feel about the 1u? He may have been bouncing all over the place on the SS because we have not held a dose so it's hard to say...he may need to settle into a dose. We need to find a dose that brings him low but not too low that you can't shoot him the following cycle. He's a guy that can't afford to skip a shot.
 
I wont be home until about 5:30 this evening which will be near his 11+ so I think I'm more comfortable with the .5 as well.

Have a good day everyone. I'm off to the nuthouse.
 
Glad he's springing out of his crazy numbers this morning. I know he's glad to be home where he gets what he needs... and not too much! Hope it's the start of a really good day!
 
YAY, I found a vet that passed my initial grilling :-D

This is my daughters vet that has been very good to her.

He supports home testing AND an all wet diet. Doesnt require you to come in weekly for testing.
And he makes housecalls and has 24 hour emergency care. We have an appointment Saturday!
 
This has to be the worst Month in history for me. They just called the family of my friend to the hospital. It doesnt sound good.
 
That is great news about the vet. One less thing to have to worry about.

Sorry your friend doesn't look like she'll be improving. Now go be the friend you are and do/say what you need to to get through this difficult time.

God Bless!
 
Always good to have a supportive vet. Sorry about the family troubles. I guess i missed the "hypo" the other night. Glad to see Nudderbaby is getting back on track.
 
I feel bad that I wasn't able to go be with her family tonight. I felt really lame with the reason I had to get home. My heart breaks for them.

Nudderbaby is at 174 tonight. He's a little mellow and but I have a feeling the albuterol may have him that way. I'm waiting for him to eat to give his evening albuterol. Do you think he should get .5 tonight? I figure he will probably go up later.
 
Hi Tammie,
I am so osrry about your friend, they are in my prayers

Now for Nudderbaby, Did the .50 bring him to a pmps of 174?
Sorry I missed today
 
Wow, ok what are you thinking,
maybe .4, what is on your agenda tonight
can you test?
is the 174 at +12
 
Yeah the 174 is 11 hours because his dose was at 645 this morning. I tested him at 545 am but he didnt eat right away. I tested again tonight at 545 pm
 
If you haven't fed him already, can you hold off till +12 to see if he's rising, and then if you need to, shoot then?

Carl
 
He ate about 15 minutes ago. Their bowls were licked clean when I got home for the first time ever. Ill go ahead and retest him now.
 
well if that isnt fantastic news!!
he brought himself down to a non diabetic number all by himself!?!?!?

dont shoot and keep am eye on him

I am reading this correct?
 
Yep you did..not sure what to think except for the large dose he got yesterday. His low is usually around +6.

Heffer is coughing tonight now. I'm wondering if the cat litter is the culprit here. I have some of the clumping that I mix with the fresh step. Im thinking the clumping needs to go.
 
Not Good Grief! That is wonderful...he came down after eating! Just test him and see where he goes!
 
The vet from yesterday called me back today and left me a message after I called his numbers in this morning like he asked. His message is that he wants to change him to a longer acting insulin.

So how bout I give the vet a nice 2.5 dose and nothing to eat for 18 hours. mmm hmm
 
It is not the dose from yesterday. Prozinc is in and out of the body in 12 hours for most cats. But, even in extended duration cycles-- it doesn't last this long. Let's give the credit to his Pancreas working! That is wonderful News!

A longer lasting insulin :lol: looks like Prozinc is lasting plenty long for Nudderbaby!
 
Sorry if I sound like a moron but I want to make sure I am right

Nudderbaby ate and you did not shoot him up with insulin
and he dropped to 60 from 174 all by himself???!!!
 
I guess time will tell! I can only pray that his pancreas is working..that would be awesome. He cleaned his dish and is eating Heffer's now :lol: Serves her right for all the times she's snarfed his up.

I'm wondering if I should give him the albuterol tonight. This is new to me for a cat and I dont know how it affects their sugars. He's dosed at .35 cc bid. I only gave him .30 this morning because he wouldnt get out of bed when I did and the bottle says it may make them drowsy.
 
Denise,

Yup

5:45 pm (+11) 174

he ate some

6:45 pm (+12) 60

Told ya I still have some reading to do. I'm more worried about a hypo and you guys are practically jumping up and down..haha.

I'm not getting my hopes up but I can jump up and down if it will make his pancreas work.
 
ok you dont have to jump up and down,
I will freak out for you!!

\M/ :RAHCAT :YMHUG: dancing_cat flip_cat cat_pet_icon :YMPEACE: \M/

ok, now just keep an eye on him...and do test so you know how he is doing...
and if he rises, or if he continues to stay low...keep us posted often

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
I would test him again in 30 mins and see where he is--but, it looks good to me!

You might know this, but just in case....when a non diabetic cat eats and the food is introduced into the body, the pancreas reacts by producing insulin to rid the glucose from the blood. In a diabetic cat, after they eat, their blood glucose levels rise- because the pancreas is not capable of producing enough or any insulin to combat the sugar. So, when you see a cat eat and he did not recieve insulin and his numbers come down--that is a sign that the pancreas reacted to the food and produced insulin. That is why we are jumping up and down!!!
 
Tammie.

Before you use it... Please read this:
http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=0+1303+1469&aid=1371

Usual Dose and Administration
Dogs and Cats: 0.01-0.03 mg/pound by mouth every 8-24 hours. Duration of treatment depends on reason for treatment and response to treatment. For inhaler doses contact your veterinarian.
Side Effects
May see increased heart rate, tremors, excitement, restlessness, dizziness, or nervousness. These tend to be dose related and mild.
Contraindications/Warnings
Not for use in patients hypersensitive (allergic) to it.
Use with caution in patients with diabetes mellitus, hyperthyroidism, high blood pressure, seizures, heart disease, or abnormal heart rhythms.

I couldn't find anything that says it effects BG, but is specifically says use with caution on diabetic pets.
Carl
 
This applies to humans, but no info on whether it does to pets:

Metabolic side effects have included hypokalemia, and less commonly, hyperglycemia and lactic acidosis. Postmarketing reports have included metabolic acidosis. Diabetic ketoacidosis has been reported due to overdose of albuterol.
http://www.drugs.com/sfx/albuterol-side-effects.html
So apparently, it can raise BG. Which could give you an inflated number at test time, and lead you to believe he needs insulin, or a higher dose?

Yikes.

Ask the vet if there's a better med for the breathing problems, I think.

Carl
 
Sorry my Mom stopped by and Connie's family called me with an update.

Thank you for all of the information, that puts things in to perspective. He's eating now and I will test him a little bit afterwards like last time.

I havent given the albuterol yet. He's not having any difficulty breathing and no coughing tonight so far. The only other option is a bronchodilater.

I forgot to mention that the vet told me when I picked him up yesterday that he didnt test him for DKA and as a matter of fact he said they have never done any urine testing on him. Realllyyy....I was told he wasn't DKA the first time he was in.
 
:mrgreen: :RAHCAT :YMPEACE: \M/ :YMHUG: flip_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon party_cat drinking24 :mrgreen:

ok , not that I am too excited..but hhheeellllooo MR P!!!!

I will keep everything I have, and cross Shakes paws that this will continue!!!!
 
LOL. I love your icons too!

He was wheezin a little bit. I think I'll give him a half dose of the albuterol for tonight now that he's low so he doesnt stress in the middle of the night.
 
probably good idea
good luck tomight and I look forward to seeing his number tomorrow
anti-jinx...knock wood!
 
Wow, looks like Mr. P is still on the job. That's is super!

Carl
 
I dont even know what to think. I'm kind of afraid to go to bed.

He's eaten real good tonite, at least a can by himself and I'll put a little more out for him before we go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top