Nudderbaby 2/26

Status
Not open for further replies.

TammieW

Member Since 2012
Good Morning Everyone.
We seemed to have had an uneventful night. He woke me at 2:30 which was +8 from his shot and he was at 246. That didnt seem right based on earlier in the day so I took a sample from the other ear and got 256. Hmmm. So I tested myself to make sure the meter was reading right and it seemed to be. Kind of like getting different blood pressures out of each arm.

This morning he is only up to 289. He seems tired to me and didnt want to eat so I hand fed him 4 bites so we could get our day started. I tried playing with the string with him and he chased it a little and layed back down. Water and box seem to be consistent altho he may be slightly dehydrated from not eating much til yesterday.

I'm wondering if I should reduce him this morning since his number is lower or do we stay on the same dose?
 
Good morning! ~O)

You might want to be sure to include in your posts the AMPS (AM pre-shot) and PMPS (PM pre-shot) are not lined up with the shot times. For example, the PMPS last night shows 133, but you really shot after the 352 showing in the PM +2 time slot. If I hadn't read your notes, I would have thought you'd shot .6u on a 133 PMPS. And since we usually feed when we're giving shots, the +1 and +2 after a shot usually indicates food related BGs.

When we look at SSs, we assume AMPS and PMPS are the BGs before shots, and the +1, +2, etc are the hours after the shot. :smile:
 
I went ahead and gave him .4 this morning since he seems a little blah this morning. I will test him throughout the day to see how we do.

I got a call from a friend of mine's family. My friend has been in the hospital very ill for a few weeks now and they found she's had some strokes. I have been waiting to visit until the family gave their OK as her husband has only wanted family. They thought Friday was going to be her last day but she bounced back over night and has done a little better. The son called me today and asked if I would go see her tomorrow on my way home from work as the Dr.'s think she needs stimulation and the family thought it would help if a close friend came in and see how she responds.

I work in the same city where she is hospitalized and it's a few blocks from my work so it wont be out of the way but this is going to put our test and dose times off. I really feel that it is something I need to do. I may try to go during the day instead of after work (I dont usually take a lunch but this may be the time to do it) and maybe it would only put me off by half an hour to hour.

How do all of you handle things that take away from your kitties routine. Again, I am the only one who knows how to test and treat him, although my daughter will be here this afternoon and I will show her. She normally works the afternoon to evening shift but has Monday's off so she may be able to help me tomorrow.
 
Thanks Teresa. I will change it and leave the other readings in the notes. I changed the color code so I would recognize there is a difference in routine.
 
No problem...it's your spreadsheet and you can use it as you see fit. You just want others looking to understand the differences as it will effect advice. :-D

I am also the only one caring for Poop. While it hasn't happened often, there have been times when I've been late for a dose. The good thing about ProZinc/PZI is it is very forgiving about late doses. While we really don't want our kitties having a late dose due to higher numbers (because the insulin is gone by then), it won't cause other havoc (like depleting a shed and stuff like that). It will, however, mess with our schedule since we don't want to be shooting the next dose too early. But we still have a bit of wiggle room. I've moved Poopy's dose up 30 minutes before with no ill effects.

I hope that helps, and I hope your visit also helps. :-D
 
I think your instincts were good to lower your dose to .4u on a lower PS.

Prozinc is more flexible than other insulins so you can shoot a little late and make it back up later.

I hope your visit with your friend helps her, and even better if DD can start to help out too.
 
Thanks Robin. He is not acting as good as he did yesterday and still hasnt eaten. He went to his dish a few minutes ago but sniffed and walked away.

He wants to go out but I told him he had to wait until +2 to make sure it's ok. He's meowed a few times this morning, which he hasnt done much of since he was diagnosed. He used to meow all of the time and run in and out. I'm hoping we can get back to that point.

I'm concerned about the sodium content he had yesterday with the broth and ham. I'm wondering if I need to try giving him some water by syringe to make sure he's had enough fluids. I dont want him ending up with hypernatremia because that would require hospitalization for fluids.

On a good note, Heffer ate and drank this morning without being asked.
 
Do you add water to his food? You can get more fluids into them by adding water to the food and smashing it up into a soupy mix. My gang prefer their food that way.

The ups and downs can make them feel punky. Slowely as they get better their old habits will come back and you will be surprised at how profound it feels when it does.
 
Yeah I add broth and water. The water was disinteresting to both of them but the broth has helped a lot.

He finally went and ate real well so we're gonna test and go out to play :)
 
Nice number.
The reason I asked which insulin is because they aren't quite the same. Prozinc's website lists the duration of a dose between 10-14 hours. I have read (and experienced) that PZI has a shorter duration, like 8-10 or 12 hours. Bob was on PZI and usually got 10 hours from a dose, but that was more likely due to the way he was shot (IM) and may not have been that short if he got sub-q injections.

The earlier discussion, which made me ask the question, was because of the shot schedule might have to change so that you are able to visit your friend. And you have been trying to get back to a 6 am shot time so that it works with your work schedule best.

Other people have already said that Prozinc has some flexibility, and I agree completely. PZI even more so. Neither is totally dependent on a strict 12 hour dose schedule. If anything, I probably think that they are more flexible than most other people do.

I really don't think an hour either way makes a really big difference. If people have to shoot 11 hours apart, or 13 hours apart due to the rest of their days, I think it still works just fine. Bob was on PZI for 10 weeks. I can probably count on less than two hands the number of days he was dosed exactly 12 hours apart. It isn't he ideal way to shoot, but it is possible, and I don't really think the consequences are significant.

You have plenty of options.
1 - If you need to shoot later than normal, you can shoot a normal dose. Just keep in mind, if your next shot is going to be less than 12 hours away, that you would be shooting "early" in relation to this shot, so you can reduce the dose (for the next shot) a little bit.
"An early shot acts as a dose increase", so you just reduce a little bit tomorrow.

2 - If you need to shoot late tonight, and you plan on changing your schedule so that the next shot is 12 hours later tomorrow, then you can increase your dose (tonight) a little bit. This only applies if you plan on changing your schedule going forward, and you are going to keep it that way.
Tonight's shot would be a late shot (more than 12 hours since this morning's shot). "A late shot acts as a dose reduction", so you would increase the dose a little bit to compensate.

3 - As long as you are within an hour either way, you can just shoot your normal dose, and continue on your way. LIke I said, I think Prozinc has flexibility, and I don't believe that one hour either way really matters much at all.

Anyway, that's my opinion. I'm sure not everyone agrees, but that's sort of the point of "peer review", so I don't have any issue with it.

Carl
 
Carl thank you for all of that information, it helped me understand some things.

Tonite for PMPS we are at 164. No dose tonight. He has only eaten twice today. I'm going to have to bake him a cake before bed.. ;-)
 
wow, he got a lot of use out of that .4 dose, didn't he? Great numbers today.

Tuna cake with Friskee's Pate icing? Yum! Low carb delight!

Carl
 
:lol: If he'd eat it I'd make it. I cooked more for him this weekend than I have the entire week for my husband. I do tease him that he's going to be on a FF diet soon also.
 
haha....tell him "It's just a new recipe I saw on The Health Channel today in between tests, honey"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top