Nudderbaby 2/20 pmps 383

Status
Not open for further replies.

TammieW

Member
Good Afternoon/Evening.

Well I didnt get any help from family or hubby during the day to give me progress reports but I came home a little early and his BS are 383. We had a tough time getting a sample

Feel bad for the poor thing. Had to start wrapping him in a towel this morning to get him to stay.

He didnt eat any of his food today that was left from this morning. He was 366 this morning and gave 1u. Any help on how to proceed would be appreciated. We are now one week diagnosed diabetic. I did not call the Vet today. He does have appt for one week ck tomorrow afternoon but I'd like to cancel that until I get him on track.
 
I dont like that he hasnt eaten...
Unfortunately we dont know how low he went today to judge if you
should go up or down...
If you shoot 1 unit tonight can you get a couple of numbers so youknow what is happening
at say +4 and +6 or something like that, and he he isnt going low at all you can raise tomorrow morning
BEfore you shoot he has to eat though, do you think he will eat dinner?
 
He ate about an 1/8 of a cup of Purina DM. He was definitely interested in eating when I put it down.
 
Dry cat food is called kitty crack here.
We suggest a wet food diet, and usually when someone changes from dry to wet
there is a decrease in BG levels
A lot of us feed Fancy Feast or Friskies.
Please check out Janet and Binky's chart on the home page
(sorry I am computer illierate or I would paste the link)
that tells you the pretein fat and carbs
You want a low Carb wet food.
There are kitties that go into remission just from changing foods
I am not saying that yours will but sometimes it helps a lot
 
If you are going to up I would up by .25 and get some numbers on him
tonight so you know what is happening
 
Yes, ditch the dry DM. My vet insisted on it also. I think, if I remember correctly that it is 18 percent carb. That is not a lot of carbs for a dry food--but, still way too many. Many wet foods are less than 5 percent carb for a comparision. I feed NO foods with more than 5 percent carbs. IF, he will only eat dry, the DM is not a bad choice as you transition him over to wet. EVO makes the lowest carb dry foods. Some dry foods have in excess of 30 to 35 percent carbs.

BE careful! If you change foods from dry DM to Wet low carb-- you could immediately need less insulin. I would transition the food slowly and test, test, test. Food change can create dramatic drops in BG levels-- and you must be prepared to suddenly drop your Prozinc dose.
 
I had to eyeball it because the syringes I was given dont have .25 units. I know I should probably test him again tonite. How long do I wait? I really need to do some reading. I am so anxious tonight because I want him to start feeling better. He's supposed to go to the vet for his one week ck tomorrow afternoon but I don't really want to take him for fear that they will want to keep him and I'll be right back where we started this weekend.
 
I understand your fears, I think we have all been there,
but knowing what I know now, I would never leave my cat at the vet for a curve
or for them to try to "regulate" them
When any cat goes to the vet the stress will elavate their BG.
Quick story
In the beginning, before I found this site, my then vet, told me I had to leave shakes afor a couple of
days because his sugars were really high. At this point Shakes was on 3 units, so I trusted him and left
when I picked him up 2 days later he told me he was giving Shakes 5 units 2x a day....
(Shakespeare has previously hypod at home on 3.5 units)
If i had listened to that vet Shakespeare would not be here today...

Moral of the story...If the vet does not trust you, you should not trust your vet..
This relationship needs to be a 2 way street.
Now I would get a +4 and +6 tonight if you can so you know what is happening
If you want you could always cancel tomorow and make it for say next week when you are feeling more
confident and hopefully Nudderbaby is doing better...just a thought
 
Well he's definitely not a dog and doesn't like to ride in the car :)

I know after I dropped him off I read that their BS tend to elevate when they are not in
a similar environment so I'm not surprised that he changed so quickly when we go home.

Since Heffer wants to hog his food before she touches hers, it has been a little of a battle.

I also agree with switching to wet food but wonder if I should wait until he is a little more regulated
before switching??
 
Switching the food could get him regulated :mrgreen:
the higher carb dry food will keep him elevated :mrgreen:
 
Start changing the food now. Just be careful and do it gradually, as it can make a tremendous difference in the amount of insulin needed.
 
Tammie -

If you have the U40 needles like I got from my vet, it was really hard to tell .5 from .25, from anything. You can take a fine point sharpie and mark between the lines on the needle - that helped me (along w/ reading glasses and a light behind it to make sure there weren't any air bubbles). 'Anyways, there are other needles you can get, but depending on the dose you're giving, they may or may not be worth your while. For doses of 1 or 1.5 units, the line might be sufficient. Then if you want to divide that again, you can get 1.25 identified.

I've been giving .2 or .4 units to my guy. This is REALLY REALLY small, so I've changed to the U100 needles. If you need to reduce to something that is visually impossible to do on the U40s, the U100s can be a big help. However, YOU MUST use a conversion chart, as Prozinc is designed for U40 needles and the lines for the doses represent different quantities.

I would suggest you mark the needles for a couple of days and see how that dose is working. If you want to change needles, just pick up a bag and try them, but store them separately and be VERY VERY CAREFUL when you use them. It helps to print out the conversion chart and hang in on your fridge.

http://felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

Lu-Ann
 
One more thing...I agree with Denise on the Vet! Cancel the appointment! I canceled one today for my Diabetic Dog Sally, and I really like the vet-- But, She wanted me to increase her dose last week by 2 units. I only increased 1 unit, so I just canceled for today and told her I would call them back to reschedule. :mrgreen:
 
Thank you for all of your input. I am going to run to the dollar store and see if they have the FF. I will report back shortly with what I got so I know how to move forward with his feeding.

He's always enjoyed a nibble from the table once in a while so I dont think I'll have a problem getting him to eat the canned food.

BRB
 
During the food change, I would suggest sticking with the one unit. Wet food can really make a difference. When we switched Oliver from dry to wet, he went down 100 points overnight.
 
Maybe this will work for you.....

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html

You want to feed low carb!

Please see Sue's post above regarding the difference that changing from dry to wet low carb made in her Oliver's BG. You need to be prepared to lower your insulin dose when making the change...I can't emphasis that enough!
 
I forgot my phone on my way out the door so when I got to the store, imagine my surprise when it didnt say Carb anywhere on the can! haha

I did good tho because I bought all Classic. I noticed the Fish and Shrimp are higher in protein than the other flavors.
 
Sue,
Do you suggest that I give him some of this tonite? He ate about 1/8 of a cup of the Purina DM about an hour and a half ago.
 
Yes, now that you are testing, you'll be able to stay on top of his numbers. I would throw out the Purina and start with the FF.

It took me months before I could go to the store without having a printout of Binky's chart with me. :mrgreen:
 
Ok. Now I see I didnt get all Classic. The Fish and Shrimp is Flaked and higher in Crude Protein than the others. I also have a couple of Grilled which has the same Crude protein as the classic.

The higher the protein and fiber the better? Or is something else in there going to cancel it out?


I am going to have to get a magnifying glass to be able to read these labels :lol:
 
It's unfortunate we have the luxury of seeing the content spelled out on people food, but your pet isn't so lucky. Janet & Binky's list, and some others referenced here are SOOO helpful!

Our local grocery store has a combo pack w/ 24 cans of 3 different varieties... actually two different combos. That sure beats 24 cans rolling all over your cart or basket, but I tried a variety. Grayson's stomach didn't care for the beef, so the others in the household were kind enough to accomodate! But today in Walmart, I noticed they have the 12 pk cans of several different individual flavors. See what he likes best, and go from there. I was advised not to overload him on the seafood flavors.

Lu-Ann
 
I put the Chicken down for him and he sniffed it and licked a little bit but doesnt seem too interested yet.

I know if I let Heffer back inside it will be gone in a gulp...
 
Sometimes it helps to chop it up a little and add some warm water to make it kinda soupy. You can add Parmesan cheese or tuna juice or a low carb snack as a "dressing".
 
Also, if he just ate an hour and a half ago he may not be hungry.

Poopy won't eat food fresh from the can without me having to break it up and mix in any oils or "gravy" it may have (none of the foods I buy actually have gravy). He's not spoiled. Nah. Not at all! :lol:
 
Down to 340 at +4 and he's eating the canned food. We're all pooped and going to bed. Praying for a good morning!
 
Tammie,

Sometimes my cat, copper, doesn't want to eat the 0% carbs so i crumble some of the freezed dried chicken treats(pure bites) in his food and he goes crazy over it and eats everything up in a heartbeat. It's something about those freeze dried treats that drive them insane. I can shake the bag and both cats come running from everywhere. It's funny to see.

Hoping Nudderbaby gets regulated soon! We use all the FF classics under 5%carbs too. Copper's BG dropped over 100pts going from dry food to FF in a day. It works good. Just a FYI, try to limit the seafood's to only 2x/week. It's hard because they really like it and it's high in protein.

Your doing GREAT!!! Keep up the good work.

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top