Now Lucy low PMPS.

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Member Since 2011
Well here we are at 184 PMPS. So I won't shoot tonight. I just fed her, should I check in an hour and see? What should I DO?
 
Could you shoot 2 hours later tomorrow morning? If so, you can test in 2 hours and if she is over 200, shoot a little bit less than you did this morning. Skipping the shot sets you back every time you do it, just when she is building momentum.

Next time, ignore the ankle biting and wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If your number is over 200 in 20 minutes, then you can shoot and only be 20 minutes late.
 
It can be hard, waiting to feed to test again, because the hungry monsters are used to poke, food, shot. I give Poopy a fresh chicken chunk (which he adores!) to tide him over between tests. It's not enough to effect his BGs and it's a treat to him (he only gets them after pokies). It also keeps him from nawing at my ankles. :lol:

It also helps keep his shots on track time wise. A 20 minute (or even 40-60) later shot can quickly be set back to our normal time frame.
 
The very FIRST thing you should do when you see a preshot number like 184 is smile, then do a happy dance!


Then, you do what others have said. You protect your ankles and test again in 20-30 minutes without feeding to see if the number will come up above 200 (or whatever your "no shoot" line in the sand is). Then you shoot a reduced dose since the number is much lower than normal.

Shooting a lower dose a little bit late is a better alternative than skipping completely, because you want to have insulin in her system for as many hours of a day as possible. And with Prozinc, strictly adhering to a 12 hour schedule is not as critical as with other insulin types. If it's only 20, 30 or even 60 minutes late, you can most likely get right back on track with the next shot.

Carl
 
ARRGGHH I neglected to select the "notify me when reply is posted" box at the bottom of my post, therefore I didn't even get to read all these timely suggestions until this moment when I decided to look at the PZI board before closing my computer.

I missed out on the timing tonight. I wish we hadn't skipped, but I'm so new to this I didn't have a backup plan.

I'm going to let her sleep and skip the poke, test in the morning and I'll be back for more advice.

And I DID smile when I saw her preshot reading of 184! However, that was followed by a freakout!
 
No worries. One skipped shot is no big deal. And she is responding well and giving you good numbers. Have a nice, quiet night. Wasn't it Scarlett who said tomorrow is another day? Or was it Annie? :mrgreen:

Remember that she is likely to be high in the am, but it isn't a "true" number. It's because she had her last shot 24 hours before. So reduce a smidgen from the last shot.
 
Not a problem, and now you know what to try next time.:-) A night off is a good thing once in a while!

Carl
 
Lol, nope, Annie just said "love ya tomorrow" Beatle George was the real deep-thinker..."yesterday, today was tomorrow. And tomorrow, today will be yesterday" :-)
Night all
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top