Jack and Jenell
Member
My boy Jack was diagnosed with diabetes in January. My vet started him on oral meds but then Jack ended up with DKA and pancreatitis and was hospitalized for 3 nights in February. Jack came home on Prozinc 1 unit BID, but was still in the 400s-500s, so after a week we increased his dose to 1.5 units BID. His BG was better - AMPS/PMPS 300s with a nadir ranging from 90-140. This has been the case for the past 3 weeks and he has been doing great. Then on Tuesday in the span of 12 hours he stopped eating and ended back in the hospital for another 4 nights with DKA and triaditis. Jack turned the corner and the ER vet started him on an oral steroid and an oral chemo med (for what they thought could be lymphoma but could not confirm even with an aspirate). Due to the steroid, Jack's Prozinc was increased to 4 units BID. Because he has lost weight due to the DKA the vet also said he needs to be eating at least 3 cans of Fancy Feast a day. I brought Jack home yesterday and his PMPS registered Hi - over 600. So he got his insulin. This morning his AMPS was 296 (better!) so he got his shot. I've been checking him today and he has only gone up:
AMPS 296 Prozinc 4 u
+2 429
+4 564
I'm a nurse and feel like we are drowning here. His appetite is great but I'm terrified of his extremely high numbers. I've spent thousands at the veterinary hospital and don't think he or I can do it a third time. What do I do???
AMPS 296 Prozinc 4 u
+2 429
+4 564
I'm a nurse and feel like we are drowning here. His appetite is great but I'm terrified of his extremely high numbers. I've spent thousands at the veterinary hospital and don't think he or I can do it a third time. What do I do???