Now Im a bit worried!

Status
Not open for further replies.

terriy

Active Member
I'm starting to get a little worried. I know that Ive only been keeping a spreadsheet for a short time. SHAME ON ME!! Chicken has had diabetes for a year and a half and I did not realize how serious that it could be!! Well you look at her SS and she is usually in the 300's. Now I find out that being that high can cause organ damage!! And also she seems to be walking funny. Nothing that I can put my finger on or say for sure and it could be just from being overweight. I keep watching every move she makes and every step she takes and when she lays down and when she gets up and when she jumps off something. I touched her legs today and I could tell that she could feel me touching them and she did not like it so she pulled away. However I'm still worried about that because something just seems off. She don't seem to bend the legs when she walks. They look kinda like stilts. That's the best way I can explain how she looks. I did see her raise them up while she was preening. The vet says that she needs a dental and I scheduled that today at the vet for next Friday. Maybe I should have him look at her legs while she is there or get him to give her some other test?? He said that I cant feed her after nine the night before and to inject her with only 1 unit on Friday morning if her BG is high enough. I don't feel to good about that either. It was my understanding - no food - no shoot!! I'm just working myself into worry frenzy about these issues! confused_cat
 
The reason for no food is because he's probably going to sedate her for the dental. If you don't feel comfortable giving insulin that morning, then don't and let him know that when you arrive. Better safe.

You could ask about neuropathy although I don't know if there's a specific test for that. Also ask if they've checked her potassium level recently. Low potassium can cause muscle weakness, but there are supplements for that.
 
Terri, for dental work they will sedate CL.
I work in the medical field & we always tell our patients no food or water the night before & no diabetic medicine either. I know cats are different, but feline diabetes is very similar to human diabetes.
If you are not comfortable with no food no insulin then do that.

If it were me...I wouldn't give Baxter insulin if he couldn't eat for 8-9 hrs.

We can help you with the schedule so CL doesn't have to go that long without insulin.

Yes, it sounds like CL could be experiencing some neuropathy. It's do to high BG numbers...it deteriorates the muscles. Some cats begin to walk really flat footed. You can give Methyl B-12, but you need to make sure it's for cats & doesn't have any forms of sugar or sugar substitute in it. No sugar alcohol either. Some companies are good about using a different name for sugar. There are many different names.

Yes, high BG can damage the organs & cause health problems like blindness etc. so it's important to get the right dose & get the BG numbers down. It's also, important to get the BG test so you can find the right dose.
Which we can help you with all of that. :-D

Don't worry you have us! :YMHUG:
 
Where can I get Methyl B-12? Should I get it from the vet? Can someone tell me the brand I should be buying? I dont want to make a mistake with this and I want to get her on it as fast as possible.
 
I feel like I opened a can of worms for you when I posted that worried post about Simon yesterday! I hope I did not get your mind working overtime. I had an emotional day yesterday at work cause one of my clients committed suicide so I was very raw and emotional.

I know that we are working hard to get CL and Simon regulated Terri. That is all we can do. Love them, feed them the right food and make sure we test and give them the insulin. This community is here to help us. You are also raw right now cause you just lost George, your civvie baby and so your emotions are probably running high. Just sending you a big hug! :YMHUG: Give CL some pets and scratches from me too! cat_pet_icon
 
I found a website that said that it is for diabetic cats. Its called LifeLink.com and the pills are called Zobaline? It sounds like a good product. Can someone check it out and see what they think before I order any? This is the overview: This is all that the site will allow me to copy and paste. Will someone please go to the site and look at the label and tell me what they think?

Diabetes afflicts animals as well as humans, so it’s not surprising that cats can also suffer from diabetic neuropathy.1 As in humans, diabetes in cats is caused either by inadequate production of insulin by the pancreas (Type 1 diabetes) or by impaired response of cells to insulin (Type 2 diabetes). Although diabetes can strike cats of any age, it occurs most often in older, fatter animals. Diabetic neuropathy in cats is characterized by symptoms such as progressive weakness in the hind legs and walking on the hocks (the back part of the legs) rather than on the toes.2 Cats so afflicted become incapable of climbing stairs or trees and lose the ability to jump to higher surfaces. Often they can’t take more than a few steps without the hind legs sliding out from under them. Cats with neuropathy also seem to tire quickly and tend to rest more often after taking short walks.

Many cat lovers are treating their diabetic pets with Zobaline.2 One 3 mg tablet of methylcobalamin administered once per day is reported to reverse most or all of the symptoms of feline diabetic neuropathy within a few weeks.3 Although Zobaline is intended as a sublingual supplement for humans, cats aren’t likely to tolerate any attempts at sublingual administration! Fortunately, Zobaline seems to work fine when given the same way as any other pill to these animals. Although LifeLink is not in the veterinary business and cannot promote the use of Zobaline for veterinary purposes, we’re proud that Zobaline has been singled out as a useful supplement for cats (and their humans).

For more information about methylcobalamin, see the accompanying article about the use of methylcobalamin in humans.

Thanks bunches!
 
OH my goodness Joyce, I am so sorry to hear about your client. You yourself have had a rough week. Life is so hard sometimes!! I learned a lot from your post, things that I did not know and needed to know. I've been worried for sometime about the way CL was walking but I chalked it up to old age and just the normal things that happen when you get old. Now I know that it is a lot more than just that. I have to thank you for that post!!! I would have continued to think that way and may have missed a chance to get her some help!! I did not realize how important a lot of things are! SO I OWE YOU A BIG THANK YOU! I needed the eye opener!! \M/
 
I would definitely ask the vet to check out CL for neuropathy and other possible issues with her legs. Here is some more info on it: Neuropathy

The thing that helps neuropathy the most is to get the bg levels regulated. Which you have done. Her numbers since you started your spreadsheet are beautiful. She has been in regulated numbers since you started posting here. I don't know if she could be reacting with neuropathy due to higher levels earlier, but it is certainly something to check out with your vet.
 
That's the one I get for Baxter for lifelink. You can get shots from the vet, but you have to take them to the vet regularly to get them & plus it doesn't stay in the system very long.
 
Thanks so much Sue I did not realize that she was regulated! Shows you how much I still don't understand. Makes me feel a lot better. I tried to get some of that stuff at the health food store today however they only have it in a dose the size of godzilla for humans! I'll have to order it. Before I do, should I wait until I take her to the vet next Friday? Will it hurt her if I give it to her and she does not have neuropathy? I dont want to do anything thats going to hurt her however if she needs to be on it and I have to order it then I don't want to wait around either. I've read everything about it that Sue gave me and also from the internet and from other post and I still cant figure out if she has it or its just "old age and Im to fat" problems. I try and get her to play but she turns her nose up at every toy I buy. She only seems to be interested in hunting the real mccoy outside. She was a indoor cat only but recently Ive been letting her out on the porch so that she at least gets some form of exercise. She caught a mole about two weeks ago and that thrilled her to no end but she almost killed it and I was not so thrilled about it so Ive been keeping a good eye on her. She is also very interested in the chipmonks but has not caught one yet. This is about all the exercise I can get out of her!! Please advise
 
You can give her the stuff on that site I gave you - it doesn't hurt even if she doesn't have neuropathy and whatever is not absorbed goes out in the urine.

We generally consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 250s at preshot and in blues and double digits at nadir but not below 40.
 
With Neuropothy they start walking on their hocks, the long flat bottom of their leg instead of their toes.

Stiff legged walking sounds more like Arthritis. The vet can probably tell you which it is.

If it's Arthritis ask for Adequin, it is an injectable and made a world of difference for Harley.
 
Ok Thanks everyone! Im going to get off this subject! I'll think up something else to worry about soon Im sure!
 
I goofed Terri. I mixed up your spreadsheet with Ceecees. CL is getting very nice numbers but she is not yet in the regulated range. But close! Sorry.
 
That's o.k. I'm not going to worry. I know that we are getting there! I've got the best of the best helping me!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top