NOW I AM WORRIED

CORKY

Member Since 2023
@Suzanne & Darcy
I need Corky BG's reviewed it has now been two days of high greens and to my eyes too many blues!. nothing has changed, every detail in Corky's life has been the same, I even tested tonight for KETONES "NEGATIVE', this last vial I opened on 03/05 as noted in remarks is when I have been noticing changes, this was the last vial that from the shipping catastrophe I went thru with Chewy, but this last vial seemed or looked ok. Was I wrong? should I discard and start a new vial? I am not liking the pattern , need some input, I was not expecting a 104 BG tonight prior to shot, I am concerned, I touched the tip of his ear as his vet taught me to detect fever, the tips are normal if not cold, from the AC.. good pooping good peeing as well, any input would be great please😟
 
It’s not time to get upset over Corky’s numbers yet. Look at his AMPS today and compare with the last week’s AMPS. Look at several of the of the mid-cycle tests from today and compare to the past week. Many of them are very similar. His PMPS for the last two days does seem slightly up, but not a lot. We need to be patient with Corky and see how everything continues to go. If he were getting ill, you would probably start seeing a really noticeable trend into higher numbers— like last time he was sick. I definitely do not think that a couple of numbers that are very slightly higher (although a different color — they are still only very slightly higher) is an indication that your new ProZinc vial is bad. Hang in there and let’s give Corky the Champ a little more time before we act! Corky, we are counting on you! It’s going to be all right, Maria!
 
It’s not time to get upset over Corky’s numbers yet. Look at his AMPS today and compare with the last week’s AMPS. Look at several of the of the mid-cycle tests from today and compare to the past week. Many of them are very similar. His PMPS for the last two days does seem slightly up, but not a lot. We need to be patient with Corky and see how everything continues to go. If he were getting ill, you would probably start seeing a really noticeable trend into higher numbers— like last time he was sick. I definitely do not think that a couple of numbers that are very slightly higher (although a different color — they are still only very slightly higher) is an indication that your new ProZinc vial is bad. Hang in there and let’s give Corky the Champ a little more time before we act! Corky, we are counting on you! It’s going to be all right, Maria!
So then I should start a new vial tomorrow? If so I will call Chewy and request replacement
 
When is his last snack before p.m. shot time?

Perhaps Corky is going to take 5-6 days to adjust to daylight savings time…. like I read that it takes people to adjust!
 
84 @ 8:30pm, feel better when it comes to Corky I panic quite fast, I can help other mommie and daddies get their fur babies better, bu Corky makes melt all over the place!! You already know me enough! We’ll be ok! 😉🌹😊
 
are you feeding wet can or raw? When transitioned to these they do not poop every day, most likely every 2-3 days because there’s no waste in the food, also are you giving MiraLax? This is over the counter 1/4 tsp in the food morning and night till he’s back to normal then at least once a week both Corky and Coco have a history of constipation,
 
are you feeding wet can or raw? When transitioned to these they do not poop every day, most likely every 2-3 days because there’s no waste in the food, also are you giving MiraLax? This is over the counter 1/4 tsp in the food morning and night till he’s back to normal then at least once a week both Corky and Coco have a history of constipation,
He eats fancy feast pates only. He gets Mirilax daily & I've recently added in psyllium husk & I've also started giving slippery elm every night. He was fine, no constipation at all until his last pancreatitis flare. We've been on this journey for over 6yrs now, he's 14yrs old now. He's pooping now just not as regular as he used to before the last pancreatitis flare.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
I am lost at this point, I changed the vial of PZ for yesterday's PMPS am I seeing what's not there? I haven't seen a BG in the 60+for a while now, low/mid 70s either, all my eyes sees are high 80's and 90 in the majority of his BG's, I want him back were he was, how do I do that??I know the numbers he's at are safe numbers, but still, not what it was, is it that his system got used to this dose ?, I do not want to whine, but I cannot help it every time I test and see no improvement; You have taught me so much and to do on my own for Corky, but when it comes to dosing, or perhaps see what's not really there, I have gotten so used to seeing low greens throughout the day every day, I'm having a hard time concentrating in anything but the SS:(😟
 
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I know you'd rather I wait for Suzanne, I am about to PMPS? can you look at Corky's SS after reading post #16 above, he's not where he normally is, I know that increasing is not the answer either, Since January 12th I have been receiving from Chewy insulin without ice, back to back, the first there vials were crystalized, the forth I kept it was not crystalized kinda cold, I opened that vial on 03/06 since that day his BG has not been the same, then yesterday after AMPS I discarded that vial, and opened a new one for yesterday's PMPS, again the shipment was not iced, but kinda cold not crystalized, but the numbers have not improved, could the insulin perhaps lost its strength, in Miami we have 85-89 degree weather, just got a new vial this morning, is in the fridge. should I fatten the dose a bit to see if I see a change? it's been an ordeal with Chewy since 01-12, the complaint has been made, they are aware of the issue, but in the meantime Corky's BG is not the same, any input would be highly appreciate it I am feeding now I'll hold the dose for 15 minutes in case I get an input, I am frustrated
 
You had a nadir of 69 today. How much lower are you wanting to go? Are you wanting to do an increase in insulin. If so, just test carefully to make sure he doesn’t go below 50.
 
You had a nadir of 69 today. How much lower are you wanting to go? Are you wanting to do an increase in insulin. If so, just test carefully to make sure he doesn’t go below 50.

not if you feel is not the right thing to do, I really assume that since started to get bad insulin from Chewy, I am paranoid, and seeing his SS wrong, or not how I should, I do not want him to get anywhere near hypo, even though I will catch it way before, I just do not understand that during the day I see very high 80s and 90s, it must be my eyesight being so used to seeing lower, that I am panicking for nothing. This crap with the insulin has me messed up, here is the last email I received from Chewy, after 3 months of complaints, speaking to Corporate and legal action. I was promised a change, and they refunded DCIN for all the bad vials, I fought for that!
 
here is the email from Chewy, Thanks, venting now, what really has me blind and paranoid is the issue with the insulin, like I am waiting for the next shot to go totally wrong
On Wed, Mar 11, 2026 at 1:21 PM Kara Gameon <kgameon@chewy.com> wrote:
Hello Maria,
I have reported your issue to the manufacturer and your case number is 2026-0311TG9F.
If you have anything else to report to Boehringer Ingelheim, feel free to contact them at 1-800-243-0127 and provide that case number.
If you have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to call us.
I hope you and Corky have a good day.
Kara Gameon, PharmD, Corporate office
Pharmacist II Area Manager | SDF9 Pharmacy

kgameon@chewy.com | 877-977-3879
3621 Fern Valley Rd. Louisville, KY 40219
 
You could try a fattening of the dose first to see if it gets you closer to the numbers you would like to see. Then if not, after waiting a minimum of three days, you could go ahead with a full increase to 1.75.
 
2 1/2 hour after shot from PMPS 91 to 101, see how I feel something is not right with this freaking insulin? I take back my indecision, Suzanne please help me define this, there's no fever, tip of ears are cold, no fever present, peeing just fine, pooping fine, schedule feeding, everything is the same, except the BG's after the issue with the insulin, please! help me I can't think of anything else, this is not normal, or am I obsessing? should I fat dose in the morning and see if the Bg regulates better or just ignore? I cannot make sense of anything when I tests, I am sorry!
 
Thanks ! Will do I will fatten next AMPS wait 3 days and take it from there I will keep you posted, have a great weekend, by the way how’s Diane? Have not heard from her
 
Looking better with the fat dose but as before I’m afraid to say it out loud, I believe it has to do with a dental issue, her breath is horrible, and I cannot afford dental I started a fat dose but is really not helping too many 90’s
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
The fat dose is not working, looking back, after 2 hours of shot Corky's BG has not decrease but increased, I am terrified to take him to the Vet, my instincts tells me is a dental problem, and if it is I cannot afford but the vets visit, and I am really afraid I will lose him to anesthesia and dental work, it is not Ketones because I have been testing him even though he has never had Ketones, I've thought that could be it, I am so confused after 4 years more now than at the beginning of diagnosed
 
This morning he went from 116 to 72
Yes I know, but that is what's so disconcerting, he's always been in the 70's and low 80's between +5 to +7 , i those darn blues that keep bothering me, I will just continue to give him the 1.5F I need to stop obsessing, is making me sick, thank you is my insecurities that has me this way, because of the bad vials of insulin. sorry to bother so much about this. I need to stop is making me sick. Have a good night 🌹 🌹 ❤️ ❤️
 
I do see PERHAPS some subtle changes in his numbers. It isn’t time to panic. Why don’t you do the full .25 unit increase to 1.75 units.

If you think that he needs to be seen by the vet then you should take him in. Do you notice him turning his head when he eats or otherwise eating in a different way?

Don’t worry too much about him having to have a dental procedure (if the vet thinks it’s necessary). I have had many many cats undergo dental cleanings and extractions and I’ve never lost one yet. They will do pre-anesthesia bloodwork to make sure he is a good candidate for anesthesia.

Just last Friday, I had a dental procedure on one of my cats. He had two teeth extracted. He had stitches. He probably will need more extractions in the future. He was eating dinner by the time he returned home on the day of the dental. Unfortunately, it cost me a little over $600 with bloodwork.

I always get nervous whenever my cats undergo anesthesia, but just make sure that all precautions are taken. Now…. Having said all that… did the vet say Corky’s teeth were bad?
 
Yes I know, but that is what's so disconcerting, he's always been in the 70's and low 80's between +5 to +7 , i those darn blues that keep bothering me, I will just continue to give him the 1.5F I need to stop obsessing, is making me sick, thank you is my insecurities that has me this way, because of the bad vials of insulin. sorry to bother so much about this. I need to stop is making me sick. Have a good night 🌹 🌹 ❤️ ❤️
It’s not a bother. I love you and Corky. See my reply above. I think you can take him up to 1.75. I do hope he doesn’t have anything going on besides just a mild change in insulin needs. I think it’s good that you are so watchful.
 
He’s eating just fine no head turning, I’m sitting right in front of him while he’s eating, I know exactly how he ticks to the seconds, and that is what’s so upsetting ,he actually eats with pleasure, the vet did say he needs cleaning nothing more but is $500. I don’t have it I put the money that was left from the law suit, on a money market, if I extract any of that now I will lose 1/4 of it on penalties, and what I kept in the bank for me as extra is gone everything is so expensive I’m back to work with just my monthly retirement which after bills and rent I’m lucky if I’m left with . For the month. I’m not going to get ahead of myself, Monday I’ll call DCIN to see if they can help with that, they they help me back last May with the vet bills, I’ll increase for AMPS to 1.75 and we will see if he’s numbers improve. Thanks Suzanne have good night
 
Last edited:
He’s eating just fine no head turning, I’m sitting right in front of him while he’s eating, I know exactly how he ticks to the seconds, and that is what’s so upsetting ,he actually eats with pleasure, the vet did say he needs cleaning nothing more but is $500. I don’t have it I put the money that was left from the law suit, on a money market, if I extract any of that now I will lose 1/4 of it on penalties, and what I kept in the bank for me as extra is gone everything is so expensive I’m back to work with just my monthly retirement which after bills and rent I’m lucky if I’m left with $100. For the month. I’m not going to get ahead of myself, Monday I’ll call DCIN to see if they can help with that, they they help me back last May with the vet bills, I’ll increase for AMPS to 1.75 and we will see if he’s numbers improve. Thanks Suzanne have good night
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Back
Top