NOW 475 Thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
OK so I controlled myself - seeing 430 I wanted to shoot 3.00 he seems to feel so punk but I didn't - I held back I will admit it was a "fat" 1.50 but it was 1.50 so we'll see how that goes. Thoughts, encouragement, anything?
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

That was probably a good choice. You don't know what made him go so high; food, a bounce ... They say not to shoot the bounce number - just stay the dose. Let's see where it takes him.

Hope you've been getting a little rest lately.
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

Yes, thanks I did rest yesterday - had to run into work early today for an issue and got stuck there late so that was problematic - didn't get much testing in for Robbie - his daddy bean stopped by at lunch and tested him and I got home as quick as I could to test and get his 7:30 pm shot in. I hate how unhappy he looks.
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

I know how you feel when our animals look sad. I feel that sadness and frustration that i can't do anything to make it better. It will get better, hang in there!!! You are doing great!
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

I think I might give it one more day, and if you don't see some downward movement on the PS numbers, or the nadir numbers, I'd think about increasing. You did the right thing by cutting way back - you had to know. What you are saying about how he looks and acts tells me he's not liking the high and flats. Ketones okay?

Carl
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

thanks everyone - Carl I can't check his Ketones - still trying to figure out how to get some pee from him that's not in a clump - any thoughts? I have to read more on how everyone tests. He won't even pee with me coming close to him - I tried to back when he was first DX and he literally ran out of the box peeing... Anyway, that's what worries me - what's going on with him with all these 300's and 400's? He's at 344 now an hour later...
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

There are at least two companies that sell meters that test ketones in the blood. I have a Nova Max Plus, because Bob was impossible to test from the litter box samples. The strips are outrageously expensive though. They pretty much will give the meters away - I've seen promotions where it's "get the meter free". The meter also can test BG (different strips), so it served as my backup for BG tests. The ketone strips weren't available locally, so had to buy them online, and they can cost anywhere between $2 and $5 each, depending on where you can find them. Sometimes on Ebay, sometimes direct from Walgreens.

The other tricks are to substitute aquarium gravel for litter (won't soak it up), or hide some saran wrap under the litter so you get a puddle you can stick the ketostix in. You may have already heard that, or tried them?

Carl
 
Re: 430 held back and stuck to 1.50

Ellen -

I ordered the Nova Max meter - it comes with two ketone test strips, so after you do the control test, you have one... and I have yet to order the strips. Cheapest I've seen them was 10/$23 online. If you search NOVA MAX on health you'll probably find the link I ordered my free meter from.

Looking at your numbers, I agree w/ Carl, an increase is in order. How much should it be? Hmmmm.. I did my increases in .2u but some people do .5u. Just make sure when you do an increase that you're around to test. Then give it a few days to settle in. Not every cat pulls a "Hershey", but he's been known to nosedive on a dose that's given him pancakes previously, so you just want to keep an eye out for any drops.

Lu-Ann
 
Re:475 and gave 1.50 early

Changed the name of this to get another look from you guys.
OK I'm stuck at work and my husband is with him - he just tested 475 - he hasn't eaten since about 11am and is looking for dinner but my hubby says he seems irritable (?) it's 5:45pm now tested him 15 minutes ago (amps +10) and it was the 475 and I told him to give him 1.50 I want to try and save him from going too sky high before I can be home (which might not be till 9:30) - looking for advice but he's gonna eat dinner and it's going to go up. Hoping this 1.50 NOW will keep him in the 400's at least and I'll maybe give him .50 when I get home?? Thoughts? I couldn't leave him there at 475 PRE dinner and on an almost empty stomach.
 
Re: NOW 475

Some of that is food... maybe all of it. Keep in mind, there might have been a big drop of blood and the meter registered higher too. That's one of the reasons why I'm still checking multiple times w/ Grayson... (as well as that OCD thing!).

Wait for about 2-3 hours after he ate and test again. He should start dropping by then. Grayson usually starts to drop about +4.
 
Re: NOW 475

You think with his last real meal at 7:30 am and a small amount at 11am that his test at 5:30 pm was effected by food? I just don't see that from his numbers - 1.50 is just clearly too little for him. He also eems to drop around +4 with +6 or 7 being his biggest drop. My main concern now is since I shot early - how do I handle the rest of the night? He got his 1.50 at +10 not at +12 or PMPS or whatever makes sense to everyone here. So in two more hours (7:30PM EST) should I consider more if he's still high? He will have eaten dinner (FF Cod, Shrimp etc. the lowest carb/cal food they have) by than too. I trust my husband but not being there to see him is making me a bit edgy.
thank you.
 
PMPS +2 or what - not sure how this makes sense - but +4 after his EARLY shot of 1.50 I gave him another 1.50 and have set the alarm to test him in 3 hours and see where we are.
 
I don't know how but I missed the Ketones testing info or some of it - thanks for that - I did try the saran wrap - he's a plastic eater and I swear he smells the stuff - he dug it up and chewed it. He wouldn't pee in those granuals - but our other cat found them fascinating and kicked them all over the place. We have a very small house - bedroom, living room and kitchen - keeping them separate for litter box use is hard. I'm going to order the meter and sticks I guess tonight and figure out how to do this somehow. thank you for the input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top