Nov 1 Felix +7=68, +9.5=57, +11=59, +11.5=60, +12=73, PMPS (+12.5)=85, +1=95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
Since you are using SLGS, take the reduction. 68 is well below 90. He is safe, but the SLGS method says to reduce immediately if you go below 90.
 
Since you are using SLGS, take the reduction. 68 is well below 90. He is safe, but the SLGS method says to reduce immediately if you go below 90.
Thanks, Wendy! I would appreciate opinions on how much liberty I could take with SLGS at this point.

I obviously test more than SLGS requires and can usually monitor when needed. I have quite a bit of data by now and see some patterns, although it seems there's a lot of "he often does such-and-so, except when he doesn't." It does seem that lows early in the AM cycle and late in the PM cycle are something to watch for (opposite "dawn phenomenon"--?).

The wild card is that dry food isn't out of the picture yet. Although he's getting better about having some wet food each day and sometimes more than once, there's a good chance he'd refuse it when I'd need him to eat. He likes his EVO pretty well (considered MC?) and would happily eat higher-carb kibble. I've put a few drops of Karo on his kibble before and he ate that, so that would help in the short term, but beyond that I might have to wait for the kibble carbs to kick in and/or keep giving Karo and hope it didn't upset his tummy.

If I lowered Felix's target number below 90, what do you think would be reasonable under the circumstances? 80? 70? Or should I just be patient, since after all his units are coming down and his wet-food consumption is going up?
 
The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Given dry food in the picture, and a 68 three cycles after the reduction, I would use caution.
 
+11=59 [Um, Felix? Whatcha doin', sweetheart?]

Test every half hour until the bounce comes and shoot 4 units as soon as we're over 90? If it goes beyond +2, give a BCS of 2 units?

He has missed his shot a couple times in the last couple weeks, and I know I can't bear to skip and wait another 12 hours for the next dose, he goes so high (and has history of DKA).

I've watched others do this, but I'm befuddled now that it's me!
 
We're all right, thanks! Got a +1 and he's still rising a bit. I know he's in nice numbers, I just don't know what to expect or when. I'm tired; it may be a long night, unless the bounce comes soon! :coffee:
 
lantus most often onset 2 hours after the injection. So take that test as well. If he lowers or stays the same - a bit of food.
If he higher - most likely that he bounces, but let the numbers guide you. Hopefully he'll stay in good number longer without drama or sky high bounce. It is a healing time.

ETA: if he lowers or the same a later test is needed.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top