Not sure what to do.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Baby

Member Since 2011
OK, thank you to everyone who helped me with the low BS problem yesterday. My mom tested her when she got there at 8pm and she was 325 so she did not go up too badly.

D/T the overabundance of BS readings in the 300's, after conferencing with my mom and my aunt who are both nurses with extensive experience with diabetic patients, I decided to up my dose to 1.5 daily. Unfortunately, I am not around to do a curve right now and I won't be able to do one until next wednesday. I am a little concerned with the low numbers I have been getting, but because of her history of ketones in her urine, I am not willing to go another week with her numbers reading so high.

Her first dose of 1.5 was this morning at +12 from last night. check out her spreadsheet and let me know what you think.

In summary, Baby was diagnosed 3 months ago, started her on Humulin insulin 2 units, moved her up to 3, and then dropped her back to 1 when I found FMDB, on Lori and Tom's advice. Switched to lantus last month, started at 1u on 7/31, moved up to 1.25 on 8/8, and now up to 1.5 on 8/17. When Baby was originally diagnosed, she had ketones in her urine, I bought ketone testing strips but have not been able to test yet.

I think that's basically it. Thank you so much everyone for the help!!!
 
Sarah:

Here's where the difficulty figuring out Baby's SS lies. There's not enough data to really know what's going on. I understand being limited because you need to work. However, I'm assuming you don't work 24 hours/day. Can you get more tests during the half of the day that you're at home?

It looks like Baby is bouncing. She has a low number like at her AMPS and then either due to no insulin or a response to the low numbers she's back in the pinks. Because you don't have many spot checks, we don't know what Baby's nadir is. It may be that Baby is seeing a lot of lower numbers mid-cycle and if you've increased her dose, it's only going to cause the bouncing to get worse. (My cat has gone from 400s at pre-shot to 40s mid-cycle and earning a dose reduction to back into the 400s by her next pre-shot.)

We also do not increase the dose when there's a bounce. If a cat is bouncing and you increase the dose, once the bounce clears, you could be shooting too much insulin. To complicate matters further, the green pre-shot could be an instance of a late nadir. Even if this is the case, there's still not enough information to know for sure whether that is Baby's pattern.

So, the bottom line is, can you get more tests?
 
Sarah I thought that dose increase last night or this morning was not good.
Now if she tests on the rise...go back to below the previous dose.
A green ps test is an indication that more than enuf insulin was on board.
 
I'm pretty sure Sarah is out of town and has mom testing for her.
Her schedule is radically difficult. See her post in Lev about the scheduling.
FWIW I did NOT suggest a dose increase, if asked I would have said to take it down a notch.
 
Please have Sarah or her MOM come on here & advise us of what her number is, so we can assist her with the dose--The CAT with diabetes is very different than the Human with diabetes...
We are here to help--You cant adjust a cat insulins as you do a person's--My DH is a diabetic & my aunt--
Totally different than Moonie--Good luck..hope she levels out!
 
Last night PMPS was 145. Did not shoot. This morning was 348. My mom is going to try and get in to test her sometime during the middle of the day today. Have gone back to previous dose of 1.25.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top