Not sure what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrienne & Molly (GA)

Member Since 2019
My Molly was diagnosed with diabetes in December. She is on Lantus started out as 1.5 units. Today shes 4 units twice a day. Vet said not to change her diet. She is eating Royal Canine dry and wet for urinary. What do I do? she loves her dry food. Any suggestions?
 
My suggestion would be to get her off that high carb dry food and get her on low-carb wet food. You can visit catinfo.org to learn a lot about feline nutrition.

UPDATE: I felt that I should add that if you are going to make the food change, it is important that you are monitoring Molly closely. A change from high-carb to low-carb food can drastically drop glucose. Especially with the fairly high dose Molly is getting, it could be dangerious.
 
Yes, I'm home monitoring I have a hard time with the spreadsheet. Her BG yesterday was 21.6 at 9am and at 11 am is was 23.3. Last Monday her BG was at 23.3 at 9am and jumped to 25.5 then to 28. That was on 3 units.
 
If you can describe the problems you have with the spreadsheet maybe we can help. :)

Those BGs from yesterday are all pretty much in the same high range. The dose has been raised a lot considering she's only a month past diagnosis. That might be part of the reason for the high BGs. Data on your spreadsheet will help us figure it out. Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your spreadsheet, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
This is useful: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Molly is very cute! :smuggrin:
 
Once I stopped the Royal Canin SO dry, my boy dropped and we achieved remission. Can't stress enough the importance of diet. If you do, be SUPER careful of hypo signs. 4u BID is a lot of insulin...yikes!
 
Finally someone who's cat was on Royal Canine. Did you stop it or gradually for the dry? What type of food do you use now? I am having a hard time with the spreadsheet. I can type on it or anything I'd rather write it down.
 
My vet wanted me to keep him on the SO dry, but it took all of 20 minutes here to realize that was a mistake. I started feeding FF roasted and Weruva Cats in the Kitchen morning and night and SO dry every 4 hours, but much less. For 3 cats, I did 6oz of wet twice a day and 1/8 dry 6 times a day. My betes cat ate the majority of the dry. His numbers stayed pretty crappy consistently, even with the intro of wet. I stopped dry completely right around Christmas and added another 6oz of wet at noon. A week later, his numbers were straight green and blue. I was testing 3 or 4 times daily. If he was under 150 pre shot, I did not shoot. His remission came pretty quick, I worry that we should have eased into it a little slower, but for now, all is good. Important to note that I mix a LOT of liquid to the wet. Dilution of the pollution is the solution, I'm told.
 
Last edited:
If your kitty is a dry addict Dr Elsey has a under 5% carb dry chicken flavor. They also have salmon that is about 9%.
They have cans too-
Why is definitely better but the best food is 1 that your cat will eat:bighug:

After a while with FD I have chosen to pick and choose my battles-he has to eat and we do 75% wet but he also gets the dry chicken under 5%.

Young again is around 5% net carb as well but mine puked all over when they tried it-I returned it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top