Not sure what to do.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Last night I gave Bubba 1.6u reduced from 1.8 because of how fast he fell yesterday. So after the PM shot, he went up 28 points at the +4 and then at +7.5 he started coming down to 172. Now at AMPS he is 142. So I am stalling and retest. If he doesn't reach 180 won't shot. Or should I shoot a reduced amount? I will post in Main also
 
Update:
Hope I am not going to kill my cat, but after I stalled 40 minutes and retested and still got 149 I fed Bubba and he ate well. I waited about 20 minutes and then gave him .6 u. My reasoning is that I do not want to lose momentum with getting him into the blues again. I am home to test today and keep an eye on him. It seems like he wants to fly right but then......the curveball. Posted on Main also.
 
Sorry, we aren't up as early as you Bobbie. Boy, Bubba challenges you every morning with a new exciting number! I think your dose is fine as you will be around. You can always bring him up with food.

He is throwing some interesting curves. It doesn't seem to be his pancreas yet. The test you can do is to feed him and see if he drops instead of rises. That indicates the pancreas may be working. But yesterday he went up after feeding, I think. So I am wondering about that. I'd guess his body has started to use the new diet and the insulin effectively. For some cats, it takes a month or more. (That's why we keep nagging about those patience pants.)

I would watch him carefully and be ready with regular food, then gravy if needed. Regardless, remember that it's all just data collecting and will help you figure out doses next time.
 
Sorry, we aren't up as early as you Bobbie. Boy, Bubba challenges you every morning with a new exciting number! I think your dose is fine as you will be around. You can always bring him up with food.

He is throwing some interesting curves. It doesn't seem to be his pancreas yet. The test you can do is to feed him and see if he drops instead of rises. That indicates the pancreas may be working. But yesterday he went up after feeding, I think. So I am wondering about that. I'd guess his body has started to use the new diet and the insulin effectively. For some cats, it takes a month or more. (That's why we keep nagging about those patience pants.)

I would watch him carefully and be ready with regular food, then gravy if needed. Regardless, remember that it's all just data collecting and will help you figure out doses next time.
I tested at +2 and he went up 105 point to 253 and I just tested at +4 and he is at 251. Could this be a bounce from his lower AMPS number? Now, I am really confused as to what to do for his next dose if he stays in the yellow or goes higher into the pinks? Any suggestions? oh Bubba, what are you trying to do to me?? Yes, patient pants.
 
Hmmm. Not sure. He certainly doesn't want to stick with any pattern, does he? I'd just let today play out. My guess is that he'll just stay flat or he may drop later in the cycle. With a kitty so umpredictable, I think you just give the best dose you can for any given number and see what happens. You know what to do if he'd go low, and you know, even if he is high, you can get him back on track. The good news is that you are generally lowering the dose and he is in renal healing ranges most of the time.

He is the perfect example of how the bean is not in control, the kitty is.
 
Hmmm....very interesting. The +2 could be food induced. Lots of kitties go up then. The +4 is confusing though. Let's see where he goes later today. I'm just not sure anymore what he might do! Oh this sugar dance!!!

You're doing such a great job with the testing! I know these crazy numbers can be stressful, but you're handling it like a pro!
 
Thanks Sue and Oliver and Rachel. I am trying to be good with it. Sometimes, it becomes so consuming as I am sure you both can relate. Yes, the kitty is calling the shots, no pun intended.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top