Snuggles and Danny
Member
Hi,
Snuggles has been on Caninsulin for 3 months and his blood sugar has come down nicely since he started - he was on 1 unit but I was getting very quick nadirs so I (in consultation with the vet) reduced it to .5 and stuck with that for a while, his levels continued to fall gradually. His spreadsheet is in my signature.
Last week Snuggles was 6.1 (110) at am+0, then 6.5 (117) at am+5, then 6 (108) at pm+0. Since his Caninsulin nadir is around +5 or +6 that means that his own insulin brought the numbers down again doesn't it? I decided to stop shooting for a few days to see what happened, and he stayed just mostly between 5.8 (104) and 6.7 (121) for several days. It seems that the most important thing for him is regular meals, because when I have to go out early, and leave food down for him, he often doesn't eat it, and then is very hungry, and has a higher bg when I get home.
Today he mostly ignored his lunch and his bg was much higher at pm+0 9.4 (169). I didn't shoot, but he had a big dinner and at pm+1 was down to 8.5 (153) and at pm+4 to 5.5 (99). He had a snack at pm+4 after the shot.
How do you think I should proceed? The bgs since I stopped shooting a few days ago are pretty similar to the preceding few weeks - not eating regularly causes a spike but otherwise he's around 100-120 preshot. I bought an automatic cat feeder but he's scared of it and hisses and backs off -it's one of the rotating ones so I will try a flip-top and see if it's less scary (I think it's the whirring noises which bother him). My vet is very supportive, but I don't think she has much experience in this area.
Oh, just noticed I also started a new container of test strips the day I decreased the dose, and it's been very cold, which apparently can cause meters to test high - in the morning the heating isn't on yet, and the strips and meter are cold - too many variables!
Thanks for any advice,
Amy
Snuggles has been on Caninsulin for 3 months and his blood sugar has come down nicely since he started - he was on 1 unit but I was getting very quick nadirs so I (in consultation with the vet) reduced it to .5 and stuck with that for a while, his levels continued to fall gradually. His spreadsheet is in my signature.
Last week Snuggles was 6.1 (110) at am+0, then 6.5 (117) at am+5, then 6 (108) at pm+0. Since his Caninsulin nadir is around +5 or +6 that means that his own insulin brought the numbers down again doesn't it? I decided to stop shooting for a few days to see what happened, and he stayed just mostly between 5.8 (104) and 6.7 (121) for several days. It seems that the most important thing for him is regular meals, because when I have to go out early, and leave food down for him, he often doesn't eat it, and then is very hungry, and has a higher bg when I get home.
Today he mostly ignored his lunch and his bg was much higher at pm+0 9.4 (169). I didn't shoot, but he had a big dinner and at pm+1 was down to 8.5 (153) and at pm+4 to 5.5 (99). He had a snack at pm+4 after the shot.
How do you think I should proceed? The bgs since I stopped shooting a few days ago are pretty similar to the preceding few weeks - not eating regularly causes a spike but otherwise he's around 100-120 preshot. I bought an automatic cat feeder but he's scared of it and hisses and backs off -it's one of the rotating ones so I will try a flip-top and see if it's less scary (I think it's the whirring noises which bother him). My vet is very supportive, but I don't think she has much experience in this area.
Oh, just noticed I also started a new container of test strips the day I decreased the dose, and it's been very cold, which apparently can cause meters to test high - in the morning the heating isn't on yet, and the strips and meter are cold - too many variables!
Thanks for any advice,
Amy