Not sure if Loki's "bounce" is over

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Just updated his sheet, if someone can tell me what I should be giving him now? Should I be continuing with the 0.05 for the rest of the day? This is the 3rd day since his # dropped to 40 on last Sunday. He is now at 479 this morning.. Thanks
 
Getting those midcycle numbers will tell us what he is doing. Is he dropping at nadir and then bouncing back up? If so, you would reduce the dose. Is he flat during the cycle? If so, you would probably increase the dose.

You just can't decide whether to increase or decrease without those nadir numbers. If you can get a +5, +6 or +7 today, and maybe a +9, we could see how the insulin is working and whether he needs more or less.
 
Ok updated his SS and also here are his # for today, @ 8AM he was 479 then at 12:30 which was the 4-5 hr Nadir point he was 316 and now at Duration he is at 426. I am thinking he needs to go by 1/2 of a unit which would bring him to 1 full unit of PZI. Am I correct in this? thanks will wait for response as to what to do.
 
That would be a huge increase back to the dose that was too much.

I think that a smaller increase would be better to zero in on the ideal dose.

Can you eyeball a .75u? I think that would be a better step up.

Hope I'm not too late.
 
I agree with what Robin said. If you can split the difference and try .75u that would be a good idea. A few days ago, the 1u dose looked like too much as it seemed to last well past 12 hours. If you already shot, no need to panic, but stepping up in smaller steps is a good way to increase dose.

Carl
 
For the odd (not full or half unit) increments, it really saves the eyes using the u100 syringes with the conversion chart. :smile: It's well worth the investment for my poor, old eyes! :lol:
 
Hi all first thanks so much for keeping an eye on Loki and me. I gave him 1/2 unit last night and this morning he shot up to 547, gave him 1 unit this morning I should have checked here and read your responses first :sad: He ate ok, acting ok but I am a mess, cannot get a grip on this at all, will check his Nadir at 12:30. I also updated his SS.
Thank again.
 
Good that you will keep an eye on him. If you can, try to get a test around +6. I think your one unit is okay for today and may tell us whether the .5 was too low.

Your +4 looked like he wasn't headed low yesterday, but he could have. The tricky part of this is figuring out whether he is bouncing or whether he is just high.
 
Mimi,
I can hear your frustration from a thousand miles away. It is time for you to read this if you haven't already:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33671

Feline diabetes is a tough thing to wrap your head around. Sometimes it confuses people who have been dealing with it for years. I know even though I only had to deal with it for a short time, it drove me insane. It drives me crazy when people say "it's a marathon, not a sprint". Not because they are wrong, but because they are right! Right now, Loki's numbers are a puzzle, and it's just going to take a while to figure the puzzle out. Try your best not to let it get to you every day. Some days, you just have to shoot and take whatever numbers he gives you. The important thing to remember is that Loki has no clue that he's sick. He just knows that Mom suddenly decided to start chasing him around the house poking him with sharp things, but he also knows that he is loved. Some days he feels good, other days, he won't, but the constant to him is "you" and the special care you are showing him. We'll help you figure this out, one day at a time.

Carl
 
First I must say a big thank you to Carl, it was perfect to re-read the letter from Sugar Cat. I really needed it :smile: Now just updated Loki's SS and now he is at 384. Gave him 1 unit, if you guys have a chance take a look . Thanks
 
Think of it as data gathering - collecting numbers to fill out the picture of Loki. The one unit may work - let's give it a few cycles (unless he dips low)
 
That's much better and I wouldn't be surprised if Loki sees "blue" numbers tonight. :smile:

Glad to help, I must have read that thread once a week when Bob was getting shots. ;-)

Carl
 
Just updated SS and his duration # is 448, did continue with the 0.75 like it was suggested. I also spoke to my other vet (he takes care of the dog) and he wants to see the SS and the fructosamine results.
Will update in the AM thanks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top