Not sure if I should give shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
I have had FD kitty for ten days now and averaging bg 350 (280 to 439) . This morning I got a bg of 400 but tonight I got 75. Yikes, that's a huge drop. Testing was done about 11 hours and 40 minutes after AMPS. Should I give him insulin??? Should I wait to test him again in an hour? I have never seen double digits in the ten days that I have had him so I am a little freaked out. The only other change I have noticed is that he isn't attacking his food like there could never be enough, but eating normally and saving some for later. I would appreciate some advice.
 
Hi there

No! We dont advise newbies shoot under 200.

Did you feed yet? If not, What you could do is not shoot, not feed and wait half an hour and test again. If he is over 200 then you can shoot at that time if it doesnt put you off schedule. Now of course that only works if you didnt feed because food will bring him up too and you wont know what he is doing naturally.

Thats why we say test then feed/shoot. Because if you get a low number you can wait on the feed/shoot until you see a natural rise in blood sugar.

So - when did he eat?

Wendy
 
That's ok that he ate. Please, do not give any insulin tonight. His number is too low to need any.

Expect the BG number to be high in the morning.

Are you able to test any more tonight? Like a +2 (two hours after that 73 you got) and maybe a before bed test, before you go to sleep for the night?

What is his diet now? Brand and style and specific flavor (i.e. Friskies pate Poultry Platter, Fancy Feast classic pate Turkey & Giblets) The different foods may be very low carb to low carb.
 
Now we need to get you ready for next time - and you can expect there will be a next time!! After all you want Snoball to come more into normal numbers more of the time!.

The mantra is shoot low to stay low. However you need to get some data in order to do this safely. Thats why Deb is asking for a few more readings tonite to see how he does. Here is more info on shooting low that you should read: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Anyway in short, we will need you to be data ready for the next time... so we really need you to get your spreadsheet set up - what can we do to help with this? Would you like another member to help?

Deb - his food is in the signature - FF pates.

Wendy
 
Ok. Sorry I did not get back to you. The rescue team was assisting me. I did not shoot him last night (no shoot below 200) and this morning his AMPS was 388 and I only gave 0.5 u this morning per their instructions. He is getting tired of the FF food so I have switched him to the low carb Weruva Cats in the Kitchen food (per Dr. Pierson's list) which he loved and every night he gets a plate of raw (duck now). I cannot load Google on my machine at home because I need to be able to periodically use it for work and again, the data-mining issues of Google prohibit its acceptance. I have however created an Excel spreadsheet. I will note that in my signature. Not sure how to link that in. Will give it a try. Thank you for helping this nervous mommy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top